We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We came back yesterday after a lovely stay at Thorness Bay Holiday Park, we had booked though the Sun newspaper which was great value after a couple of bad sort breaks before we were hoping for 3rd time lucky.We up graded to silver plus & was really pleased with our caravan one of the newer ones ( 25 Beachlands) 3 bedrooms 2 showers very clean & modern. Central heating (not needed as weather was fab) a short walk from the entertainment area, a small arcade but kids loved, nice outside playing area, crazy golf was quite small it could do with a few more holes. Indoor area a nice large eating & bar area with a great decked area over looking kids outdoor play area & fantastic views. The stage & entertainment area with another bar indoors is lovely & the staff are all really nice & helpful, Evening entertainment was good hardworking entertainment staff who took the time to chat, Simon, Jo, Dani, Madie were all lovely. I didn't use the pool myself but the kids & husband said it could do with updating a an outdoor pool would be great as i would think in the height of summer it could become crowded. The park overall was clean and a well stocked shop. We will be going back hopefully again this year if not again next year Thanks Thorness Bay for a great weekend away.

Room Tip: Beachlands 25 lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review on TripAdvisor, your feedback is very important to us. I’m glad that you had a fantastic stay here at Thorness Bay.

The crazy golf is new this season, and if it takes off then we will definitely look at extending it. We have also extended our children’s play park recently, and it seems to be a hit with our guests.

We are glad that you were pleased with your accommodation and its location. Our Entertainments team work extremely hard to provide great entertainment for a variety of age ranges, and I will pass your kind comments on to them.

Thank you once again for your review, and don’t forget that if you choose to come back this year you will get a second holiday discount by quoting your holiday reference number.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Thorness Bay Holiday Park
01983 523 109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    413
    283
    151
    149
See reviews for
970
185
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Just come back from a weekend at Thorness Bay with my family, was an enjoyable trip overall and the staff are what made it an experience. Each department we come across the staff were friendly and made the effort to ensure we had a good stay.

On arrival the reception team were welcoming and gave all information required and some personal tips.

The evening entertainment was more for the kids but the entertainment team made a point of going around to everyone to make small talk which was a nice touch.

The bar was a little pricey but as expected so not really a complaint.

Overall an enjoyable place to spend the weekend made better by friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j12342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am so glad that my team made it such an enjoyable and friendly stay for you.

I hope that you got to enjoy the whole island experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Thorness Bay Holiday Park
01983 523 109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Came here for the weekend with my family and my boyfriend and really enjoyed it. The staff were all friendly from the moment we arrived. The facilities were all great and the food at the restaurant was really nice. Entertainment was good but was more for younger children so would have been excellnt if coming with a young family. Overall a great stay and the caravan we stayed in was clean and they'd left basics like tea, milk, bread etc for us when we arrived which was a nice surprise. Would definitly reccommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. It is great to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us, and that you found the team to be friendly and helpful. We do try to keep the highest cleanliness standards and I am glad that you found this to be the case.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thorness Bay Holiday Park
01983 523 109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I travelled to Thorness Bay holiday park with my partner and son of 4 years, I had booked through the Sun holiday promo so was not expecting a high standard acommadation. Before travelling I upgraded to a silver caravan.

When we arrived coming over the hill it looked a complete dump, old tractors dumped in the field and over grown hedges. when we pulled into the park it looked much nicer and well maintanined, Went into check in area and was informed we had been automatically upgraded to a gold caravan which was great!!

We drove to our caravan through the park and found we were bang next to entertainment complex which was great for us!!

Caravan was lovely! very very clean almost looked brand new, all pots and pans must have been new!! oven never used! very pleased with cleanliness!!

Resaurant and bar was ok if you like pub grub, slightly over priced for what it was but we didnt eat there much, on the second night we had a power cut just as we were due to order food it was a problem on the island, the entertainment and bar staff were so helpful and friendly!! they dragged the BBQ out and sorted the problem out!!

We didnt do any day activities as we were off out on the island, we tried the swimming pool once! its ok for a resort but not very clean, water a little cloudy from the beach and we saw a huge toenail in the changing area, not cleaned very often.

Night entertainment for the kids is fab!! plenty of cheesy songs and dancing just what a British Holiday is best known for!! staff are lovely!!

All in all the park is great!! i would definatley go back and would recommend to upgrade for the extra 50 quid just to have a little more luxury!! great site! thanks for the fab holiday!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy-Babe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. The drive up is past the farm but I am glad that you got the wow factor as you pulled onto the actual park. I am happy that your upgrade was good, and that you found the van met the high standards that we strive for.

The restaurant pricing is not within the park’s control, however the quality should be up to standard at all times. It is good to know that the team reacted positively to the power cut situation and managed to keep everyone in good spirits. I am glad that you enjoyed the entertainment so much.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thorness Bay Holiday Park
01983 523 109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We have just come home from a weeks break at the site, we had a new lodge which was fantastic
The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The staff worked very hard to make sure all the children had a good time, my son has autism and two of the staff made a point of coming to speak to him as he does not mix Joe and the lady who sang one of the nights (sorry forgot your name)
spent a lot of time with him asking him what he was watching on his ipad so i would really like to thank you . the site was very clean the man in the shop was very friendly and made you feel at ease. The Isle of wight is a great place to visit we have already booked to go back next year

Room Tip: If you can afford to upgrade it is well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1963Angela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. I am really pleased that the entertainers ensured that your son did not miss out. It is also lovely to read that you found everywhere clean and that the shop service was good.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thorness Bay Holiday Park
01983 523 109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We had a lodge, it was very dusty, cooker hood was thick with dust so cleaned it myself, windows were filthy, had a shower water wouldn't run away loads of hair in the plug hole, water started coming into living area because shower was leaky, they re sealed it but then water wouldn't run away again, reported issues they were dealt with pretty quick. Park is in middle of nowhere so definitely need a car, no takeaway on park, I dont no if all park resorts are like this or we just had bad luck but I wouldn't go back to thorness bay!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aimeemay85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologise for the cleanliness issues - we would have had the lodge re-cleaned had we been made aware. However, I am happy that Maintenance were quick and efficient in dealing with some of your issues.

There is a takeaway option in the restaurant and the main Showbar as advertised on the tables, but I apologise if this was not clear.

We do sincerely hope that you will consider us and Park Resorts for future breaks.

Thorness Bay Holiday Park
01983 523 109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

The Isle of Wight is a great place to visit, we have just spent Mon-Fri at the Thorness Holiday Park. The park is located in the middle of nowhere so a car is a must to get around.
We had a Bronze standard chalet which was OK, it was cheap and has the basic requirements but this does not excuse the poor cleanliness standards,; lots of hair in the shower, mould in the cups/plates and cutlery and dirty floors to mention a few! I could keep on going.
The evening entertainment was of a poor standard, but the staff were friendly and helpful.
The check in time is not flexible, if you check in time is 4pm then 4pm is when they will let you have the keys. Not very handy after traveling over 9hrs with a small baby and not been able to be given the key 30 minutes early even when the key is ready to be given out.
On a positive the Island has lots to offer with so many great places to visit, lots to do each and every day. We did not want to leave. Sandown beach and the needles are the pick of places to visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keithnforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately the check-in times are there so that we can ensure everyone booking to the same standard is treated equally, however had we been advised of your predicament, then we would have tried to assist.

I apologise for the fact that the cleanliness was not up to our usual high standards, although I am glad that overall you had a good experience on the island and I hope that you will revisit us in the future.

Thorness Bay Holiday Park
01983 523 109
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
3.3 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
333 reviews
11.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
8.0 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
300 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Property: Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Address: Thorness Lane, Cowes PO31 8NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Isle of Wight countryside, Thorness Bay is a big hit with everyone. Why not stroll down to the bay - it's just at the bottom of the park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Hotel Cowes
Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing