We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing weekend!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Reviewed June 26, 2014

Excellent holidays deserve excellent TripAdvisor posts, so that people know how special places really are. Thorness Bay is such a place. We spent a long weekend here, in the beautiful Isle of Wight, at the end of May. From the very minute we arrived I was beyond impressed. The park itself was clean and welcoming, with amazing views stretching across the bay. The caravan we stayed in (3 bedrooms) was clean and spacious, with everything we would need for our stay.

For me, however, the most merit must go to staff at Thorness Bay, who were endlessly welcoming and friendly, especially Terry and his amazing group of 'Team Stars'. Genuinely, the entertainment they put on, not just in the evening, but throughout the day, was first class. They have energy, enthusiasm and talent in abundance and you can tell all of them love their jobs- it really does shine through.

I would recommend anyone to go and stay at Thorness Bay, an excellent holiday, only made better by the excellent team of staff working there. I will be back x

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlaleanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Thorness Bay is indeed a beautiful site, and we are lucky to be surrounded by such wonderful views. We work very hard in keeping park standards at their best, and this all helps to keep Thorness Bay as a clean and inviting environment in which to have the perfect break.

Our Entertainments team, headed by Terry, are very talented and great with our guests. I’m so glad that you experienced this, it’s hard not to notice how talented and hardworking they all are.

Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thorness Bay Holiday Park
01983 523 109

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

914 - 920 of 1,478 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

We arrived and received out Club tickets and news pacl as usual. Went to Gravel site, nearly set up, but found we could not get the awning pegs into the ground. We either had to go and buy differen type of pegs or ask could we move down to the more grass area. All ok, so we did this. Glad we did, as the plot next door where the tap was had a dripping water tap, looks like this had been going on a while, ground was soaking. Caravan and Awning all set up, so off to exlpore toilet block. Nice and clean, except some one had thrown toilet paper to the ceiling, in different areas and it was still here after a few days :(.

Our daughter has special needs and loves to dance and always likes to know the Entertainment staff. As usual, she always has a special one or two and this year it was Joe and Simon. Both were brillant with her. Even though she is an adult, she was up with the younger ones and love the usual dances. Sometimes the music was just a bit loud for her and she often went to bed with her ears ringing, but was okay next morning. We all enjoyed the Teamstars doing the plays etc. Also well done Terry, Jade, Dani and Maddie.

On the Tuesday we had a power cut to the site, we knew nothing about this. We got back to our caravan and went to make tea and discovered no power, hubby went to all the different electric points and then a young boy from another caravan came down and told us. By then we had discovered the milk had gone off, I think a notice as people drove in would have been useful?

We did try food in the bar area, not bad. Shop on site has everything you need a few pence more than off site though.

We were all sad to leave, but will be back. We normally go to Landguard Touring site, but due to changes on the site, this year, we could not book it up. A change is good. We first came to Thorness bay over 26 years ago and have seen the site change, from having an outside pool to the opening of the present pool.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for your review, I’m happy to hear that you had a great stay.
The dripping tap that you commented on was reported and has now been replaced. I’m glad that we were able to move you to a different pitch. We do try to keep standards at their best throughout the park including our touring blocks. Sometimes things get missed, but once they are brought to our attention we are prompt in rectifying the situation.

Our Entertainments team work tirelessly to make people feel welcome and include them in activities as much as they can. It’s always pleasing to hear such great comments and I shall make sure that these are passed on to the team.

The power cut was beyond our control and it was affecting both the park and the surrounding areas. Staff did go to the touring fields to inform the people that were there but unfortunately we missed some people coming back from days out. We managed to put on a BBQ at the complex whilst the power was off, although you may not have realised this from the touring area.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Thorness Bay Holiday Park
01983 523 109

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We came back yesterday after a lovely stay at Thorness Bay Holiday Park, we had booked though the Sun newspaper which was great value after a couple of bad sort breaks before we were hoping for 3rd time lucky.We up graded to silver plus & was really pleased with our caravan one of the newer ones ( 25 Beachlands) 3 bedrooms 2 showers very clean & modern. Central heating (not needed as weather was fab) a short walk from the entertainment area, a small arcade but kids loved, nice outside playing area, crazy golf was quite small it could do with a few more holes. Indoor area a nice large eating & bar area with a great decked area over looking kids outdoor play area & fantastic views. The stage & entertainment area with another bar indoors is lovely & the staff are all really nice & helpful, Evening entertainment was good hardworking entertainment staff who took the time to chat, Simon, Jo, Dani, Madie were all lovely. I didn't use the pool myself but the kids & husband said it could do with updating a an outdoor pool would be great as i would think in the height of summer it could become crowded. The park overall was clean and a well stocked shop. We will be going back hopefully again this year if not again next year Thanks Thorness Bay for a great weekend away.

Room Tip: Beachlands 25 lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on TripAdvisor, your feedback is very important to us. I’m glad that you had a fantastic stay here at Thorness Bay.

The crazy golf is new this season, and if it takes off then we will definitely look at extending it. We have also extended our children’s play park recently, and it seems to be a hit with our guests.

We are glad that you were pleased with your accommodation and its location. Our Entertainments team work extremely hard to provide great entertainment for a variety of age ranges, and I will pass your kind comments on to them.

Thank you once again for your review, and don’t forget that if you choose to come back this year you will get a second holiday discount by quoting your holiday reference number.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Thorness Bay Holiday Park
01983 523 109

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Just come back from a weekend at Thorness Bay with my family, was an enjoyable trip overall and the staff are what made it an experience. Each department we come across the staff were friendly and made the effort to ensure we had a good stay.

On arrival the reception team were welcoming and gave all information required and some personal tips.

The evening entertainment was more for the kids but the entertainment team made a point of going around to everyone to make small talk which was a nice touch.

The bar was a little pricey but as expected so not really a complaint.

Overall an enjoyable place to spend the weekend made better by friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j12342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am so glad that my team made it such an enjoyable and friendly stay for you.

I hope that you got to enjoy the whole island experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Thorness Bay Holiday Park
01983 523 109

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Came here for the weekend with my family and my boyfriend and really enjoyed it. The staff were all friendly from the moment we arrived. The facilities were all great and the food at the restaurant was really nice. Entertainment was good but was more for younger children so would have been excellnt if coming with a young family. Overall a great stay and the caravan we stayed in was clean and they'd left basics like tea, milk, bread etc for us when we arrived which was a nice surprise. Would definitly reccommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for your review. It is great to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us, and that you found the team to be friendly and helpful. We do try to keep the highest cleanliness standards and I am glad that you found this to be the case.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thorness Bay Holiday Park
01983 523 109

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I travelled to Thorness Bay holiday park with my partner and son of 4 years, I had booked through the Sun holiday promo so was not expecting a high standard acommadation. Before travelling I upgraded to a silver caravan.

When we arrived coming over the hill it looked a complete dump, old tractors dumped in the field and over grown hedges. when we pulled into the park it looked much nicer and well maintanined, Went into check in area and was informed we had been automatically upgraded to a gold caravan which was great!!

We drove to our caravan through the park and found we were bang next to entertainment complex which was great for us!!

Caravan was lovely! very very clean almost looked brand new, all pots and pans must have been new!! oven never used! very pleased with cleanliness!!

Resaurant and bar was ok if you like pub grub, slightly over priced for what it was but we didnt eat there much, on the second night we had a power cut just as we were due to order food it was a problem on the island, the entertainment and bar staff were so helpful and friendly!! they dragged the BBQ out and sorted the problem out!!

We didnt do any day activities as we were off out on the island, we tried the swimming pool once! its ok for a resort but not very clean, water a little cloudy from the beach and we saw a huge toenail in the changing area, not cleaned very often.

Night entertainment for the kids is fab!! plenty of cheesy songs and dancing just what a British Holiday is best known for!! staff are lovely!!

All in all the park is great!! i would definatley go back and would recommend to upgrade for the extra 50 quid just to have a little more luxury!! great site! thanks for the fab holiday!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy-Babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for your review. The drive up is past the farm but I am glad that you got the wow factor as you pulled onto the actual park. I am happy that your upgrade was good, and that you found the van met the high standards that we strive for.

The restaurant pricing is not within the park’s control, however the quality should be up to standard at all times. It is good to know that the team reacted positively to the power cut situation and managed to keep everyone in good spirits. I am glad that you enjoyed the entertainment so much.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thorness Bay Holiday Park
01983 523 109

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We have just come home from a weeks break at the site, we had a new lodge which was fantastic
The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The staff worked very hard to make sure all the children had a good time, my son has autism and two of the staff made a point of coming to speak to him as he does not mix Joe and the lady who sang one of the nights (sorry forgot your name)
spent a lot of time with him asking him what he was watching on his ipad so i would really like to thank you . the site was very clean the man in the shop was very friendly and made you feel at ease. The Isle of wight is a great place to visit we have already booked to go back next year

Room Tip: If you can afford to upgrade it is well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1963Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I am really pleased that the entertainers ensured that your son did not miss out. It is also lovely to read that you found everywhere clean and that the shop service was good.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thorness Bay Holiday Park
01983 523 109

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
3.5 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
349 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
745 reviews
10.5 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#10 of 29 in Sandown
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Travelodge Ryde Isle of Wight Hotel
3.2 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
11.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: Thorness Lane, Cowes PO31 8NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Cowes
Price Range: $12 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Isle of Wight countryside, Thorness Bay is a big hit with everyone. Why not stroll down to the bay - it's just at the bottom of the park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Hotel Cowes
Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing