We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury”
Review of Criers Croft

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Criers Croft
Ranked #5 of 9 Freshwater B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The finest B&B we have stayed in. Every attention to detail has been made, the accomodation and service is superb. Particulary so at breakfast with not only an extensive menu but cooking to your own individual taste. Peter and Tania have created a standard that all in that trade should aspire too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 141 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have spent the last 2 nights at Criers Croft when visiting the Island for a wedding: The B&B is warm, comfortable and a great place to stay: Breakfast is wonderful and the accomodation first class.

We styed in Criers Loft, which is a large room with a very comfortable bed, a well appointed bathroon/shower and a private spacious balcony.

Tania & Peter are very warm and welcoming hosts who have helped to make our stay very enjoyable indeed.

Our highlight has been sitting eating breakfast whilst watching a red squirrel play in the garden; a total delight.

A highly recommended B&B that we will use again when returing to the Island.

Room Tip: Ay 6'5" tall Criers Loft, being in the loft with limited headroom, may not have been the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Tania and Peter's home in August when visiting the Island for my mother's funeral. Their kindness, generous hospitality and the sheer delight of the place proved a much needed haven at a very difficult time in our lives. We shall definitely return there in more happy times. Such a beautiful place. Excellent hosts and breakfasts and arrival tea are yummy.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneCampionHoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We spent 2 nights with Tania and Peter (12th/13th September). They are wonderful friendly hosts and the accommodation was excellent. Really high standard; room was comfortable and the little basket of treats was much appreciated. En-suite was spotless. Great choice of breakfasts- tried the kedgeree and the pancakes - both superb! Would certainly stay again if we return to the Island.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Topleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have recently returned from a 3 day break at this amazing B&B. We arrived earlier than planned but still had all the first class treatment. The room was clean and cosy and very contemporary in its decoration. The beds are soo..soooo.comfortable. The choice of breakfasts was amazing and was very well presented and executed. Very friendly owners, so just a great experience. So try it for yourselves.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

A truly wonderful place to stay. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and the bed was really comfortable. Lots of nice little personal touches like a basket of goodies when we arrived. The breakfast is fabulous. Tania & Peter are great hosts and really go the extra mile to make your stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lodge which is a completely self-contained room in the garden - wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you are looking for:-
- a warm welcome from hosts with pot of tea and freshly baked scones on arrival ( really best on island and we tried a few on our travels!)
- a little basket of treats waiting in your room including biscuits, chocolates and wine and water.
- fluffy white towels changed daily in a spotlessly kept bathroom with modern fixtures and fittings.
- a very comfortable king sized bed with white cotton linen in a beatifully decorated and immaculately kept room.
-a huge breakfast choice to choose from including, full english, kedgeree, smoked salmon, continental or pancakes with fruits of forest compote and sour cream ( my particular favourite!)
- a breakfast room with glorious views of a lovingly tended stepped garden with little stream running through.
- a peaceful little haven to rest at the end of the day.
........ then look no further than Criers Croft. The wonderful B&B is never more than 45 mins approx from anywhere on the island and only 10 mins from the ferry at Yarmouth.
Tania and Peter are absolutely wonderful hosts and it was a pleasure to stay in their beautiful home. We arrived as guests and left as friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in Sunrise room at the front and although on main road was extremely peaceful and quiet at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BluebellEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Freshwater hotels
0.9 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
337 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rockstone Cottage
Rockstone Cottage
#1 of 9 in Freshwater
257 reviews
0.9 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Heathfield Farm Camping
Heathfield Farm Camping
#1 of 5 in Freshwater
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bay Bed & Breakfast
The Bay Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 9 in Freshwater
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Criers Croft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criers Croft

Address: 107 School Green Road, Freshwater PO40 9AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Freshwater
Price Range: $99 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Criers Croft 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Criers Croft reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Criers Croft Isle Of Wight/Freshwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing