We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Abingdon Lodge

Abingdon Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abingdon Lodge
Ranked #14 of 17 Ryde B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 23, 2011

The "double" room was too small with no dressing table or chairs to sit on. The beds were hard and the sheets were nylon. However the room was very clean with a nice shower (no bath) TV and a 'fridge. There was no where else that one could sit and readt oher than the bedroom itself.

The car park was inadequate and had only room for a few cars. One night we had to find parking space in a neaby road

We did not have the continental breakfast (£4) but good quality inexpensive breakfasts are avaiable in Ryde itself.

The hotel is well situated to the town centre but the hill is a little steep for some elderly people. It is on a busy cross roads but there are traffic lights to help (but don't try reversing into the road from the hotl car park)

The only "staff" we met was Dennis himself who was pleasant and helpful

At £58 per night (for just bed) we didn't think it was very good value fo money.

.
W

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hadley94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 51 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2011

When the owners were there they were polite and helpful but not around all the time, you could call in case of emergencies but what does emergency include?
The room was clean but the fridge didn't work, the internet was often out of signal and you needed a security code which was not supplied and they weren't around to ask. The continental breakfast was pretty poor, it consisted of a basket put it the room the day before in the afternoon. It contained butter croissant (which could go stale by morning), cereal bar, jam portion, butter portion, cheese triangle (not in fridge, in warm room) fruit pot (again in warm room) and a yoghurt (again warm room). I didn't eat half of it as dairy and things should be kept chilled. The car park is ridiculously small, baring in mind there are over 20 rooms there is only space for about 5 cars, one night I had to park 5-10 mins away from the hotel which isn't easy in Ryde as it is a busy place with a lot of parking restrictions.
I love the Isle of Wight ad Ryde is great

It would've been OK if the things mentioned were changed, also it would've been nice if someone was there morning of departure to say bye.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennyleigh86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

It was the worst vacation of my life the elderly staff who was supposed to be cleaning the room while we were out should be shown how to clean properly!! If I were the owner I would think seriously about getting some new staff or at least teach them the basics of cleaning!! Plus I found the cleaners to be very rude it was like they couldn't be botherd to help and were to busy witch I find hard to believe as they were just standing around all the time or just on there phones!! As for the owner how rude all he is intrested in is getting peoples money not in sorting any problems they have or in listening to any complaints!! Just a very rude man!! Would not recommended this pace in a million years!!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aston2276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Upon arrival my toddler went through al of the draws and pulled out someone's old prescription of Tramadol tablets, which were quickly confiscated by me. He was banned from going under the beds after finding a grey screwed up thing (I didn't investigate further) under the bed. There was space for the travel cot but with the heating at a constant 'hot' setting, we had to have both windows open to cool the room to 24 degrees at night, leaving a less than 30percent humidity in the room sparking athsma in my son. The room/ carpet was dirty, causing my sons ezcema to flare up.
The staff were friendly but weren't onsite so I couldn't request a hairdryer when I needed one and I couldn't ask them for the internet password until the next day.
Perhaps the most frightening thing was the back door being locked - this would be the one marked 'fire exit' and the keys we had been given to it did not work (?should the fire exit even have been locked!!!).
The shower was cold on the first night but hot the next day, but when it was on it pulsed rather than allowing free-flowing water - made it hard to shower. There was no bath. We had a family room with 2 single beds and a double bed. The TV's (there were 2 flat screen) were not tuned in so a grainy screen and only have 4 TV channels not the advertised full freeview selection, so no CBeebies!
The continental breakfast was a basket containing a croissant, plastic packs of butter, cheese and jam, a plastic tub of pineapple chinks in juice, a box of pineapple juice and a yoghurt which was left in the fridge the morning before (so around 20hrs before you need to eat it!). The fridge was not turned on inside or switched on at the plug on arrival, we turned it on at the plug, bought food and left it in the fridge only to realise the next day it was turned off inside as well and our food had gone off. I felt it should have been on when we arrived so it was cold for us. The breakfast was left in the fridge by the owner/ cleaner despite it being switched off! The glassware in the room was not clean so we had to drink from the juice boxes.
When I left I told the owner I had left the 'suicidal dose' of Tramadol from the previous occupants safely on top of the wardrobe out of the reach of toddlers and he smiled and informed me that he would let the 'cleaner' know - no apologies or even general concern.
The car park is tiny, fits about 4 cars, there were gas works going on when we were there (the building works did not disturb our stay inside the hotel) but the builders and owners were using the car park and made it difficult for us to exit, they could have been more thoughtful in their parking, I felt.
It cost £75. per night and £5. per person for breakfast. Initially I asked for 3 breakfasts for the 2 adults and my toddler, only 2 were provided.
Well located, close to town for stag parties and overnight business trips in Ryde.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TurtleA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

beds need to be updated, torn underneath. Breakfast very good and staff friendly. Very steep and pavements for invalidity scooters very bad. More than 5mins if walking to seafront.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank broadband2556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

My husband booked this hotel for a business trip and I decided to accompany him. He paid in advance. When I arrived first, I almost ruined the car trying to scrape through the rabbit hutch car parking spaces. I then had to locate the owner who sensibly lived apart from the hotel. After ringing him, he arrived and let me into one of the worst rooms I have ever encountered. The bed looked like something out of the 1960s with those horrible bobbly dark blue sheets (god knows what was lurking under the centuries old duvet covers!! the pillows had seen so many heads, they were stained and flat. There were stiff towels, no hot water, and the toilet bowl was stained and dirty. eeek I could go on. It reminded me of rigsbys boarding house! I thought one thing when I saw that room BEDBUGS!!!
There was no way I was staying there, so I left the keys and escaped. No refund of course. I would rather have slept in the car. Luckily we found a premier inn for the night.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jentol57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for 1 night in late May 2010, and we had really aweful experience. After that night, my body got more than 10 places with raised red bump and very intense itching. Clearly, this is the trace of bedbugs. Usually, the bed sheets in hotels have white colour, but the colour is dark blue in our room of the Abingdon Lodge hotel. For the dark colour, it is difficult to judge the hygiene of the bed.

We paid £60 for 1-night stay, but just got such bad experience. We both are very upset now. I hope this nightmare can never repeat, as in the future we will never come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZJiang23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ryde
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Ryde Isle of Wight Hotel
0.5 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yelf's Hotel
Yelf's Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ryde
403 reviews
2.5 mi away
Seaview Hotel
Seaview Hotel
#1 of 2 in Seaview
455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dorset Hotel
Dorset Hotel
#3 of 17 in Ryde
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abingdon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abingdon Lodge

Address: 20 West Street, Ryde PO33 2QQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Ryde
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ryde
Price Range: $66 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Abingdon Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abingdon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abingdon Lodge Ryde, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing