We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Caledon Guest House
Ranked #3 of 29 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great guest house”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

What a little gem, stayed here for a long weekend. Great breakfasts and great view from our bedroom window. A weekend away with friends from all over the world. Only a short walk down the hill into West Cowes and all it has to offer. The walk back up is not too far. We'll definitely stay here again.....

Room Tip: Book a room with en-suite......
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BasiaJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    37
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
48
125
52
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Whitley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights in this delightful b&b and family home. The whole experience was great from the rooms to the exceptional breakfasts. Congratulations to all the family for making this seem like a home from home.

Room Tip: The en suite room are large and very well appointed and decorated. The rooms at the front of the hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val-d'Isère, Rhone-Alpes, France
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I stayed here for five days whilst I was completing a course on the isle of wight, I am 22 year old female, I had a single room with a shared bathroom; i couldnt have asked for a cleaner room it was lovely and comfortable and the bathroom was always clean and tidy and pretty much felt like my own. I woke up to the smell of freshly cooked bacon every morning. I felt safe and comfortable here and I would highly recommend it for anyone who wants somewhere clean and comfortable with an appreciation for delicious, homemade local produce.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Myself and two friends shared a room here for two nights as we cycled around the Isle of Wight. It is a lovely place, really welcoming, great rooms and fantastic breakfasts (very important for hungry cyclists). The owners were great, let us keep our bikes out the back, the room was very comfortable and the shared bathroom had a fab shower. They are clearly very proud of their breakfasts and rightly so - really good quality, locally sourced ingredients, and I particularly loved the smoked salmon and poached eggs. I would recommend it to anyone planning a trip to the island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawrencemac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We booked this guest house through lastminute.com and received an amazing deal. As soon as we booked the owner emailed us to thank us and check all the information was correct. When we arrived the manager was very friendly and showed us to the room. We had booked a triple room which was very spacious, i double bed and 1 single. The bathroom was clean and roomy and the tea and coffee making facilities did not have horrid nescafe original so was a clear winner. The view from the window was of the sea.

The breakfasts were out of this world. Locally sourced and cooked beautifully. The ketchup was even locally made and we hunted it down in the Co-op to take back home with us. There are local cakes for sale in the hallway and all manner of information in the lounge.

A must stay place in Cowes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Caledon was a lovely and welcoming Guest House. Really well finished and very clean. Everything had a touch of class about it with the quality of a 5 star hotel apart from the towels but that was not a biggy.

The breakfast was out standing (smoked salmon and poached eggs) cooked perfectly and the smoked salmon was at room temperature :)

Myself and my wife will be staying there next time we go to the Island.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to from a shared bathroom to an on-suit either or really depends how you feel about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I arrived soaked through to the skin after a wet day's sailing. I was allowed to check in mid afternoon and the room was very nice indeed. The Caledon is clean, quiet, and friendly.
It is only a 5 minute walk from the marina/town, and is easy to find.
Sadly, I had to leave earlier than I'd planned, to get back onto a damp boat... I'd have happily stayed for a leisurely breakfast but didn't have time, so had to miss out.
The Caledon is great, and an added bonus is it has one of the prettiest B&B owners I've ever met!! :-)

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jono H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.9 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
1.0 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
0.4 mi away
North House
North House
#3 of 5 in Cowes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Isle Of Wight (Newport) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Caledon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Caledon Guest House

Property: The Caledon Guest House
Address: 59 Mill Hill Road, Cowes PO31 7EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Caledon Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caledon is a family run bed and breakfast in Cowes on the beautiful Isle of Wight. We offer modern, comfortable accommodation, tasty, filling breakfasts and friendly service. Our lovely old guest house has a modern feel, with original floorboards, high ceilings and lots of Victorian features. All our bedrooms are recently refurbished in our modern, relaxed style; we want you to feel at home here.The B&B is in a great location, five minutes walk up the hill from the bustling centre of Cowes with its pretty high street with individual shops, great restaurants, lively pubs, ferry links to Southampton and of course the yacht haven, sailing clubs and marinas for which Cowes is so well known.We pride ourselves on our warm welcome and fab Caledon breakfasts; all freshly cooked to order using our wonderful Isle of Wight produce wherever possible. There is free 17Mb broadband Wi-Fi throughout the B&B, and we have a laptop for public use in our guest lounge. All our bedrooms have DVD players and a selection of our DVD's are available for your use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and HRS so you can book your The Caledon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Caledon Guest House Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing