We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B in Isle of Wight”

The Orchards Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Freshwater
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Orchards Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 9 Freshwater B&B and Inns
Calne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great B & B in Isle of Wight”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My Wife and I came to the IOW to take part in the cycling sportive to be held the next day and we booked via the internet and we can say it was the best B & B we have stayed in with a lovely welcome and a pot of tea to start our stay. The room was very spacious with TV, en-suite, tea coffee and biscuits and a lovely view of the orchard at the back. The room was spotlessly clean as was the rest of the B & B. Lots of room to park the car at the back of the house. We would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
17
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire,
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was my second stay at the Orchards - I have family living close by - but the location is perfect for walking and sight seeing in this beautiful side of the Isle of Wight with other places of interest within easy reach by car . Paula and David are great hosts so you are made to feel welcome straight away. The rooms I have stayed in have the most comfortable beds, good showers, lots of extras in both the variety of hot drinks and shower accessories range and are kept warm and cosy on colder days. The standard of cleanliness is second to none - in the rooms and other parts of the house. So much for the 'Bed' part of the deal ; the Breakfasts are truly superb - good variety of cereals, fresh fruit, locally sourced farm eggs, choice of generous or smaller portions, perfectly cooked and arriving at the table piping hot. Paula is most helpful and considerate; 'a home from home'.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arthur68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have stayed with Paula and Family now for a number of years, and have always found the service excellent and the atmosphere very friendly. Paula keeps the "Orchards", spotlessly clean and is extremely helpful and accomodating. The location is excellent for exploring the quieter end of the IoW, and is a good starting point for countryside walks over to Yarmouth following the route of the old railway line, or up on to the Downs, which provide magnificent views across the island. Freshwater Bay is a 20-25 minute walk away, and a regular bus service gives easy access to Newport and the busier end of the island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig_U844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were in Freshwater for a wedding and looking for a B&B to accommodate our party of 2 couples and 1 single. We were delighted with The Orchards. Paula & her husband were friendly hosts and Paula's breakfasts are delicious. The rooms are well thought out, tastefully decorated and incredibly clean and tidy. For us, the location was perfect, a 10 minute walk to the local beach and then a 10 minute drive to the wedding venue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tartan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had a fabulous time at this friendly b+b in Freshwater. The landlady was welcoming, lovely with our children and an amazing cook the eggs we had for breakfast were best I've ever tasted -freshly laid and hand-picked by the good lady herself. Our room was lovely, en-suite sparkling clean and a good nights sleep had by all. Freshwater is a great location for exploring this lovely family friendly island and we look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SIMONE LOUISE F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had another great stay at the Orchards. Our rooms were faultless with good views of the orchard behind. Lovely breakfasts with plenty of choice and using local products and home made jam, and Paula herself couldn't have been more welcoming and friendly.

The B&B is in a great location, with both the main street in Freshwater and the lovely sandy beach at Colwell Bay both within a very short walking distance, and with some great walks on your doorstep. If you fancy a 'night cap' before retiring the day, the Prince of Wales a few doors up is the most welcoming and friendly 'locals' pub that we've come across! The private parking in the back is a godsend too, compared to many places. We look forward to returning again in the not too distant future!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idclc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed for the bank holiday weekend and couldn't have chosen a better b&b to stay for our visit.
Paula greeted us when we arrived and showed us round , our room was lovely everything we needed! Off road parking was fantastic as we had our bikes etc in the car and felt like home from home, breakfast was excellent and set us up for our round island cycle. I would recommend to stay here and will be letting friends and family know if they were to visit the isle of wight.
Thankyou Paula once again
Natalie &Henry

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nataliemarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater
2.0 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
393 reviews
1.3 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
300 reviews
1.2 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
830 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rockstone Cottage
Rockstone Cottage
#1 of 9 in Freshwater
227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sentry Mead
Sentry Mead
#1 of 11 in Totland
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchards Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchards Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Orchards Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Orchards Princes Road, Freshwater, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Freshwater
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchards Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Orchards Bed & Breakfast Isle Of Wight/Freshwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing