We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique must-see for Lake Erie lovers.”

Brennan's Fish House
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Needville, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A unique must-see for Lake Erie lovers.”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We've been coming here for over 50 years so my report is a little biased, but, I believe accurate.
Positives:
Consistent ( at least for 50 years) but I always get the perch dinner
Their specialty is fried fish and greasy fries( that are probably illegal in New York and California) so although their other food is consistent and good, don't expect the ceviche with the braised artichokes
Excellent service, usually very quick, even when they are quite busy
Excellent desserts
Excellent beer selection( I have found the Ohio wines not to my liking, but available)
Excellent value
These fries are so greasy they have a disclaimer on the menu, which means you must try them and just eat salads the next day
Wonderful antiquities and keepsakes on the wall to keep you busy waiting on your food
Excellent ambiance, almost ocean vibe in this place, I would not be surprised to see Jimmy Buffet walk in at any moment
Negatives
This place gets packed especially on the weekends so we come before the crowds and chill
Every time we came here my dad would complain that when it was Evan's back in the 50's the perch dinners were 39 cents and I guess I just miss my dad.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank HerbUttsmelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    48
    19
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Seafood in the area!!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Most people mess up and go across the street to Pickle Bills and I say let them!! Brennan's has way better food, more affordable and they give you more than you could ever eat! Small and cozy atmosphere. I actually feel like I am eating on the coast! This is my favorite restaurant of all time!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank April S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is the place to eat.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Thinking of going to Pickle Bill's? Fine idea, but eat here first then go across the street for a beer on the deck. The food at Brennan's is good and the prices are reasonable. I had a walleye sandwich with some of the house cut fries and a beer and was pleased with the food and the price. The deep fried walleye was crisp outside and flaky inside and the fries were good and hot. Pickle Bill's may have a more entertaining decor, but that and the river side spot is all they've got.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hometown fish house”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just had the chili and salad but it was a good chili.The people I was with said the fish was good with a light batter.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shocktart0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIO
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great food!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I was so happy to find this place! nice selections ..friendly staff......great location........so glad to add this eating place to our list of favorites

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SEARCHINSPIRIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brennan's Fish House also viewed

 
Painesville, Lake County
Fairport Harbor, Lake County
 

Been to Brennan's Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing