We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home from home but better.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockstone Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rockstone Cottage
Ranked #1 of 10 Freshwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A home from home but better.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I have stayed in many B&B over the world but these 4 nights were amongst the most comfortable.
The muffins and chocolate brownies for supper were a nice and unexpected touch.
The full English breakfast was as good as any I have had.
My hosts were gracious and as accommodating as is possible to be.
Highly recommended.
Steve...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thecardoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    21
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
24
129
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night- and its the best B&b we have ever been too, wished we were staying much longer!
They were really lovely, friendly and funny- so helpful. Breakfast was delicious and our room was beautiful, the bed was so comfy I didnt want to leave. Lovely hosts and beautiful place to stay- would recommend to all!

Room Tip: We had the room right at the Top- Freshwater Bay, its beautiful and spacious!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHatlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Brilliant location, very close to the beach and a lovely beach it is. The qulaity of the breakfast was excellent. We were welcomed to our room by lovely homemade brownies and seen off with superb homemade short bread. Little touches like that were very much appreciated. A really nice room and very friendly owners. We'd stay there again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SOrme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

Rockstone Cottage really is a great place to stay if you're visiting IOW. Just a short drive from Yarmouth ferry, or the No7 bus will take you virtually door to door (and beyond). Rooms are spotless and beds super comfy. Quiet location. Super brekkie!!
We had a lovely stay and were made to feel welcome, relaxed and well looked after. I can't see how you could go wrong staying here. We would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Room 6 is located on its own on top floor and has plenty room to spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

If you want to stay at a friendly, clean and in every respect welcoming B&B on the Isle of Wight, Rockstone Cottage is the perfect choice for you! Professional hosts, tasty breakfasts and a tidy, clean room await you.
Hmmmm and those lovely cakes, a real treat they were!
Very good location, only a short stroll from Colwell Bay, where the most beautiful sunset can be seen on the island...
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csabapeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed at Rockstone Cottage for just one night. What a treat, fantastic and welcoming hosts full of useful information on the local area. The room was spotless and spacious with a lovely bathroom. Breakfast was a feast and we had difficulty choosing the many delights on offer. Definitely the best B&B we have stayed in so far. Cant recommend the place highly enough. Well done Sheena and Gary thank you so much.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steveysteve99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in July 2011 glad to see a trip advisor page is now set up. Was a great stay, Unfortunatly the weather wasn't great but the bnb was faultless. Good location and a lovely short walk to the beach and a pub/restaurant. Would recommend and would like to return.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank englefi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater
1.6 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.5 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
2.0 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Weston Manor Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Sentry Mead
Sentry Mead
#1 of 13 in Totland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.8 mi away
Criers Croft
Criers Croft
#4 of 10 in Freshwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockstone Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockstone Cottage

Property: Rockstone Cottage
Address: Colwell Chine Road, Freshwater PO40 9NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Freshwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rockstone Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockstone Cottage is a charming four star guest house originally built around 1790. Situated just three minutes walk from a sandy beach of Colwell bay, we offer bed and breakfast with a quiet, friendly and relaxing atmosphere for adults only. Ideally situated in beautiful West Wight this area is renowned for its beauty, with lovely walks on the coastal path and over the downs. The six well equipped bedrooms are all en-suite. Each room has tea & coffee making facilities, LCD TV & radio, hairdryer, radio alarm clock, complimentary toiletries and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rockstone Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockstone Cottage Isle Of Wight/Freshwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing