We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY COSY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albert Cottage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2011

I stayed here for a week whilst on business........this is a fantastic hotel. The room was very large and even had a leather sofa by the TV so I wasnt just sat on the bed all the time (I have stayed in more expensive hotels and the rooms were no where near as grand as the one I had), the bathroom as well was very spacious.........the food was very tasty (do nott expect big portions). The staff were helpful and friendly and could not do enough. I will be bringing the wife here in high season as when I was there Cowes was dead at night and not much to do.

Considering I was here for a week by myself I did not feel boxed in due to the size of the room and grounds so I would imagine a nights stay would be fantastic.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimevz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (209)
There are newer reviews for Albert Cottage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 209 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2011

We have not yet stayed at the hotel for a holiday but we have dined in the restaurant here twice. Once part of the Osborne House estate this delightful hotel is open to non residents for lunch and dinner. The food here is beautifully prepared, cooked and presented. The staff were attentive without being invasive and the menu is reasonably priced at around £25 per head for three courses/dinner. We shall definitely be returning -hopefully for an overnight stay next time!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayhaunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Stayed for only one night in room 7 . What a lovely room ,lovely bed, lovely decor, want to go back ! We also had Sunday lunch, 10/10 had a job to walk after ! Just had to eat everything put in front of us ,very high standard . This Hotel is very near to Osborne House, and is the former home of Queen Victoria`s daughter Princess Beatrice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiggy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Myself and my bride Laura got married at Albert Cottage in July 2011. We chose to have exclusive use of the hotel for 24 hours for family and friends. The price for the wedding overall was very competitive especially when you consider that this is a beautiful setting with lovely grounds and great rooms facilities and food.

We had an amazing time, the staff were excellent, Manager Richard and our personal contact Kat, did everything to make our day smooth. We loved how we didn't have to worry about anything at all on the day as all of the key elements from the ceremony to the toasts to the cutting of the cake and the evening buffet were all co-ordinated by the hotel team.

So, to summarise, the service was perfect, the rooms are amazing (with each having it's own character), the location near the ferry port from Southampton and Osborne House was spot on and the food is top notch. We could not have asked for more and we would recommend Albert Cottage to anyone. It's perfect for a meal, a weekend stay or a wedding!!!

Thanks to everyone at the hotel for making our day perfect. We'll always remember you!

Patrick & Laura

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

this was our wedding venue for 2009 and its lovely. all in all great service, perfect location..

I am also a photographer so have shot alot of weddings here also.. a great choice.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Weddingfolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

My wife and I pre-booked in Albert cottage - however when we arrived the room we booked was unavailable??? The staff could not sort it out and their service was terrible - we stated somewhere else instead - on looking around we are glad we stayed elsewhere - unorganised mess and shameful service

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 17,422,789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The hotel is in a good location, minutes away from the red funnel ferry terminal and a 10 minute walk ( plus chain ferry) in to the centre of Cowes. I was really impressed when we drove up to the hotel, it looks lovely. We had a twin room ( all they had available when i booked) which was nicely decorated in a victorian style and a large bathroom, with an amazing power shower!! Two things let this hotel down. One was the staff, polite but not in the least bit friendly or interested in their guests, maybe they were just stressed as they had a wedding party in. Then the breakfast was very meagre and there wasnt much on offer on the buffet ( lots of poached fruit ) plus we were only offered I small cup of coffee, no refil and no one in sight to ask. For me a hotel stay isnt just about a lovely comfortable room its also about the atmosphere and welcome we receive especailly when paying £135 a night. so unless these issues are addressed I wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RFB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
1.2 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
66 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
11.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cowes
95 reviews
10.0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albert Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albert Cottage Hotel

Address: York Avenue, Cowes PO32 6BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range: $155 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albert Cottage Hotel in East Cowes on the Isle of Wight was once part of Queen Victoria’s Osborne Estate. The Grade II listed building - set in two acres of gardens - is now a stylish ten bedroom hotel and home of the Consort Restaurant, with a fine reputation for its affordable à la carte menu. At Albert Cottage Hotel you can enjoy a relaxing stay, freshly cooked food and explore the beautiful Isle of Wight. The hotel is also an ideal venue for weddings, celebrations, meetings and conferences. Whether visiting for business or pleasure, you're assured a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Albert Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albert Cottage Hotel Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing