We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine for a base.”
Review of Gurnard Pines

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cowes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gurnard Pines
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just back from a 4 night stay at Gurnard Pines. This was a cheap and cheerful offer out of the newspaper and that's what I expected. I was very surprised by the accommodation on offer. It had two spacious bedrooms, two bathrooms and a lovely kitchen come dining room come lounge with everything that you could possibly need for a short break. We did not use the facilities of the park so cannot comment other than to say that there didn't seem to be much going on in the evening in the way of entertainment. The position of our accommodation was right by the woods which was delightful. Saw plenty of red squirrels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Memtam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 277 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have been visiting the island for 15 years. This was our first visit to this park. We had also booked via the newspaper offer, and after read the trip advisor reviews.There was no need to worry On arrival we get what people are saying, it does look a bit like a barracks but no more an eyesore than the caravans we have stayed in before. The bungalow could of been a little cleaner and the bed a little better but it is often the way I feel on these cheap deals, but the space you get for your money is first class, 2 bathrooms, big bedrooms, fridge and real freezer,outside area, and heating. We had a 1 year old and it was so good to fit in her travel cot, toys and have loads of room to try out her first steps. The area is wonderful, we enjoyed the woodland walk and walks to the beach. The residents and people we walked pass we all so friendly.We will try to book Gurnard pines every year now, no more park resorts, they could learn a lot from this park. We can not comment on the resort facilities as we did not use any as we visit relatives so just use as a base.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Recently stayed in a rustic lodge which sleeps six and as there were only 2 of us there was plenty of room but for 5 or more people I would say it could get crowed. I managed to get a deal for £155 for 4 nights including a return ferry which was brilliant! But, there is little to do on site and we used it more as a base. The activities that are listed online are scheduled which is a shame as it would cut into a day of sightseeing.

Positives:
- Secluded Holiday Park
- Free access to the pool gym
- Modern changing rooms (I think they are installing a sauna?)
- Close to a marina
- Clean lodge when we arrived

Negatives:
- Overall the holiday park needs a lot of TLC, some of the villas looked run down and the roads need to be re-done.
- Out dated interior of the lodges, needs modernisation (or even just a flat screen tv!)
- Wi-Fi is extortionate! £5 per day and it’s not even a guaranteed signal.
- Though kitchenware is provided, there is nothing to clean it with! Would had expected at least a sponge and washing up liquid.
- Definitely need a car as its far from most attractions!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sejal p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We have just come back from Gurnard Pines as we got a cheap deal via a newspaper offer. I really wasn't expecting much... I have to say I was pleasantly surprised and it was amazing value for money.

I understand totally (and agree with most of) what the other reviewers have said... The lodge could have been MUCH cleaner but after a quick clean with anti-bac spray all was well... The TV is out of date, the mattresses are old and shabby and there is NOTHING included so make sure you take your own toilet paper!!!!!! There are a lot of potholes in the roads also. However the setting is lovely and for the price I really recommend it and would definitely go back. While the lodge needs updating it was pleasantly spacious and the outdoor area is cute. The heating was very reliable and efficient (even though a lot of the heat disappeared out of the ill-fitting front door).

I wouldn't bother with the leisure pass (with newspaper offer) unless you are sure you want to use it. The pool is small and boring for kids and the indoor play centre is very small and had a funny smell about it - I would just pay as you go if you want to try it out (it is nothing like we are used to on the mainland).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann-Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is our third year at Gurnard pines with a family of 2 adults and 2 children. We stayed in an upgraded villa with hot tub.

The kids love the quiet park and surroundings the small indoor play centre, pool and cafe/restaurant.

However as an adult i always feel a little disappointed that the owners fail to fully realise the potential of the part (perhaps a visit to Ribby Hall or Centre Parcs would be worthwhile to see the differences).

So what are those differences then (not in any particular order):

- roads within Gurnard Pines park are very bad with some horrendous pot holes, that seem to remain year after year.
- Villas are comfortable without being luxurious, with basic things just not up to scratch, like cheap old mattresses that deserve to have been scrapped some years ago, small TV from the 90s with the need to physically swap wiring over to make the DVD player work, a variety of light bulbs didn't work on arrival. None of these make the park a bad park, but it spoils the overall impression.
- Indoor pool is most often cold and a few degrees colder than most pools i've been to. This is my experience over about 15 visits over 3 years. When asked for the pool temp, they just gave me the air temp, and only on occasions did they publish to pool temp. I can only assume that this is a strategy to try and save money.
- Restaurant has a very limited menu, and even then on a couple of occasions they didn't have half of the items available. On our most recent visit the restaurant was being run by a new staff member with little or no prior experience.
- When arriving, if you have a villa with a hot tub you are very likely going to have to wait until 4pm to get in, as it takes additional time to get it filled set up, which they do after the room has been prepared. This can be quite frustrating, as most other locations tend to let you in a bit earlier than their advertised time. On the most recent visit though they seemed willing to let us have the keys whilst the hot tub was being filled.
- Hot tubs are getting tired and in need of maintenance/replacement. Dials dropping off, covers falling apart, etc.

So if none of the above bothers you too much, then i'd highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shroud_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Rustic lodge is a luxury caravan, but warm and spacious. we took 4 adults and 2 kids it was fine. The heated pool could have been warmer for kids. Over all good value for money, just wish the ferry was cheaper, £72 per car.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Based on: Solent Villa 3 Plus.

Upon seeing our accomodation, it looked amazing from the outside.
Parking space right outside. We entered to find a nice, clean and spacious open plan living room.

TV (a little small), DVD Player, Freeview Box all worked well.
Kitchen amenities all working fine... Cooker, Toaster, Kettle, Iron, Fridge, Freezer, etc.

The accomodation had 3 rooms... 1 double with en-suite, 2 twins. All clean, towels for each guest, beds made upon arrival.

The rear private decking was nice for relaxing and hot tub was heated on arrival. Spent every night in the hot tub, which was clean and very hot... loved it.

Bathroom facilities all worked well and very clean. Although I will say, if both showers are in use at the same time, then this causes slight loss of power to each shower. And don't switch on the kitchen tap whilst someone is showering... turns it very cold.

The site was very quiet, my 18 month old son slept 13 hours each night which was amazing. Despite having a smaller cot than he was used to.

The site had good facilities for kids and sports... tennis courts, gym, indoor pool and even an indoor softplay area for the children/babies.
But, on the other hand... there wasn't any evening entertainment and no on site shop. We had to go a mile up the road to the local Nisa store.

They have a restaurant on-site. The food is good there and cook reasonably quick, but very expensive.

Overall, a very happy stay, no problems and really enjoyed the break.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShaneMarsh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
1.4 mi away
North House
North House
#1 of 5 in Cowes
74 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
2.0 mi away
Waverley Park
Waverley Park
#1 of 1 in East Cowes
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
7.2 mi away
Rookley Country Park
Rookley Country Park
#2 of 2 in Rookley
781 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mimosa Lodge
Mimosa Lodge
#1 of 28 in Cowes
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gurnard Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gurnard Pines

Address: Cockleton Lane, Cowes PO31 8QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Cowes
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within 50 acres of private woodland, a short stroll from the beach and moments from the lively yachting capital of Cowes, Gurnard Pines is the perfect destination for holidays and short breaks. With quality leisure facilities offering plenty of action for all ages, there is plenty of fresh air, freedom and flexibility to relax. Our Bungalows and Lodges nestle in a peaceful countryside setting, complete with a nature trail and quiet spots to relax. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gurnard Pines Hotel Cowes
Gurnard Pines Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing