We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gray's Inn(Cowes)
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Watch House Barn(Cowes)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Mimosa Lodge(Cowes)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveler rating
45
84
62
49
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
84
62
49
41
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 281 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2010

This Holiday park has a very high proportion of owned properties of which at least some were being used as cheap accomadation I know because the builder opposite went out each morning at 7 am in his diesel transit van.
The feeling I got was that of a business that was concerned with getting as much money out of its customers whilst giving very little in return for instance we got one very small bar of soap for a 2 bedroom chalet there were no towels supplied, the door onto the veranda needed a kick to open once on the veranda there was a very old plastic table that had a large melted hole which wasn't done recently.The indoor swimming pool was cold and the can of lemonade I bought for my daughter in the coffee shop was served to me hot out of the fridge when I mentioned this I was told that the fridge was broken .The staff seemed unmotivated and indifferent.
To sum it up I would never recommend this place to anybody at all.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tocasc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurnardPinesManager, Manager at Gurnard Pines, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2010

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your break as much as you or we would have liked. You did give us the opportunity to reply to you before posting your review on this site, although unfortunately we were unable to rectify the matters raised to your satisfaction as we had not been made aware until after your departure. We do have an active "report it and we'll sort it" policy and as other views have testified on this site our team are friendly and can efficiently solve the very vast majority of issues brought to them to allow customers to continue to enjoy their stay.

Whilst our Guest Services Manager has replied to you in great depth already, I would like to take the opportunity to reply to the comments here for the benefits of the wider public who may be reading these.

Our prices are based on a number of factors including location (both the area - the Isle of Wight - and our position within it), the size and qulity of accommodation, the facilities their size, quality and opening times, the prices of our competitors both on and off the Island, and indeed demand. During school holidays, our breaks are always going to be more expensive than off peak times, which is common across all travel and tourism providers. Our prices are compared several times during the week with our competitors as part of our revenue management policy.

We do provide a complimetary starter pack which is sufficient to have a hot drink and settle in before unpacking. We do not advertise this as a facility we provide but do this as an "added extra" and indeed many holiday parks do not provide this at all. Towels are included in our Plus graded accommodation but are at an extra charge for the other types, as our holidays are self-catering and are not hotel type accommodation (where the per person per night rate tends to be higher). We do specify this in our marketing and again in pre-arrival correspondence and we do offer a towel hire service. Having worked in this industry myself for over 11 years, it is extremely rare to find accommodation that includes towels. We carried out a trial in providing towels in late 2008, however feedback was that customers prefered a slightly lower holiday price and we actually suffered stock losses of 35% over a period of only a couple of months.

We were unaware of the issues with the door and patio table but our guest services manager tells me that these were immediately rectified and had we been made aware would have been able to have sorted this for you during your stay with minimum inconvenience to you, rather than needed to wait until the end of your stay to report these.

The indoor swimming pool is maintained at around 29 degrees centigrade, and the temperature is checked 4 times a day as part of our regular pool test regime. The recommended temperature for a pool is between 26 and 30 degrees, with the lower temperature being ideal for proper swimming and the higher figure for children's swimming lessons, with 29 degrees being the recommended temperature for family swimming. Above 30 degrees, this means that the water becomes "sub tropical" and as well as having significantly higher costs to operated - which we would have to pass on to our customers in the form of higher holiday prices - it would only appeal to a small cross section of our customer base.

I have read the notes regarding the fridge in the cafe bar. I believe that this was rectified as soon as possible but broke down during the bank holiday weekend and we were unable to get a speedy repair. We have now purchased a standby fridge so that we do not have this issue again for our bar, but this is the first time that we had experienced this problem. The new food and beverage manager who had just started at the time of your visit has carried out a number of changes in the cafe bar including the retraining of our counter staff, and the replacement of those who did not want to deliver the experience we would expect to give to our customers.

We do have a number of privately owned holiday homes on park which are on 10-month occupancy. Like many holiday park operators with privately owned accommodation on site, we do spend time and effort ensuring that they are kept up to a minimum standard externally. Commercial vehicles are not allowed on the resort and when you made us aware of this after your departure we were able to take immediate action, although as I am sure you can appreciate we cannot justify the cost of having team members patrolling accommodation areas around the clock, although we do have grounds team members on site all day as well as regular patrols by our security contractor every night.

We were sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and am sorry that you do not wish to return. We had offered that if you did wish to return to Gurnard Pines and see how our reputation for quality is well deserved, to contact our Guest Services Manager via the details she had given so that we may ensure your break with us is made that little bit extra special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

This was our second stay at Gurnard Pines and we have to stay progress is being made, steady and surely.
Due to the ferry being delayed we arrived after reception usually closes but having advised them and along with many others it stayed open and a friendly welcome was offered.
The bungalow was spotlessly clean and everything worked just fine, the welcome pack of tea, coffee and milk was most appreciated so that we could leave some unpacking until the next morning. The bedding is in good condition, basically white but of good quality and the beds were comfortable. TV has freeview and a DVD player is wired in as well. The bungalow was spacious with two bathrooms, plenty of hot water.

Next day we exploded the site and good to see the woodland walk had been tidyed up and was drier than previously and we did indeed see the red squirrels found on the island. Although we did not use the pools they were inviting but the resturant has certainly improved and I understand new catering management is being to bear fruit. The food is reasonably priced but the island as a whole and especially Cowes has so many good establishments.

It is all to easy to find something to complain about, how about a good broom to sweep the tree leaves of the decking outside the bungalow, please but overall I would recommend GP for a calm and peaceful break, quiet at night, if you want to dance the night away then GP is not the place which why we like it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noggin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurnardPinesManager, Manager at Gurnard Pines, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2010

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Gurnard Pines and thank you for posting your review; positive comments gives a real boost to our team members as people tend to be vocal when things are not expected but never when things exceed expectations.

I am glad that you found your accommodation to be our usual high standard. We do note your comment regarding the broom. One should be provided in every holiday home already, as well as a dustpan and brush, and have asked our housekeeper to ensure that these are in each unit; unfortunately sometimes things go "walkies", even the most improbable things do.

We do indeed have a new Food & Beverage Manager who has made a number of improvements and indeed our new summer menu has recently been launched offering daytime bistro, pizzeria and evening brasserie-style restaurant options, with a wider choice of drinks options.

We were glad to also read your comments that you enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere of the resort. We aim to ensure that there is plenty for the whole family to do during the daytime and early evening, but many of our guests who are attracted to this type of holiday do not want the "holiday camp" style cabaret that some parks provide, and indeed part of the criteria to be in the new Go Active Breaks portfolio is that this style of entertainment is not provided.

We hope that we can welcome you back to Gurnard Pines again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

We headed off on our trip on monday morning and jumped on the ferry over to the IOW. Just a short distance away from the terminal in Cowe's we arrived at Gurnard Pines. Set in a nicely tucked away woodland area near to the beach at Gurnard. Upon arrival we decided to get some much needed refreshment at the cafe/bistro/bar and made the most of the glorious sunshine outside. Our room wasn't ready on time as there had been a maintenence issue, but we were told we could make our way to our lodge and the keys would be there waiting for us. The lodge was set in a really nice quiet area looking out into woodland, it was airy and a really good size, two bedrooms, one en suite and good size bathroom and open plan living area. Outside was a decked balcony with patio furniture and the much antisipated hot tub. A few things to say about the state of the lodge are that it was a brick built chalet style and not a wood lodge as we had expected, and the inside was looking a little tired and in need of some TLC, but everything was clean and tidy, we also had a couple of minor problems during our stay, one was the hot tub which we suspected had been the maintenence problem that delayed our check in, this was resolved after we reported the problem to reception in the morning, but upon our return from a day of touring the island and looking forward to re charging the batteries with a soak in the hot tub, it was still not working properly so we had to call reception again, the staff on reception weren't the best if i'm honest, and the message had apparently been lost in communication. Then on our last day the toilet in the en suite broke. This was reported and the maintenence team were there and fixed it no problems. When someone eventually arrived to sort out the problem with our hot tub they were really friendly and got it working again in no time ( special mention to KEN, lovely bloke, top job ).
On our second night there we decided to make the most of our hot tub and stayed at the lodge, we ordered some pizza's from the cafe, and went to collect them 20 minutes later. Really good stone baked pizza well worth checking out if you can't be bothered going out or cooking one night.
The resort as a whole was really good, great range of things to do on site, good gymn and pool complex, and in a really great setting, we will definatley be going back next year. My one main moan would be that they just need to freshen up the place a bit, and then it would be a top place, value for money is really good and you'd find it hard to book another place with your own private hot tub for the money we paid, so for that it's a thumbs up from me. Looking forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauly8g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurnardPinesManager, Owner at Gurnard Pines, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2010

Thank you for your review and glad you love our pizzas; they are very popular and better tasting and value than many well know pizza chains! At Gurnard Pines we offer a number of bungalows with hot tubs, but currently do not offer any lodges with these. This is due to a number of factors although we may expand our "fleet" of hot tubs in the future. We do state on our website and in our brochure that the hoiday homes with hot tubs are only bungalows, although these are one of our most popular holiday home types and offer a secluded location within the resort. Having checked the records on your holiday home, there was a 5 minute delay to your key collection for which we are of course very sorry, but this was not due to an issue with the hot tub but rather a maintenance repair in the kitchen that was finished just after 4pm. I am glad that our maintenance team were efficient when you called them out to deal with the toilet flush but am sorry that you did not experience the same with the hot tub. We do use a contract cleaning company to service our accommodation including hot tubs, and it appears that whilst reception had passed the message on this had not been acted on. When I had my monthly meeting with their operations director on Friday, I brought this issue up and can assure you and other guests that this sort of issue will not happen again, so please accept our apologies for this. We do check our hot tubs daily and keep records of water quality at reception with secondary checks carried out at least weekly by a water quality expert (although the pool water is changed at every changeover) which do state that the water quality was very good at all times. Sometimes the chemical combination in the water can react with certain beauty products, whcih we have tried to anticipate on the hot tub instructions signs, and cause the water to discolour or cloud. We use an anti-cloud additive which breaks this down over time as the water goes through the filters.

We do carry out constant maintenance and renewal throughout the resort and have invested over £1m over the past three years on the park's infrastructure. Unfortunately, when we took the business over in 2007 the level of investment in the park had been very low and we are now actively developing the product. We have a number of exciting projects in the pipeline for our holiday guests in 2011, as well as intend to add a high adventure tower from the July summer holidays this year, which we are sure will cement our position as a leading UK holiday destination. We'd love to see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Yes, the lodges are 'Park Home' static caravans clad to look like lodges but don't let that put you off! The rooms are spacious and well laid out and could easily and comfortably slept 6 people as advertised but you would have to know each other pretty well! I marked down the sleep quality as the double bed was very small and not very comfortable. The site itself is lovely and picturesque although I felt some of the lodges were quite close together and we could hear next door's kids howling but they weren't in all the time. We tried the bar and the 'brasserie' and they were both a bit lacking but we were a bit out of season. We didn't try any of the leisure activities as that was not what we wanted from our holiday but its there if that is your sort of thing. Reception stocks a few bits and bobs but I wouldn't rely on it. Its good value for money and a really good base to explore the island. I would go back like a shot.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smelly_cat_lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurnardPinesManager, Manager at Gurnard Pines, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review. I was sorry to read that you did not sleep well. The double beds do have standard size double mattresses on them which were replaced a few years ago. However, we do have a policy of continual renewal and maintenance because we do operate as a year-round park rather than a seasonal one, and we do replace furnishings as required. Despite the resort being open all year, we do experience some significant seasonal variations in demand for our brasserie/bar and we do offer an extended menu uin summer. A new catering manager has recently joined our team with an excellent history of working in high profile catering outlets to a similar customer base as our brasserie and he is currently putting in place some positive changes; I ate there myself today and was impressed with the high quality of the food and its presentation, so am sure that very soon many guests will be delighted with the experience. But afterall, I was very glad to read that you would be looking to return to us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at Gurnard Pines - 26/04/2010 - 30/04/2010. The resort is fantastic and exceeded our expectations, the leisure facilities were brilliant, especially the swimming pool (also has certain times for adult lane swimming). The site was clean and relaxed.
The accomadation we stayed in (A 3 bedroom Pine Lodge) was larger than expected and clean. Must have been recently refurbished as new carpets etc. The kitchen equipment is a little dated - but did the job! I have to say that the accomadation seemed to be a caravan disgused as a 'pine lodge' - when you looked closer you can see the wheels etc! which did disapoint us somewhat as we were hoping not to stay in a caravan! Never the less - it did not feel like a caravan once in it!
Postives are -
- Clean site
- Plenty to do - if you are a active sporty type
- Quiet
- Good place to stay with very young children
- Excellent place to base your family whilst staying on the Isle of Wight
- Friendly staff (especially young chap doing circus skills outside reception)
Negatives -
- disguised caravan
- no vaccum cleaner in the accomadation
- ants in the kitchen (never got around to reporting them)
Overall - we all enjoyed our stay at Gurnard Pines.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GurnardPinesManager, Manager at Gurnard Pines, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2010

Thank you for your review and I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our pine lodges, like the very vast majority of those on holiday parks throughout the UK, are "twin units" which are delivered to us in parts from the manufacturer ready to be assembled on site. This means that they can be easily replaced when they reach the end of their usable life and means they can be moved if necessary. I am sorry if you felt mislead in anyway, but this is very much standard terminology for these types of holiday homes within the UK self-catering industry. However, as you state, when inside they have a far greater amount of space and level of comfort to caravan holiday homes. We do note your comment about the vacuum cleaner and have not provided these in our lodges as the majority of guests staying with us are on short breaks and that there is limited storage for a vacuum cleaner in a discrete location. We do have vacuum cleaners available from reception and also offer a maid service should our guests wish for a mid-holiday clean. I do hope that we will see you again soon and that we can welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews