We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs improving”
Review of Gurnard Pines

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cowes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gurnard Pines
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We first visited this site in 2011, and based on that, the site has gone downhill. The windows were cobwebbed inside and out, our smoke alarm hanging from the ceiling, thick dust behind the beds and staff very thin on the ground (I do have photos of the former items). The leisure centre is very well maintained for the private members, seemingly at the expense of holidaymakers like ourselves. My wife stayed at the same site about 6-7 years ago when they still had an onsite shop, cinema and entertainment, and she laments their absence, forcing visitors into the nearby towns of Cowes and Newport for the above. I feel the sites owners have their priorities all wrong, and leaves the accommodations sole use as a base for going elsewhere on the island. One positive - it was cheap to stay at this time of year, probably because next to no-one was staying there!

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Stephen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 279 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

what a shame the cleaners need the sack and the maintinance guys, the place was very dusty and greasey in the kitchen area,there was crumbs and a straw on one of the dining room chairs the verander was disgraceful. The windows had not been cleaned in a long time as for the mainitnance the well where do i start the shower pole was broke so you had to use it by holding it there were holes in the wall in the bath room and bed room, one of the wall lights were hanging off . such ashame coz other than that the cabin was nice .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nosmoBostonLincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We have stayed at Gurnard Pines several time over the past few years. On the good side it is lovely and quiet, is conveniently located for access to many of the IoW attractions. There are good pool and soft play areas for children. The Villa Plus with hot tub is well proportioned family brick built bungalow, with two bedrooms and two bathrooms and all mod-cons provided. The staff were friendly and the facilities very good.

But on the bad side, as others have said, the villa (and the site) some TLC: a coat of paint, here and there, some deep cleaning, new mattresses, and refurbished decking.

The owners of the park have run into financial difficulties and although promising much, it feels like they just holding on. A large number of the residential bungalows on the site need attention. Overall the site looks like it is about to close. which is a shame.

Room Tip: use the local shop at the top of cockleton lane for basics, (400 yards) and the Woodvale pub by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The-Old-Romantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I read the reviews before i went for a 4 night stay at Gurnard Pines on 2nd Sept i went however with a open mind from reading the previous comments about the park.

Oh my goodness i have never seen anything like it as you drive into the park it looks inhabitable there are old lodges that are clearly no longer in use and fenced off. You drive down to the reception to check and are directed to the bar to check in !

We booked a Villa Plus for our stay the building its self is a very good size as there were four of us in the party. The cleanliness wasn't particularity that good there were cobwebs in the bedroom and dining area and the bathroom tiles had mould all around the grouting which i see as there isn't any excuse as there are products on the market to remove that !

We also had a hot tub included with the property unfortunately only half of it worked properly which was quite disappointing considering we had paid almost £400 for the stay,and also felt that the staff were unapproachable to complain to.
On the first night we thought we would give the brassiere a try there wasn't much choice and the staff weren't very helpful and you were made to feel that you were inconveniencing them to serve you.
The toliet also was blocked near the bar so i had to approach a member of the bar team to be advised to go to reception ---- reception for a wee?

After all the disappointment we then were faced with the maintenance crew using chainsaws wearing only shorts and t-shirts and without the appropriate safety gear.
This just sums Gurnard Pines oblivious they don't care about customer service as i have tried to contact them to raise my concerns and they don't care for their staff!!!!!!!! Poor hoseseasons to have your attached to this !!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucirussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Not your usual Holiday site, Gurnard Pines caters purely for the fitness freak. Very unkept looking site once past the reception area. No on-site shop so don't expect your daily stroll for the paper and bottle of milk. No Entertainment even tho they are still advertising "musical bingo" nights. Automatically charged for departure breakfasts, but on arriving at 8.30am as advertised was told it was 9am and they had no booking for us ! The scowling receptionist did however refund us the cost.

Room Tip: Pine lodges have partial sea view all others woodland
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissyB44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Having read some of the reviews on here I was very concerned about going on our 4 night sun holiday booking here. I was armed with cleaning products and although they was used I wouldn't say it was really necessary.
Our 2 bed 2 bath lodge was to a simple clean standard in a very peaceful part of the park.
Location was a great base for us to tour the island, beach and Cowes all a short distance away.
The only downside was a disgusting problem with the mattress but house keeping sorted it first thing in the morning.
We didn't visit the on site bar but the swimming pool was a nice with a small cost for a leisure pass.
Not sure the standard of accommodation and amenities would be acceptable for the list prices on their website but definitely worth it with the newspaper offer.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenjenmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I enjoyed my stay in this accommodation. The accommodation itself is clean and the facilities are great. I counld have given this 5 star but the location is the only snag. Overall, I would recomend this place to anyone who wants peace and quite and some fun for the kids too.

The staff are friendly I just wish they are located near the sea and or the wi fi extends to the whole accommodation

Room Tip: Make sure you have a car as its easy to get into any parts of the isle of Wight on a car . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erichvincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cowes hotels
1.5 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
355 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
2.1 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cowes
97 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Caledon Guest House
1.5 mi away
Watch House Barn
Watch House Barn
#27 of 28 in Cowes
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gurnard Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gurnard Pines

Address: Cockleton Lane, Cowes PO31 8QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Cowes
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 50 acres of private woodland, a short stroll from the beach and moments from the lively yachting capital of Cowes, Gurnard Pines is the perfect destination for holidays and short breaks. With quality leisure facilities offering plenty of action for all ages, there is plenty of fresh air, freedom and flexibility to relax. Our Bungalows and Lodges nestle in a peaceful countryside setting, complete with a nature trail and quiet spots to relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gurnard Pines Hotel Cowes
Gurnard Pines Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing