We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Couple of Days in Ryde”
Review of Seahaven House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seahaven House
Ranked #12 of 16 Ryde B&B and Inns
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Couple of Days in Ryde”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Conveniently located and a short walk from the train station. A warm welcome from the owner, and everything we needed was made available to us. If you have a room on the top floor, you can't access the free wifi, but you can go downstairs in the guest lounge and there's a strong signal.
The only complaint I have isn't the fault of the owners. The person who lives in the house next door, decided to play music LOUDLY for several hours and it went until nearly midnight. Luckily, it only happened the first night we were there.

Ryde itself is a neat place to walk around , and the train station and bus station are in the same place. Great walks along the water and I even found some sea glass to add to my growing collection .
Oh, and the breakfast is served in a very nice breakfast room, and is very tasty. (and there was plenty of it) Thanks Seahaven House!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn29Palms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    30
    13
    9
    22
See reviews for
26
34
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

It was a last minute booking as going to the festival. Location perfect as bus to festival across the road. Allowed us to check in early and made to feel very welcome. Our bed was so comfortable . Car parking 2minutes away. Breakfast was nice plenty of selection and cooked fresh. Breakfast lady was lovely. If in Isle of Wight would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewmorris874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk south
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

stayed for 2 nights, the room was small but clean and had all i needed and i slept well cheryl's breakfast was good and she made sure you didn't go hungry, there is a good choice of cereal ,yogurt etc and a full english that kept me going for the day. i was made to feel very welcome and i feel it was excellent value for the money, a good location with shops and resturants just around the corner, ryde pier opposite and a public car park 75-100 yards away. all in all a good base and i will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I booked the Seahaven House B&B at the last minute, as I decided to pop over to the IoW on the spur of the moment. It was August, so I didn't have much choice within my budget, but after staying for two back breaking nights, I should have paid more money and stayed somewhere else.

My room was a tiny box with a window that didn't open, a shower that was filthy, and a bed that sagged in the middle. The pillows were woeful, the blankets thin and there was only one hanger in the closet that can only be called "third hand". I felt like I was staying at my Nan's - circa 1980.

Even though the B&B says that hairdryers are included in the rooms, I had to go up two flights of stairs every day to fish one out of a box as we were asked to "please return when you are done so others can use it".

Breakfast was terrible. My undercooked bacon and cheap nasty sausages swam in pools of fat. The coffee was undrinkable - seriously rank, and I still, to this day, have no idea how toast can arrive at a table as cold and as hard as mine did.

I have no idea who ran the place as there was no one there to greet me when I arrived, I saw no one on site during the evening, and there was a different girl each day doing breakfast/taking the money. Very impersonal which is a shame as the people on the IoW are really friendly.

The only thing that the Seahaven House has going for it is its location. About a 20 min walk to the pier, less than 10 minutes to the man bus station, and less than 10 mins to Ryde centre where there are lots of nice shops, bars and restaurants.

But there are plenty of B&Bs around, so spend a bit more and save your back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ryde hotels

Chulmleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The young couple running this B & B are making a great effort to bring an old Victorian property up to date.The dining room is light and recently decorated in my sort of colour scheme (eggshell blue emulsion with chocolate contrast wallpaper);breakfasts were as large or small as guests wished with a selection of fresh fruit,yoghurts and cereals plus fruit juice.Cheryl's cooked breakfasts are brilliant with a wide choice as well as traditional English.
My bedroom was well decorated;furniture was basic but sufficient for my requirements;the only downside I found was a mattress much softer than I'm used to and a slight problem with the plumbing which no doubt will be rectified in due course but it didn't spoil my stay and wasn't sufficiently irritating to complain about. Cheryl phoned me the day before i was due to travel to check my time of arrival which I found quite thoughtful.Would I stay at Seahaven House again? - of course,if only for the welcome and Cheryl's breakfasts!!

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are at the front ;single rooms tend to be at the side of the property with very l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

A little tatty on the outside, but efforts to update made on the inside. Breakfast room was bright and food was lovely, with good service. Not sure who ran the place as no one around on either arrival or departure. Room was clean with some nice decorative touches. Bathroom needs work, shower's wall attachment was broken so had to hand hold the shower which was awkward, plus the water was mainly just a dribble. Bathroom window was large with just a net, needed a blind for the night, did feel slightly exposed and felt sorry for the many overlooking neighbours! expensive for what you got.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank englishrose1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

It was absolutely filthy, it hadn't been cleaned in a very long time. Floor, ceilings, windows, curtains, lampshade, teapot, chairs, shower, bathroom, everything was just filthy. I had a four year old child with me and the dirt was a threat to her health. There was black mould around the window frames, across the bathroom ceiling and on the fabric curtains. We spent the night fully dressed, lying on top of the beds.
She used a rocking horse in the lounge and some strands of its hair came out. The proprietor accused her of "destroying" it and locked the lounge to all guests, denying the facility to everyone,
These proprietors do not live at this place so no management is on-site apart from odd slots in the day.
I confronted the landlady about the dirt and she didn't even try to deny it but said, "So you'll want to check out straight away." However, she refused to refund the extortionate cost of this one night, ₤99.
Avoid this place at all costs, if you value your health. Our photographic evidence is on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank MoM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.1 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yelf's Hotel
Yelf's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dorset Hotel
Dorset Hotel
#2 of 16 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seahaven House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahaven House

Property: Seahaven House
Address: 36 St. Thomas Street, Ryde PO33 2DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Seahaven House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Seahaven House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seahaven House Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing