We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit.....Still poor”
Review of Gurnard Pines

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cowes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gurnard Pines
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Visited last September and stayed in what's advertised as a lodge, which is actually a brick build chalet, hot tub cold first night and did not get up to temp until the last night (despite contacting reception twice). Accommodation is not modern or clean, although does have all you'll need for a home from home. Bed broken first night, and freezer was broken but both rectified next day. Second visit last week, and went for a standard villa, which was filthy. Dust everywhere, light fillings covered in cobwebs, I won't even mention the toilet brush but you see where this is going!! The beds were not made on arrival and on making beds noticed the pillows were old, stained and bobbly, and the bedding, whilst clean was stained. Complained to reception that we were missing a duvet cover, 30 mins later 2 workers arrived with 1. The facilities are slightly better, the pool and changing area clean and tidy though the pool is highly chlorinated and is not the advertised 25meters! The cafe, ok, all tables sticky and usually full of the sports centre clientele. Staff friendly enough, but too be honest they seem to be coping with very limited resources whilst trying to compete with better parks...

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Jobbers78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 279 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend at Gurnard Pines courtesy of one of the newspaper offers. Before going I read the reviews and had some concerns but was pleasantly surprised with our bungalow (no 288) which was nicely decorated and had (almost) everything we needed. Yes a bit more attention to detail would not go amiss in the bathrooms but these were just minor points and it was not dirty - just not as good as it could have been! Also given it was dark at night it would have been good if the outside lights were working - particularly important for older folks or younger kids.. Pity there were no questionnaires in the bungalow so we could advise what would help improve the stay (silly little things like a pair of scissors and a chopping board in the kitchen) but overall I was happy with the accommodation. The leisure area is OK - glad I was there out of season - the changing rooms could do with a bit more checking re cleanliness but overall I think it was excellent value for money, in a good location and the staff (what we saw of them) were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Go for one of the bungalows not too near the leisure centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Booked a last minute 4nt break through hoseasons. The price we paid was not expecting the ritz. We booked a log cabin which on 1st impressions looked nice until you go inside. The carpet was heavily stained, cobwebs all over the windows which clearly hadn't been cleaned for months! Cooking facilities were dirty and didn't even look safe. Beds were falling apart and very un comfy so bad we got bad backs. Location ok car is needed to get about and explore the beautiful iow.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank beckys1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We first visited this site in 2011, and based on that, the site has gone downhill. The windows were cobwebbed inside and out, our smoke alarm hanging from the ceiling, thick dust behind the beds and staff very thin on the ground (I do have photos of the former items). The leisure centre is very well maintained for the private members, seemingly at the expense of holidaymakers like ourselves. My wife stayed at the same site about 6-7 years ago when they still had an onsite shop, cinema and entertainment, and she laments their absence, forcing visitors into the nearby towns of Cowes and Newport for the above. I feel the sites owners have their priorities all wrong, and leaves the accommodations sole use as a base for going elsewhere on the island. One positive - it was cheap to stay at this time of year, probably because next to no-one was staying there!

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Stephen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

what a shame the cleaners need the sack and the maintinance guys, the place was very dusty and greasey in the kitchen area,there was crumbs and a straw on one of the dining room chairs the verander was disgraceful. The windows had not been cleaned in a long time as for the mainitnance the well where do i start the shower pole was broke so you had to use it by holding it there were holes in the wall in the bath room and bed room, one of the wall lights were hanging off . such ashame coz other than that the cabin was nice .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nosmoBostonLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have stayed at Gurnard Pines several time over the past few years. On the good side it is lovely and quiet, is conveniently located for access to many of the IoW attractions. There are good pool and soft play areas for children. The Villa Plus with hot tub is well proportioned family brick built bungalow, with two bedrooms and two bathrooms and all mod-cons provided. The staff were friendly and the facilities very good.

But on the bad side, as others have said, the villa (and the site) some TLC: a coat of paint, here and there, some deep cleaning, new mattresses, and refurbished decking.

The owners of the park have run into financial difficulties and although promising much, it feels like they just holding on. A large number of the residential bungalows on the site need attention. Overall the site looks like it is about to close. which is a shame.

Room Tip: use the local shop at the top of cockleton lane for basics, (400 yards) and the Woodvale pub by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The-Old-Romantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I read the reviews before i went for a 4 night stay at Gurnard Pines on 2nd Sept i went however with a open mind from reading the previous comments about the park.

Oh my goodness i have never seen anything like it as you drive into the park it looks inhabitable there are old lodges that are clearly no longer in use and fenced off. You drive down to the reception to check and are directed to the bar to check in !

We booked a Villa Plus for our stay the building its self is a very good size as there were four of us in the party. The cleanliness wasn't particularity that good there were cobwebs in the bedroom and dining area and the bathroom tiles had mould all around the grouting which i see as there isn't any excuse as there are products on the market to remove that !

We also had a hot tub included with the property unfortunately only half of it worked properly which was quite disappointing considering we had paid almost £400 for the stay,and also felt that the staff were unapproachable to complain to.
On the first night we thought we would give the brassiere a try there wasn't much choice and the staff weren't very helpful and you were made to feel that you were inconveniencing them to serve you.
The toliet also was blocked near the bar so i had to approach a member of the bar team to be advised to go to reception ---- reception for a wee?

After all the disappointment we then were faced with the maintenance crew using chainsaws wearing only shorts and t-shirts and without the appropriate safety gear.
This just sums Gurnard Pines oblivious they don't care about customer service as i have tried to contact them to raise my concerns and they don't care for their staff!!!!!!!! Poor hoseseasons to have your attached to this !!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucirussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cowes hotels
1.5 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
358 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
2.1 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cowes
97 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Caledon Guest House
1.1 mi away
Mimosa Lodge
Mimosa Lodge
#1 of 28 in Cowes
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gurnard Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gurnard Pines

Address: Cockleton Lane, Cowes PO31 8QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Cowes
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 50 acres of private woodland, a short stroll from the beach and moments from the lively yachting capital of Cowes, Gurnard Pines is the perfect destination for holidays and short breaks. With quality leisure facilities offering plenty of action for all ages, there is plenty of fresh air, freedom and flexibility to relax. Our Bungalows and Lodges nestle in a peaceful countryside setting, complete with a nature trail and quiet spots to relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gurnard Pines Hotel Cowes
Gurnard Pines Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing