We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rabbit’s Bothie is a wonderful, unique self...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Rabbit's Bothie

Across the bay to Tennyson Down
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Across the bay to Tennyson Down
Freshwater Caves Dimbola Lodge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Across the bay to Tennyson Down
Freshwater Caves
Dimbola Lodge
Tennyson Monument
Freshwater Bay: The Esplanade
Sunrise
Rabbit's verandah
Rabbit's bedroom
Rabbit's Bothie
Rabbit's kitchen
Rabbit's living room
Rabbit's living room
Rabbit's living room
Freshwater Bay, the beach
The Piano Cafe
Birdwatching on Freshwater Cliffs
Sea kayaking, Freshwater Bay
The Needles
SUPing on the river Yar
Surfing in Freshwater Bay
The Tennyson Trail
Afton Down
Headon Warren
The Red Lion, Old Freshwater
Yarmouth Pier
Yarmouth Castle
Lymington to Yarmouth ferry
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Freshwater, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lofthouse...
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rabbit’s Bothie is a wonderful, unique self catering retreat in West Wight”
Reviewed June 28, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

A very pleasant, well equipped self contained holiday let, perfect for two guests looking to enjoy a relaxed holiday in West Wight and beyond. The little extras provided by the owners like milk, tea, Isle of Wight shortbread etc were much appreciated after our journey, and we stocked up on more supplies at the traditional local shop ‘Orchards’ which is just a few minutes walk away. This was our second visit to the Bothie but the first time we have been in the summertime so we were really able to make the most of the location and walk to Freshwater Bay most days. Lots of maps and leaflets etc are provided so no shortage of inspiration of places to visit whatever the weather. The verandah is a lovely place to relax and eat outside in the beautiful, peaceful garden, especially after a day walking on the downs. We’d recommend making the most of the free bus keycards provided for guests, the Needles Breezer (seasonal open top double decker bus) provides a tour and goes in a circular loop every 30 mins - we hopped off at the Needles Old Battery for spectacular sea views and afternoon coffees in the vintage tea rooms. We look forward to rebooking for a return visit next year as there are still more places we’d like to explore. Rabbit’s Bothie is an ideal base for a self catering holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2018
Looking forward to their third visit! Rabbit's Bothie is perfect for two... two quiet and considerate people just like Chloe and James. We hardly knew that they were there.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gertie524
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not as advertised”
Reviewed May 21, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

1. Toilet unhygienic and not acceptable.
2. Not a super king bed, two twins together with a single duvet each. Unsatisfactory.
3. Wi-fi poor or non existent.
4. Garden not private.

If I had known any one of the above I would not have booked.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2018
Most visitors are kind enough to state that they enjoy the allocated small garden and our meticulous attention to detail. The most frequent statement is that Rabbit’s Bothie exceeds their expectations.
We are always happy to deal with observations as they arise while our guests are with us. In this particular case, the reviewers said nothing.
We would ask them to note that the toilet bowl and seat were cleaned with bleach and disinfectant; there were no problems with the wifi router; the description is accurate within the check-box choices.
These guests were careless in their use of the shower and left the bathroom floor, towels and bathmat sopping wet. There is a mop and bucket that were not used.
In addition we specify “no smoking”. This includes all the outside areas of our property. This specification was ignored.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C C
1 review
“Well equipped accommodation on a lovely part of the island”
Reviewed March 13, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The location was great - moments from Freshwater Bay and spectacular walks for us and our dog. The accommodation had everything we needed to keep us comfortable and entertained and David and Esme provided masses of useful information, as well as a welcome basket with Isle of Wight produce. Just wish we'd stayed longer!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2018
Lovely comments. Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super self-catering accommodation for two for a varied holiday on IoW”
Reviewed June 30, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Rabbit's Bothie has it all - a very quiet location with beaches nearby; great walking opportunities, and lots of places to visit. The accommodation is very well equpped. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of storage. Delightful coutyard garden for enjoying eating outdoors beside a small pond. The owners were so welcoming with a generous gift of starter provisions such as milk fruit and rolls, and bus passes. They had provided an excellent selection of information about local amenities and activities. Yes, a real find, and one to be thoroughly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 2, 2017
Thank you. It was a really pleasure to have you stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Accomodation in a lovely area”
Reviewed September 13, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Would recommend both the accommodation and area very highly. Only a short walk away from a beautiful cove and lovely country walks.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2016
Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janaB405Q...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location for walking”
Reviewed October 17, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Helped by glorious weather, we had a fantastic week at Rabbit's Bothie. David and Esme couldn't have been more welcoming and the accommodation was exceptionally clean and comfortable. Our main reason for this holiday was walking and the location was perfect as we were on the Coastal Path after a couple of minutes walk from the property. The property itself was in a quiet and safe location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, comfortable location to come back to after a days' walking
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2015
Perfect guests. It was a real pleasure to share our little corner of the Isle of Wight with you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lesleyann...
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
741 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
“Pleasant, Peaceful and Perfect Location”
Reviewed July 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2014

I could not write this review last year as Rabbit's Bothie was not listed on Tripadvisor. I found the website online which was very easy to navigate and make our booking. I also spoke to David before we arrived. Rabbit's Bothie is west of the Island and easy to find. We had our own parking space off road and there was a shed with lock for us to keep our bikes in. The apartment is a self-contained part of the original house were the owner's live. The apartment comes with it's own back garden and lovely little verandah. There is an open plan lounge, diner and kitchen, a lovely large bathroom with shower, washing machine and dryer and the bedroom had the most comfortable bed. The lounge had flat screen TV, the kitchen was so well equiped and Esme and David provided everything need from washing powder to bread, milk and other food items made on the IOW. There was also lots of information on the island, places to visit and bus passes for our use. David and Esme were delightful hosts and it was a pleasure to stay here. The area is interesting and there are a lot of places to walk and enjoy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: we could hear the owner's upstairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing