We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressed and dirty”
Review of Gurnard Pines

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cowes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gurnard Pines
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unimpressed and dirty”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Sadly, one of the worst places I have ever stayed. Accommodation is badly equipped, and in desperate need of a thorough clean. Odd rules about opening the children's play park (closed at least 2 days we were visiting) and wouldn't open the outdoor pool on hottest day of year so far. Staff are obnoxious and extremely rude, never saw the receptionist smile once during my stay. On the positive note the chalet was fairly spacious and the location good for travelling around the island.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happyholiday1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    83
    61
    49
    40
See reviews for
177
53
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

As said Shear panic when we arrived But overall accomidation was perfect for what we needed. When we first arrived I was very unimpressed as the grounds where very unkept and dirty chalets near the reception area I was ready to ask for my money back straight away but thought let's just have a look where we r staying and then make our mind's up. I would firstly say the staff at reception are A+ very helpful in our enquiries and advice for where to go and what to do as we had come for a hen weekend. We took a short drive to our chalets fingers crossed the roads are not as bad as other reviews say they are and the chalets we stayed in where spotless large and we we're shocked and very surprised how well equipped the kitchens are. Beds are comfy and clean and hot tub was fabulous. Infact it was ideal for us our chalets were nunumbers 279 & 280 and at the other end of the park near the woodlands. There is not much around the area so you will need a car or they have taxis that will come to the reception if you want to go intoccowes taxi around 6 pounds. They have a fantastic gym and a average pool as well as a outdoor pool and bar also a good indoor play area and a outdoor park which all were open they do not have a on-site shop which was a shame but we had already brought we needed with us. My only niggle is this place has so much potential and in need of a good groundsman with a little TLC this would be a lovely place to stay. I can't stress enough that the staff are great tho Eileen especially who I had a many conversations with before we arrived.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank caps111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed last weekend in a rustic lodge on a newspaper deal. Very strange place! Glad I read the reviews before we went as it lived up to our expectations! The place seems to have been abandoned, all looked very tatty & tired. Will someone please give this place the attention it deserves?! Having said that the lodge was plenty big enough for 6 of us & as a place to sleep it did the job, but nothing more.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 122sfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill East sussex
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have just got back from a brillian stay at Gurnard Pines. We have stay twice before here and were really impressed with new lodges. The ground around the lodges was really nice and not overlooked by others. We had two of the new lodges (253 and 254) for two families. We were really surprised by how spacious and roomy they were (3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms). They were perfect for a short 3 night stay. We used the indoor pool with the children and it was a great size. The ladies changing room were very clean and modern. There was bars/restaurent on site and th a large soft play area for young kids. we spent most of the day visiting the island and looked forward to comimg back and going for a dip.

Overall very nice stay and we wound defintely be coming back here again soon.

Room Tip: Go for the new lodges especially the 3 bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkisingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just back from a 4 night stay at Gurnard Pines. This was a cheap and cheerful offer out of the newspaper and that's what I expected. I was very surprised by the accommodation on offer. It had two spacious bedrooms, two bathrooms and a lovely kitchen come dining room come lounge with everything that you could possibly need for a short break. We did not use the facilities of the park so cannot comment other than to say that there didn't seem to be much going on in the evening in the way of entertainment. The position of our accommodation was right by the woods which was delightful. Saw plenty of red squirrels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Memtam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have been visiting the island for 15 years. This was our first visit to this park. We had also booked via the newspaper offer, and after read the trip advisor reviews.There was no need to worry On arrival we get what people are saying, it does look a bit like a barracks but no more an eyesore than the caravans we have stayed in before. The bungalow could of been a little cleaner and the bed a little better but it is often the way I feel on these cheap deals, but the space you get for your money is first class, 2 bathrooms, big bedrooms, fridge and real freezer,outside area, and heating. We had a 1 year old and it was so good to fit in her travel cot, toys and have loads of room to try out her first steps. The area is wonderful, we enjoyed the woodland walk and walks to the beach. The residents and people we walked pass we all so friendly.We will try to book Gurnard pines every year now, no more park resorts, they could learn a lot from this park. We can not comment on the resort facilities as we did not use any as we visit relatives so just use as a base.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Recently stayed in a rustic lodge which sleeps six and as there were only 2 of us there was plenty of room but for 5 or more people I would say it could get crowed. I managed to get a deal for £155 for 4 nights including a return ferry which was brilliant! But, there is little to do on site and we used it more as a base. The activities that are listed online are scheduled which is a shame as it would cut into a day of sightseeing.

Positives:
- Secluded Holiday Park
- Free access to the pool gym
- Modern changing rooms (I think they are installing a sauna?)
- Close to a marina
- Clean lodge when we arrived

Negatives:
- Overall the holiday park needs a lot of TLC, some of the villas looked run down and the roads need to be re-done.
- Out dated interior of the lodges, needs modernisation (or even just a flat screen tv!)
- Wi-Fi is extortionate! £5 per day and it’s not even a guaranteed signal.
- Though kitchenware is provided, there is nothing to clean it with! Would had expected at least a sponge and washing up liquid.
- Definitely need a car as its far from most attractions!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sejal p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
10.0 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
725 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
1.4 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Woodside Coastal Retreat
Woodside Coastal Retreat
#1 of 1 in Wootton Bridge
272 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Caledon Guest House
1.1 mi away
Mimosa Lodge
Mimosa Lodge
#1 of 29 in Cowes
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gurnard Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gurnard Pines

Property: Gurnard Pines
Address: Cockleton Lane, Cowes PO31 8QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Cowes
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 50 acres of private woodland, a short stroll from the beach and moments from the lively yachting capital of Cowes, Gurnard Pines is the perfect destination for holidays and short breaks. With quality leisure facilities offering plenty of action for all ages, there is plenty of fresh air, freedom and flexibility to relax. Our Bungalows and Lodges nestle in a peaceful countryside setting, complete with a nature trail and quiet spots to relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gurnard Pines Hotel Cowes
Gurnard Pines Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing