We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (282)
Filter reviews
282 results
Traveler rating
45
84
62
49
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
84
62
49
42
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
131 - 136 of 282 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have been visiting the island for 15 years. This was our first visit to this park. We had also booked via the newspaper offer, and after read the trip advisor reviews.There was no need to worry On arrival we get what people are saying, it does look a bit like a barracks but no more an eyesore than the caravans we have stayed in before. The bungalow could of been a little cleaner and the bed a little better but it is often the way I feel on these cheap deals, but the space you get for your money is first class, 2 bathrooms, big bedrooms, fridge and real freezer,outside area, and heating. We had a 1 year old and it was so good to fit in her travel cot, toys and have loads of room to try out her first steps. The area is wonderful, we enjoyed the woodland walk and walks to the beach. The residents and people we walked pass we all so friendly.We will try to book Gurnard pines every year now, no more park resorts, they could learn a lot from this park. We can not comment on the resort facilities as we did not use any as we visit relatives so just use as a base.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Recently stayed in a rustic lodge which sleeps six and as there were only 2 of us there was plenty of room but for 5 or more people I would say it could get crowed. I managed to get a deal for £155 for 4 nights including a return ferry which was brilliant! But, there is little to do on site and we used it more as a base. The activities that are listed online are scheduled which is a shame as it would cut into a day of sightseeing.

Positives:
- Secluded Holiday Park
- Free access to the pool gym
- Modern changing rooms (I think they are installing a sauna?)
- Close to a marina
- Clean lodge when we arrived

Negatives:
- Overall the holiday park needs a lot of TLC, some of the villas looked run down and the roads need to be re-done.
- Out dated interior of the lodges, needs modernisation (or even just a flat screen tv!)
- Wi-Fi is extortionate! £5 per day and it’s not even a guaranteed signal.
- Though kitchenware is provided, there is nothing to clean it with! Would had expected at least a sponge and washing up liquid.
- Definitely need a car as its far from most attractions!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sejal p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have just come back from Gurnard Pines as we got a cheap deal via a newspaper offer. I really wasn't expecting much... I have to say I was pleasantly surprised and it was amazing value for money.

I understand totally (and agree with most of) what the other reviewers have said... The lodge could have been MUCH cleaner but after a quick clean with anti-bac spray all was well... The TV is out of date, the mattresses are old and shabby and there is NOTHING included so make sure you take your own toilet paper!!!!!! There are a lot of potholes in the roads also. However the setting is lovely and for the price I really recommend it and would definitely go back. While the lodge needs updating it was pleasantly spacious and the outdoor area is cute. The heating was very reliable and efficient (even though a lot of the heat disappeared out of the ill-fitting front door).

I wouldn't bother with the leisure pass (with newspaper offer) unless you are sure you want to use it. The pool is small and boring for kids and the indoor play centre is very small and had a funny smell about it - I would just pay as you go if you want to try it out (it is nothing like we are used to on the mainland).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 316annmariec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is our third year at Gurnard pines with a family of 2 adults and 2 children. We stayed in an upgraded villa with hot tub.

The kids love the quiet park and surroundings the small indoor play centre, pool and cafe/restaurant.

However as an adult i always feel a little disappointed that the owners fail to fully realise the potential of the part (perhaps a visit to Ribby Hall or Centre Parcs would be worthwhile to see the differences).

So what are those differences then (not in any particular order):

- roads within Gurnard Pines park are very bad with some horrendous pot holes, that seem to remain year after year.
- Villas are comfortable without being luxurious, with basic things just not up to scratch, like cheap old mattresses that deserve to have been scrapped some years ago, small TV from the 90s with the need to physically swap wiring over to make the DVD player work, a variety of light bulbs didn't work on arrival. None of these make the park a bad park, but it spoils the overall impression.
- Indoor pool is most often cold and a few degrees colder than most pools i've been to. This is my experience over about 15 visits over 3 years. When asked for the pool temp, they just gave me the air temp, and only on occasions did they publish to pool temp. I can only assume that this is a strategy to try and save money.
- Restaurant has a very limited menu, and even then on a couple of occasions they didn't have half of the items available. On our most recent visit the restaurant was being run by a new staff member with little or no prior experience.
- When arriving, if you have a villa with a hot tub you are very likely going to have to wait until 4pm to get in, as it takes additional time to get it filled set up, which they do after the room has been prepared. This can be quite frustrating, as most other locations tend to let you in a bit earlier than their advertised time. On the most recent visit though they seemed willing to let us have the keys whilst the hot tub was being filled.
- Hot tubs are getting tired and in need of maintenance/replacement. Dials dropping off, covers falling apart, etc.

So if none of the above bothers you too much, then i'd highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shroud_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Rustic lodge is a luxury caravan, but warm and spacious. we took 4 adults and 2 kids it was fine. The heated pool could have been warmer for kids. Over all good value for money, just wish the ferry was cheaper, £72 per car.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews