We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why Stay Anywhere Else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Caledon Guest House
Ranked #3 of 29 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
1 review
“Why Stay Anywhere Else”
Reviewed September 22, 2009

Great room. Great Breakfast. Great hosts.

Over on nostalga visit from Australia. Will stay at The Caledon next visit.

Pete

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteFromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    37
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
125
53
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Caledon over the weekend 18/19 September along with our teenage daughter for a family wedding. We were greeted warmly on our arrival and shown to our family room at the top of the house. The room was airy and spacious with a double and single bed and was nicely decorated. The bathroom was shared with one other room on the same floor although we did have a sink in our room. The breakfasts were great with a varied selection including Mark's nearly famous fry up which was extremely filling. The hotel is ideally situated a 5 minute walk from the Town Centre and all the amenities.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting Cowes and will certainly stay there again when visiting.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jerryscamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great yarmouth
1 review
Reviewed September 6, 2009

great hosts and great place to stay.spotlessly clean and Marks nearly famous breakfast is a good start to the day.Many thanks for a good bank holiday

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nodnid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

A beautifully decorated guest house and in a great location. Really enjoyed our stay and have recommended to all friends thinking of visiting the IOW. Excited to plan our next stay hopefully soon. Jo and Stu

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mills2977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2009

Just back from a one night stay on August bank holiday. Superb room, spotlessly clean.. Mark and andrea couldn't have been more helpful. A HD TV with DVD player in the room is superb.We borrowed two DVDs from andrea and really liked the movie of Push that night. Liked the touch of providing guests with bathrobes.Our breakfast was delicious. I strongly recommend the Mark's nearly famous breakfast on the menu.My husband and I especially satisfied with the taste of mushroom. A definite place to return to and recommend.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milkyway926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
2 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2009

The service was great. The room was clean and well-stocked with fair-trade tea/coffee/hot chocolate/biscuits. There's also a tv with dvd and a hairdryer provided. There are no ensuites but plenty of wc/shower rooms close to the rooms. The property has a co-op and launderette down the same road and there is a lovely view of the sea.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atkinson2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkLongford79, Owner at The Caledon Guest House, responded to this review, September 1, 2009
Many thanks for your review
Just thought that i'd say to other people reading that we do have a couple of brand new ensuite double rooms available.
Mark - The Caledon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

We have just returned from a mini-honeymoon in the Isle of Wight, and we stayed at The Caledon, and it was fantastic. Our room (number 8) was beautifully decorated, very clean, and had everything we needed, including some mini bottles of wine to help us celebrate! Mark & Andrea are very welcoming, and we must agree that the breakfasts are great (my husband especially loved the mushrooms!).

Its in a great location, within walking distance of the main town of Cowes, so its just a 5 minute drive from the Red Funnel ferry port. Make sure you have £1.50 in change when you arrive in Cowes for the chain ferry (2 minute journey over some water), as you will need to go on it to get to East Cowes.

We will certainly be back for another weekend away! Make sure you visit!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.4 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
37 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
0.7 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cowes
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
329 reviews
12.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caledon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caledon Guest House

Property: The Caledon Guest House
Address: 59 Mill Hill Road, Cowes PO31 7EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Caledon Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caledon is a family run bed and breakfast in Cowes on the beautiful Isle of Wight. We offer modern, comfortable accommodation, tasty, filling breakfasts and friendly service. Our lovely old guest house has a modern feel, with original floorboards, high ceilings and lots of Victorian features. All our bedrooms are recently refurbished in our modern, relaxed style; we want you to feel at home here.The B&B is in a great location, five minutes walk up the hill from the bustling centre of Cowes with its pretty high street with individual shops, great restaurants, lively pubs, ferry links to Southampton and of course the yacht haven, sailing clubs and marinas for which Cowes is so well known.We pride ourselves on our warm welcome and fab Caledon breakfasts; all freshly cooked to order using our wonderful Isle of Wight produce wherever possible. There is free 17Mb broadband Wi-Fi throughout the B&B, and we have a laptop for public use in our guest lounge. All our bedrooms have DVD players and a selection of our DVD's are available for your use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your The Caledon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caledon Guest House Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing