We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely large, well equipped, clean cottage in a...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Stable Cottage

Stable Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stable Cottage
Open plan living-dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Stable Cottage
Open plan living-dining
Bedroom 1 with shower en-suite
shower en-suite
Twin bedroom 2
Bath and shower room
Bedroom 3
Plenty of outdoor space
Stable Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Freshwater, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sue P
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely large, well equipped, clean cottage in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have just returned after spending 10 days in this lovely cottage with large grounds you are welcome to share with the very pleasant & friendly family who live in the house next door. Plenty of parking space with a patio area and seating was nice for a bit of sunbathing. It is very private and quiet even though it is on one of the the main roads into Newport - ideal if like me you are a townie and do not like country lanes. As it is small and compact, attractions on the other side of the Island are no more than around 30 minutes away and there is plenty to see and do.

Thank you Vicky, Andrew & Family for making us feel so welcome, we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable furniture & wifi
Liked least: Nothing springs to mind
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2014
Thank you for your lovely commments and for bringing wall to wall sunshine - you said you would!! Hope to see you again soon. Warm regards Andrew and Vickie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarahsnai...
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We've just returned from a week at Stable Cottage, we didn't really want to leave. A very comfortable cottage with everything you need for a relaxing holiday. The owners live in the farmhouse behind the cottage and couldn't be more welcoming and helpful.
The cottage is situated in a rural,location but you can easily walk to the local pub and shops. Nothing is difficult to travel to on the Island with a car so we saw lots of different places, and also enjoyed a lovely walk to Yarmouth along the old railway line. I would recommend this property as a lovely, relaxing, peaceful destination. Our kids made friends with the children who live there as you are allowed to share their extensive back garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2014
It was great having you to stay at the cottage. Hope to see you all again some time. Thank you for your encouraging review. We work hard to ensure the cottage meets guests' expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paulcrate...
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family break - all we wished for!”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Four adults and two children stayed for one week. Lots of safe, outdoor area for children to play. Cottage was clean, warm and the owners accommodating. Lots of info left on things to do and see. Had a lovely holiday, would recommend this to everyone and hope to return soon!

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are always so pleased when guests enjoy the cottage and their holiday, you are always welcome to return :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel K
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely location, beautiful place and friendly owners.”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

I stayed in Stable Cottage for a weekend with a couple of friends and I would definitely go again. The cottage was very clean and tidy and the owners provided some basic essentials which was a lovely touch. The location was perfect because even though it feels rural, it's only a few minutes down the road from everything we needed. There were lots of games and books which meant that we were never bored in the evenings and the accommodation catered for everything that we needed. The only downside was that we struggled to find the cottage but this could've been because it was pitch black and raining!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation
Liked least: Trying to find it
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 29, 2014
We are so pleased that you had such a lovely stay. Hope to see you again on the IOW.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grovesy27
1 review
“Perfect family holiday”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We spent 5 nights at Stable Cottage with our 2 toddlers & it was perfect. The accommodation had everything we needed & the outside space was great, with lots of running around space for the kids, a trampoline & a basket ball hoop (which we all enjoyed). The sea & a great pub are a short walk away (kids only allowed in the garden though). Perhaps most importantly, though, the owners were really thoughtful & went out of their way to look after us, even lending us a train set for the kids. We would certainly go back & would recommend it to others.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 7, 2013
Many thanks for your review, it is so rewarding to hear how much people have enjoyed staying at Stable Cottage and we are grateful for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry the local pub only allow children in the garden, I'm glad this didn't have a negative impact on your holiday. We hope to see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dn27
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation in a lovely part of the Isle of Wight.”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

The cottage is very well furnished, decorated and equipped and a delightful place to stay. It is light and airy with comfortable seating in the living area. We walked each day during our week's stay - you can quickly join the Tennyson Trail from the house and get to the Needles and Yarmouth without using a car. We did drive to other starting points, the roads were fairly quiet, provided you do not try to go through Newport. The owner was very helpful, checking that we had everything that we needed, and he suggested a couple of new walks that turned out well. We have no hesitation in recommending this property and will probably use it again ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A very comfortable and relaxing place to stay.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We are so glad that you found Stable Cottage the ideal base for your walks and exploring rural West Wight, we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing