We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly wonderful stay with lots of history”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albert Cottage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I have just returned from a three night stay at the Albert Cottage with my mum, my husband and my 7 year old daughter and we had such a wonderful time. The reason we chose to stay here was because of my daughter's fascination with history and because this has such a close link to Osborne House (it used to be owned by Prince Albert and was once part of the Osborne Estate) we chose to stay here. It was a beautiful hotel in the most picturesque grounds, and once inside you could tell there was royal history in the air! We wandered in the grounds once arriving and really felt as if we had left our busy City lives on the ferry! The staff were so attentive, welcoming and kind. The family room we stayed in was like a flat, I could have easily have lived here! It was warm, spacious, cosy, everything we could have asked for, And it was literally a 2 minute drive from the Red Funnel Ferry Port so ideal for crossing the Solent and not having to drive much further. The food was also delicious, and dining in a room that used to be the dining room for Princess Louise does not get much more magical. I will definitely be coming back. Thank you for an amazing few days.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MimigraceEssex_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 218 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed for two nights, returning home today. From the moment we arrived the hotel staff were very welcoming, friendly and polite. The room was beautiful, spotless, warm and in general, all round perfect. We booked a table for dinner. The food was superb as was the service. Prices were very reasonable, including the wine prices. Fantastic nights sleep on a very comfy bed. Great choice of breakfast. Dinner again that night, different menu and equally superb. Would wholeheartedly recommend staying at this hotel. If I were forced to make a criticism, and it would be being extremely picky, but the bathroom in room 1 would have been even more perfect if it had the same character as the bedroom. Like I say that's being really picky. A beautiful place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1. Excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bikma13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I recently had my wedding ceremony and reception at Albert Cottage. It was absolutely brilliant. The staff were out of this world with their help and organisation. The food was out of this world. All my guests have been talking about it, and five weeks after they still are talking about how good it all was. We stayed in the bridal suite and it was superb. We honestly could not have picked a better place to have our wedding and our wedding night. I would highly recommend Albert Cottage Hotel for anything from a simple meal to a fantastic wedding.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlitterfairyII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed in room 1 on the weekend of Saturday 8th September. When we arrived the welcome was warm and was amazed by the beauty and elligence of the room. We had dinner at the hotel in the evening and I can honestly say it was one of the best meals I have had in a long time!!. Staff where extremely friendly especially the waitressing staff who served us. Room was very comfortable and woke up to the nice sound of swaying trees in the garden surrounding the hotel which is a nice change from seagulls. The breakfast had a nice variety and was just the right size. My only flaw would be that the hotel for its quality of food and rooms should be more full as at times we felt like no one else was around apart from staff. Overall a brilliant weekend break!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Necods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had a lovely stay here after a day at osbourne house,only a minutes drive away.
Room 1 was a great surprise, very large and double sofas at the end of the bed,shame it was summer must be fantastic when the log fires going.
Room 3 was smaller but just right for us with a large central bath and double wash basins.
Both rooms were spotless and great bath robes.

After eating at some of Londons best restaurants i fail to see why this place was so quiet, thanks to the chef and his team that served us some wonderful food.
The best fillet steak ever and the scallops for starter were done to perfection as was the stuffed figs and blue cheese.

We felt at ease during our stay and was no problem just calling out if we needed anything so much nicer than these stuck up hotels.

Breakfast was delicious with plenty of variety and the bottled fruits were all very tasty with the yogurt. Cooked breafast was just as good to send us on our way.....Thank you to every member of staff.

Room Tip: Try to get room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Arrived in Cowes late on a Sunday, found it difficult to find a restaurant but Albert Cottage fed us a superb 3 course meal for under £17--food was great, wine was good, staff really attentive.

Cannot fault this place, just a shame more people were not there,

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank GerryKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Hotel is lovely and very easy to access from the Cowes ferry Port. My room was very large and bathroom with lots of toiletries. Came here for a work's meeting and it was overall very good. Food was good. at dinner Staff friendly. Breakfast service fast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anon19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
1.2 mi away
North House
North House
#1 of 5 in Cowes
74 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
901 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cowes
96 reviews
10.0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Cottage Hotel

Address: York Avenue, Cowes PO32 6BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range: $159 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albert Cottage Hotel in East Cowes on the Isle of Wight was once part of Queen Victoria’s Osborne Estate. The Grade II listed building - set in two acres of gardens - is now a stylish ten bedroom hotel and home of the Consort Restaurant, with a fine reputation for its affordable à la carte menu. At Albert Cottage Hotel you can enjoy a relaxing stay, freshly cooked food and explore the beautiful Isle of Wight. The hotel is also an ideal venue for weddings, celebrations, meetings and conferences. Whether visiting for business or pleasure, you're assured a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Albert Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Cottage Hotel Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing