We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Abingdon Lodge

Abingdon Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abingdon Lodge
Ranked #17 of 18 Ryde B&B and Inns
hertshealth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location, Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

You get what you pay for here - a very basic guest house at a very basic price but a very convenient location within walking distance of Ryde shops and beach.The owner was very friendly and helpful. Continental Breakfast, if wanted, was an extra £4 and is left in your room fridge but we decided to eat in the local cafes/bars of which there are quite a few locally. Our room was clean, double-glazed and quiet although the beds were showing their age and not particularly comfortable. Car park was small but we had no trouble parking for the 3 days we stayed here.
One word of caution, it is currently up for sale so will no doubt change when it is sold.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cricket22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    6
    10
    13
See reviews for
7
14
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Estes Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
249 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We didn't spend much time in the hotel as we were out exploring the island, but it was just what we needed. I only booked this hotel because it was last minute and the rest of the island seemed to be sold out, but I would book it again if I were to come back. The manager was not at the front desk when we arrived because we had stopped for dinner on the way to the hotel and it was late. But we called the number he left on the window and he was right down in 2 minutes. He carried our bags up to our room and gave us a tour. There was a refridgerator and a tea kettle in the room which was a nice touch. The beds were comfortable. I slept well and we were off early the next morning to do some more island exploring. This hotel was great value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hmk24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

In November of 2011 I booked a room at this guest house which was six months ahead of my trip as I was away working. I called the day before I left to confirm my arrival time only to be told they did not have my reservation and were fully booked, However, the owner did his best and very kindly managed to put us up, although we had to move rooms a couple of times.

The first room was the family suite and was quite simply terrible. There are two rooms, the double room is next to reception and the walls are so thin you can hear the office chair squeak and the kettle boil, it also did not have any windows making it stuffy and claustrophobic. The other room had four single beds and the bathroom was tiny and basic considering it is for the use of 6 people!

I was woken at 7am by someone checking out and on the second night in this room reception was busy til well after 11pm with people arriving and the phone ringing. A family moved in to the room next door and I could hear everything, eventually banging on the wall to ask them to be quiet.

On the third night we moved to Room 2, this was much better, it at least had a window, a bath, and was quiet. However the bed was very small and the bedding very old, bobbly and dated.

The car park is miniscule, but we managed to get and keep our spot all week. There is also no cooked breakfast, a continental one is available to eat in your room so we bought our own croissants etc instead.

The one good thing about this place was that it is dog friendly and they were happy for our dog to spend time alone in the room which was brilliant.

The owner and staff were friendly enough but quite brusque and it felt like we had been done a favour, even though I had booked so far in advance, it would seem, through conversations we could hear through the wall that over booking is a frequent occurence here and you won't get an apology for that. At £68 a night I felt I deserved more value for money.

The place is on the market and I hope the new owners give it the love and attention it needs.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the family room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

First off, me and my partner just wanted to get away from the stresses back at home in birmingham but little did we know it turned out to be more stressfull going to the isle of wight!

It was a spare of the moment decision, and we thought we where lucky enough to find Abington Lodge Hotel at a reasonable price online at £57.00 a night, so we went ahead and just booked, we set off quite early on the 31st march 2012, the journey was ok went smoothly, we arrived at Abington Lodge Hotel and Noticed the car park was tiny could fit 4 cars thats with them queing up behind eachother! There is 22+ rooms in this hotel so where is everyone else meant to park?! We where lucky to get a space and went straight to reception, as soon as we walked in we got stared at. We are 18-21 yes we know we are young but we are not going to steal your appliences! Anyway the hotel manager was standing at the desk as a lady booked us in, straight away the manager asked where we where from, as we said birmingham he took the micky out of are accent!!!! And repeated what i said in that stupid apparent accent we do?! I was fuming and the lady could tell so, she usherd us to our room, and explained that we could come and go as we pleased, which i thought was a bonus as me and my partner like to eat quite late, we asked for the wifi code as it explained on their website "free wifi in all rooms" she huffed and gave it us, as we bought the laptop to plan our travels around the island, we tried.... The code didnt even work.

The room
We stayed in room 22, it was Horrible!!
The sink was in our room instead of the "en-suite" as they called it! The sink glugged loudly on a frequent basis!
The bed was beyond a joke, we asked for a double bed ..... It looked like a single bed. I know they said online it was one of their smaller double rooms but i didnt think that putting a chester draws in the way of the door so u had to slide up against the wall to come through and out the door!! It was a anoying especially if you have your bag over your shoulder!
After all this we just wanted a cuppa and to chill out before we went for dinner, there where tea making facilitys in our room. As i went to make us a drink their was a huge crusty stain around the brim of the mug! It put us right off and just wanted to go and have a drink and something to eat! We left the hotel at about 6.30pm, it took us 1hour and 45minutes to find somewhere that had a carpark and that wasnt full! Me and my partner are not fussy in the slightest! Dont care if its standard pub food or posh nosh just as long as they have great food and a clean enviroment, we ended up at the bugel inn family pub in brading, and they had cracking food! Definately a must go! As it was about 8.00pm then, there wasnt much to do after, so we drove to a sainsburys to get snacks and films for the hotel room as we usually dont go to sleep till late, as we drove back, and got to the entrance of the hotel the carpark was chocablock!!! Every where had double yellow lines! There was a pay and display car park but for £10.50?! Why should we pay when the hotel lacked in facilitys?! We drove round for 1hour and 15minutes trying to find a alternative! We found spaces 5 roads away parked up and walked, we were so annoyed as the hotel did not warn us when we checked in that it does become full and here is the alternative! We could not complain at this point as reception was closed, so we put it too the back of our minds and carried on with our night, we watched our film and tried to get to sleep in a bed they called a double, i was up and down most the night opening and closing the window as it got hot! Believe me i was so tired! We set our alarms for 8.00am even though the check out was for 10.30 but as we parked on that road it was only free from 6pm-8pm! We could of at least had another 2 hours if the hotel provided acceptable parking, we got up i cleaned the room back too the way it was went we came and my partner went to fetch the car as we where not going to walk 5 blocks with our bags, i waited outside with the bags then put the bags in the car and went to check out, we said can we check out now please they just said "ye,bye then" not how was your room/stay etc! It really annoyed us as we didnt make a complaint about the parking situation as we didnt want any hassel! But i wish we did now.


Stay there if u dare.
We are a bog standard couple that just wanted a chilled out weekend away. We actually ended up in brean that very same day and stayed the night and it was fantastic and wished we saved our money and went there in the first place. I have never wrote a review before, but in this case i felt like i needed too, to save you from what horrible experience we had.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lmariesirett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, U.K.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

Were met by the welcoming owner Dennis upon arrival, room was adequate, although could have done with a folding, webbed suitcase stand. Bed warm & comfortable, room & shower room both clean. Small flatscreen television and tea/coffee making facilities. Continental Breakfast served, but no English Breakfast althoughDennis did reccommend J.D.Weatherspoon's a few minutes away in the Centre of Ryde for a Full English Breakfast and it certainly was a 'Full' English Breakfast served personally by the eager to please Manageress and all for £3 -ish, if you get bored there you can always spot the early morning 'Newcastle Brown drinkers' lined up and ready for another hectic day of Newcastle Brown swilling. A stones throw from the centre of Ryde and within walking distance, but a slight gradient from the beach to the hotel, not unusual really as if there weren't you'd probably get a little wet in bed at night. In a nutshell, Good value, Clean, Warm (it was late October) and what always makes a difference, an Owner/Manager who is keen to please and goes out of his may to make your stay just a little bit more enjoyable. Adequate free parking on the premises (it was late October) and the seagulls come free!

Room Tip: Just ask Dennis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheCaptainBiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here for one night, before Bestival. The room was fine, the bathroom was quite big, although it could do with a bit of a cosmetic refurb. The owners were friendly and the guest house was fine for the night. There is free parking and it is only a short walk into Ryde town centre.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muuummmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We were greeted by Dennis who was very friendly and helpful, put me totally at ease. Our room was pleasant and clean although the bed linen and towels could do with being updated.

The car park was teeny tiny and we often had to park on the road or perform some magical manouvers!

Abingdon was so close to town and Ryde truly is lovely, If you're looking for a cooked brekkie, head to the wetherspoons less than 10 mins walk away.

I'd stay there again but would know what to expect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CBeebie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ryde hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yelf's Hotel
Yelf's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Dorset Hotel
Dorset Hotel
#2 of 18 in Ryde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#16 of 18 in Ryde
3.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abingdon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abingdon Lodge

Property: Abingdon Lodge
Address: 20 West Street, Ryde PO33 2QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Abingdon Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abingdon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abingdon Lodge Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing