We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic views and location”
other travelers have booked this property
Freshwater Bay from The Downs
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Freshwater Bay from The Downs
The Promenade at Freshwater Bay 5 minutes walk from the apartment Looking down onto Freshwater Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Freshwater Bay from The Downs
The Promenade at Freshwater Bay 5 minutes walk from the apartment
Looking down onto Freshwater Bay
View from the dining table
Sitting Room.
Colwell Bay Beach, a few minutes drive from the apartment
View from the double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Sitting Room with French doors onto Balcony
The Yar Estuary, Yarmouth a few minutes drive from the apartment.
Colwell Bay just a short drive from the apartment
Part of Kitchen.
Sunset at Totland Bay in May.
Looking down at surfers on Compton Beach from the National Trust car park
Old Gaffers Festival Race off Yarmouth Pier
The Needles from Compton Bay
The walkway at Newtown Nature Reserve, an idyllic  place owned by the National Trust,.
Solent Views near Fort Victoria - walk along the promenade to Yarmouth
Another view of Freshwater Bay
Beachfront cafe at Steep Hill Cove near Ventnor
Looking towards Ventnor from Steephill
View of the Pier at Yarmouth
The cliifs and Tennyson Down
Pilot Cutter at Yarmouth
Our apartment is the one on the top right.
The Botanic Gardens at Ventnor
Winkle Street, Calbourne
Visit Appuldurcombe House owned by English Heritage
The Causeway, 5 minutes drive from the apartment or an easy 1/2 hour walk.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Freshwater, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Francesca...
1 review
“Fantastic views and location”
Reviewed January 13, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Very nice apartment with impressive view of Freshwater Bay. The apartment was comfortably furnished and accessorized (a hair dryer would have been helpful). The lack of storage space in one of the bedrooms and a sticky bathroom/toilet lock makes this apartment more suitable for families or parties who don't mind sharing private space. Yet, I would not hesitate to recommend the property to a friend should the opportunity arise.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2018
Thank you very much for your 5 star review. With regard to the lack of storage space in the double bedroom. There is a very large wardrobe in the twin bedded room which has plenty of capacity for 4 people and indeed in 4 years have not had any other queries regarding storage. With regard to the bathroom lock, thank you for raising this but I was not aware of it because you are the first person to have ever raised an issue with this but we will attend to it. Finally with regard to a hairdryer We are not a hotel or a bed and a breakfast but an apartment self catering rental and we do not provide personal equipment The apartment is otherwise extremely well equipped and comfortable.Our other reviews on this site, owners direct and air bnb will show this. We have a very high level of return bookings, some guests coming back year on year and indeed not only once a year but 3 or 4 times a year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judith R
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Freshwater”
Reviewed August 30, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We really enjoyed staying here. The flat is very comfortable, clean, and well equipped. The surroundings are very peaceful, even though it was August. We enjoyed sitting on the sunny balcony admiring the sea views, and also the cows! There's great walking nearby, and Freshwater bay is lovely for a swim. (Quite pebbly, so bring your swim shoes if you have some.) The parking is good, and there is a little local food shop.We hope to stay another time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2017
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay in our apartment. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolyn n
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great place to stay”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This flat is ideally located for walkers and those wanting to stay away from any crowds. It is very well-equipped, clean and comfortable. The view of Freshwater bay from the balcony is wonderful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: wifi not great
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2016
Thank you very much for your review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akela1863...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent all round”
Reviewed October 6, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

As previously we found everything of a high standard. This is a lovely place to stay. What more can I say.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2015
Thank you for your kind comments and glad once again you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juliab571
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Location Especially for Walkers”
Reviewed May 28, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We wanted a base close to the Needles as we had not stayed on this side of the Island before. It was a great apartment for getting to the beach (about five minute stroll) or accessing the coastal walk to the Needles (about 4.5 miles).

There were definite pros and cons to this apartment. Overall the pros came out on top.

Pros
Great location, very quiet. Parking outside. Nice facilities for making a cup of tea when we arrived and also the biscuits were unexpected and welcome. The apartment was spotlessly clean. The apartment is well appointed with everything you could need and six of everything, six plates, cups, glasses etc. There is wifi and an ipod dock (20 pin) There were bin bags provided for the small bin and also dishwasher tablets and washing up liquid which some places "forget" so thank you for that.

Cons
Just a few (plus a few suggestions). There was no soap provided in the bathroom, even a pump dispenser, which meant we used shower gel till we could buy some! Other places I have stayed have provided a small bar to get you started. The beds were not the most comfortable and the springs were quite hard in the double bed, so be aware if you need a soft mattress. The apartments are in a block of 10 and only one seems to be a permanent home. Not an issue if you are visiting in season I would say, but if you are staying out of season prepare for being a little bit isolated (although there is a bungalow in front of the flats and houses to each side and the rear which are permanently lived in). I thought that it would have been nice if the local tourist leaflets were spread on the table as we arrived. We thought that there were none but found them on our last day which was a little late. Finally, the welcome book could contain some local recommendations for eating, shopping, worship, and local stores as I believe the owners live on the island. That would have been nice. The welcome book is sparse and mostly filled with things that you should refrain from doing rather than helpful suggestions.

Overall this is a good place to stay if you want to be near the Needles and Blackgang Chine or it is ideal if you are a walker.

Thank you for letting us stay.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 28, 2015
Thank you for your review. You mention that there was no soap dispenser nor bar of soap. We clearly advertise all the "extras" that we provide such as washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets, washing machine liquid and the like. We are not a bed and breakfast nor hotel and would not ever expect to leave such products. With regard to the mattress on the double bed, you are the first person to have made a comment about the mattress, indeed almost all the other reviews say what a comfortable bed it is and indeed both the bed and the mattress are barely a year old. With regard to the leaflets, as in most other self catering establishments these are left in a neat pile for you to peruse and again I am totally surprised that you would think to complain about a lack of display of leaflets. Again this is not a bed and breakfast or a hotel which might have a foyer with such leaflets displayed in. We would not consider leaving them out on the dining table or sideboard, we would consider this to be far too much in your face and NO ONE has EVER complained in this regard. You mention that the folder does not give enough information as to places of worship or eating places. There is a church within 100 yards and we list all the local eating places which we consider to be sufficient, it is a rural community not urban and we list what there is! You mention that the flats are isolated because you assume there is only one in permanent occupation. First of all that is not the case. There are 3 in permanent occupation actually. However that is totally beside the point. This is a rural area. The property itself is in a very private location and all it's neighbouring properties are permanently occupied. It is a very safe and secure low crime area within a Conservation Area and an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. We ourselves live there in the Winter and can assure any people wishing to come and stay in our apartment that it is a very safe and friendly area. DO NOT BE PUT OFF BY THIS PERSON'S REVIEW IN THIS REGARD. Carrying on, we were extremely fed up to find that you had totally damaged one of the seats on our cream leather settees which again are barely a year old. People have told us not to take children because they might damage the leather settees. We have had many families who have looked after the place extremely well and we have NEVER had any damage to our leather settees up until now. This is unacceptable. You did not even leave any apology nor note of explanation as to how you came to thoroughly mark a great proportion of one of the seats with blue streaks. This has caused us considerable distress and has taken a whole day and much research and expense to have this put right. The negative comments in your review are out of line with the other reviews we have so far received. Everyone else has appreciated the location of the property and its surroundings and quietness.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diktat
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great View, Great Location, Clean & Comfortable”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Cant complain about anything perfect location to visit Isle of Wight, Freshwater bay is lovely and there is a fantastic walk (4 miles) from the apartment to The needles which we enjoyed. Supermarket nearby for shopping. Very clean and comfortable stay.

[My daughters review below]
This house was very comfy and nice as there was a good view,and because they had our favourite biscuits, the house was very clean and has a good location to visit places. The house was equipped with supplies and things that you would need in excellent condition. Overall it was a lovely house and i would defiantly come and stay again if I was in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2015
In your review you have given is 5 stars out of 5 for every category - (a)ease of booking (b)key pick up/access to property (c)quality of bedding/mattresses (d)cleanliness of bathroon (e)service (f)directions to the property (g)overall condition (h)quality of kitchen/utensils (i)quality of facilities/amenities and so we were therefore bemused as to why you have then given 4 out of 5 stars overall. One of your children has left a review and there is an important point that we must correct and point out to any future guests that come and stay in our apartment - your daughter states that she enjoyed her stay in our house - however our property is NOT a house - it is as advertised a Penthouse Apartment - we would not want any future guests thinking that they are coming to a house. In your own review there are one or two issues that we must also point out for future guests. You say that there is a fantastic walk to the Needles from the apartment. That is indeed the case! but we should point out that that is only one of many walks directly from our apartment. You also state that there is a Supermarket close by. I think you are referring actually to the very well stocked village shop/off licence which is indeed close by as it is a 5 minute walk from the apartment. The nearest actual Supermarket, a Co-op, is 2 miles away on the outskirts of Freshwater.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip H
Uckfield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent penthouse ”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Stayed here for four days and have to say the penthouse is fabulously clean with everything you could need for a perfect stay. It is ideally situated to visit all over the island. It has beautiful views of the bay, and the beach is a 5min walk away. There are lovely restaurants nearby but you could easily eat in the penthouse as it has all you need for self catering. The only thing I would say, is there is a very old and apparently expensive dresser in the lounge with cream leather sofa, as we have two small children aged 6 & 4 this was a little worrying, so a little chat with the kids was needed beforehand but this place was perfect and couldn't find fault and hopefully return sometime in the future......We loved our stay and this place helped make it wonderful.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 8, 2015
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay in our apartment. With regard to the cream leather settees we do state in our advertisement that there are 2 cream leather settees!!! yes we do have an antique (regency) sideboard. We hope to see you back again at some time in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing