We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and unchearful”
Review of Gurnard Pines

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cowes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gurnard Pines
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This park is tired, run down and has a lack of any management effort to do anything about it. Expect central bins overflowing with rubbish, a playpark with nails sticking up, a central area with 'out of order' signs everywhere and row upon row of brick huts that they are careful not to show you on the website
I agree with the other comments that the chalets themselves are adequate, warm and dry and reasonably clean, but the whole atmosphere of the park is more prison camp than holiday park. I wish I had spent a few mintues reading these reviews before booking - I got the long stare from my wife when we arrived and the question "you've gone cheap again haven't you". As normal, she was spot on

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 279 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here Aug 2013, in a Solent Villa 2 plus (hot tub), supposed to be the highest accommodation on site. OMG, where to begin, the hot tub was not working properly after several call outs, and it splattering out all sorts of crap, towards the end of the wk they finally drained it and refilled it so it worked. Accommodation is shabby, dated, and was also not the cleanest we have stayed in. The park has residential people who live in accommodations on the park, this made it feel like an OAP's holiday park, and again park is very dated, in need of modernisation and totally uplift .We had a broken chair on the terrace which we constantly had to asked to be removed! The site guide we had in the accommodation had out of date 24hr contact number in!! PLEASE BE AWARE not at all as described in the Hoseason's brochure

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaJayneRodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

After reading some of tge previous reviews was a little apprehensive as to what to expect. Yes it was quiet, yes it was a little run down in places and maybe it was geared more towards the leisure facilities; but our bungalow was clean, tidy and well equipped. The staff were friendly when we saw them. Made an excellent base to explore from. Well worth the money.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank staceyp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night break here over half term. Despite the reviews we decided to give it a go. The park is set in some lovely surroundings, however the park is in need of a major overhaul.The main reception is in serious need of renovation with paint peeling and carpet tiles lifting at the corners or gaffer taped down. The bar/bistro is small and offers no real menu. The soft childrens play area was large however great and the kids loved it, again just needs a thoroughly good clean. We checked in and went to our rustic lodge. The lodge was large, spacious, and with central heating very warm. However it was filthy. The windows and room corners had huge cobwebs hanging from them and the windows outside were dirty. The drawers in the rooms were so dirty we would not put our childrens close in them.The bathroom was also dreadful. The crockery was absolutely filthy with food still attached. Our first job was to go to coop and buy a large amount of cleaning products and proceed to scrub the place. We then complained to reception, the employee while pleasant was not very helpful and said we should fill in a form. We filled the form out and heard no more. Not all bad hence the average mark, the pool was large and very clean and the gym looked well stocked although we never used it. All in all it was ok for what we paid on a sun deal, if you just use it as a base to see the wonderful isle of wight. For families there is absolutely no entertainment at all in the main block so you will have to venture out and about. Would visit the isle of wight again but probably not here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank borneokirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed here Friday to Monday, made the mistake of driving around the camp first, is a little run down in places so were not too hopeful about our accommodation. Boy were we wrong the bungalow was lovely, really spacious and warm and welcoming, is ample parking right outside. The soft play area was great for my 6 year old, and the swimming pool was clean and I thought very warm. The staff were all very pleasant and friendly :-)

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Zinny2203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We have just got back from a Sun "readers" short break (we should have had 4 nights ,but an appointment at home dictated we only had 2 ) we were impressed with the chalet which was a 3 bed ,2 bathroom bungalow , once I had found the thermostat and got the heating on it was all good. The bungalow was a bit "tired" but we were told that the site has been taken over by a London company after the previous owners had had financial problems and had not invested in the site ,but the new owners are going to invest heavily into the site. The only criticism I would have is the road down to the Reception is very narrow for 2 cars to pass and could do with widening due to the amount of traffic using the Leisure facilities . All in all good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Have just got back from four nights here for half term. First impressions were excellent. We were allocated a huge three bedroom lodge with three bedrooms, a bathroom and separate toilet. Yes the carpet was stained in the lounge, the cooker will probably need replacing for next season and the general cleanliness inside and out was not up to most people standards. I've stayed in much worse for more money though I can tell you, and I think the price reflects this, £72 for four nights! It was warm and in a very quiet location with views over the green and you could see the sea from the main bedroom. The bedrooms, beds and bedding were clean. Fantastic Mira power shower in the main bathroom. We had the central heating on all the time so this made it very cosy, there was also an electric fire should you need it. All utensils and household items you would expect including an iron and ironing board. Could have done with a hoover though I would say. This site is not your typical Holiday camp and I think that's why people are not impressed. This is a Health Club and Creche for the local area with a few chalets and lodges thrown in. There is no club house or entertainment, other than based around the gym and pool. The gym and pool looked lovely however we didn't pay for passes, as £10 each just to swim seemed excessive. However there is a small café/bar which you can use alongside the health club members and a smashing child's soft play area and a few amusements. If your looking for just a base in a quiet area this is your place, if you want entertainment and lots of people I would try other parks.

Room Tip: The lodges are older and have not been refurbished like the chalets, however location wise they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mrs_Betto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cowes hotels
1.5 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
354 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
2.1 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cowes
96 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Caledon Guest House
1.5 mi away
Watch House Barn
Watch House Barn
#27 of 28 in Cowes
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gurnard Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gurnard Pines

Address: Cockleton Lane, Cowes PO31 8QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Cowes
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 50 acres of private woodland, a short stroll from the beach and moments from the lively yachting capital of Cowes, Gurnard Pines is the perfect destination for holidays and short breaks. With quality leisure facilities offering plenty of action for all ages, there is plenty of fresh air, freedom and flexibility to relax. Our Bungalows and Lodges nestle in a peaceful countryside setting, complete with a nature trail and quiet spots to relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gurnard Pines Hotel Cowes
Gurnard Pines Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing