We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rockstone Cottage
Nearby Hotels
Albion Hotel(Freshwater)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
South Lawn Hotel(Milford on Sea)
$110
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Mayflower(Lymington)
$190
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
$123
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pitchup.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveler rating
227
26
5
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
227
26
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjourney homecakegranolacolwell bayhomemade biscuitsisle of wightwifi connectiondaily specialsbreakfast was deliciouson arrivallittle toucheslovely warm welcomeeach afternoonsuperior roomgreat roomeggs benedicttake home
Filter
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 262 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2013

we booked a trip to England encluding a room with them. unfortuantly only few hours later we had to cancel beacause of personal reasons and they refuse to refund us and charged us full amount without any kind of understanding or consideration. our booking was 3 weeks in advance. the attitude was rude and unplesent. they stick to the formal policy without any kind of will to consider the customer needs.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Htadmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

This reviewer booked through a booking agency, which charges us commission.
Terms and conditions clearly state that deposits are none- refundable.
We advise our guests to take out holiday insurance in case of cancellation or unforseen circumstances.
This reviewer choose to change her plans at the last minute for no valid reason. The deposit is a commitment to show faith that you will arrive on that day, and by accepting your deposit we reserve the room for you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed 2 nights on the Isle of Wight along with my husband's Dad, in order to attend his sister's funeral. It was a sad reason for traveling to one of the most beautiful and popular destinations in the UK, and a challenge finding accommodation at the peak of the August holiday time, so we were absolutely delighted to find two rooms available at this lovely little gem just a couple of miles drive out of Yarmouth. Sheena the owner, made our stay incredibly comfortable and welcoming. The rooms were far more than adequate with all the touches of home, and the beds were luxuriously fresh and comfortable. Refreshments in the room with cake and biscuits, made our arrival and unpacking, a sweet experience. Breakfast served between 8:00 - 9:00 made sure we got off to an early start each day with full and happy tummies. We were treated to home made breads along with a varied menu to rival any top class hotel. We also received a nice goodie bag of home made shortbread for our journey home. All 3 of us would recommend Rockstone Cottage to anyone looking for a good quality place to stay on the IOW. And if you do go and visit, give the Rockstone's little dog Millie, a friendly pat from me as she rolls over for a tummy tickle from all guests!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoJosPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Lovely location, nicely decorated rooms and a delicious breakfast make this a great B and B. Freshly baked goods arrived almost daily in our rooms, which was a nice touch. We stayed in room 5 which had a small but nice shower room. As another reviewer mentioned, it's a real shame there is no access to the garden. But there is colwell bay at the end of the road, perfect place to watch the sunset (eat at the hut if you get the chance). If. You've not visited Freshwater before, Rockstone cottage is well worth a stay!

Room Tip: Room 5 is quiet and overlooks the garden. Shower room but no bath.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crispyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed here for one night and it was perfect, with fresh brownies on arrival, everything you need for a perfect stay. Breakfast was lovely and the owner really friendly. Nice comfy bed with the fresh smell of clean bedding which just makes it. The shortbread biscuits were a really good touch on departure!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shaz8616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Enjoyed a restful weekend here and have been really impressed with Sheena and Gary's hospitality. From the warm welcome when we arrived so early but to a fully prepared room (thanks - it was very hot in the motorbike leathers so we appreciated being able to change in to shorts and t shirts!) to the sheer attention to detail in the beautifully spacious and very comfortable bedroom (room 1). Lots of lovely little personal touches throughout our stay which I won't reveal so as not to spoil your surprise.

The breakfast is of the highest quality and renders lunch completely unnecessary!

Really outstanding little place in a brilliant location....ssshhh....don't tell everyone.

PS the comment by a previous guest about the marmalade.....what complete drivel.....there is one per table fresh every day... Sheena can't answer on here for herself but I am happy to relay that the pots are emptied and sterilised every day....

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We do try hard to make every guests stay with us special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews