We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is the second time we are staying in the park for a rugby weekend. Great resort, good location, staff really efficient and helpful. The mobile home was very confortable with everything we needed. Highly recommended.
The only problem was the weather !!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Hi Ariane

I would like to thank you for your fantastic comments regarding your break with us. It is always good to receive such positive feedback. It is just a shame we don't have the power to do anything with the weather

I hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,464)
There are newer reviews for Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,165 - 1,171 of 1,464 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

I'm not fond of caravans so hearing the news that we were travelling to the Isle of a Wight to spend a week in a caravan may not have been the best news I had heard. However, arriving at Thorness Bay was a pleasant surprise. Getting our key was simple enough and our caravan, in the Solent Bay Area of the park, was very well sited. The caravan was warm and very comfortable with plenty of space. We booked a Gold Plus caravan so domestic style central heating was included and proved to be a boon on the cold nights.

We could have done with oven gloves and place mats but pretty much everything else we wanted was to hand. Parking on a hard area next to the caravan was a blessing for unloading.

The path down to the beach and the coastal path is close by and makes for a pleasant evening walk.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank sumowesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Hi there

I am glad that you found your stay with us so good despite your initial feelings. Thank you for all your positive feedback on the caravan itself, it is always good to hear customers enjoy the accommodation they are staying in

I hope we will be able to welcome you again now that you appear to have been converted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Have just returned from our 4 day sun offer. Arrived Monday at 5.45pm went to put away clothes and cupboard moved and noticed it was not attached to the wall so could have injured someone. Then went to wash my hands and was scolded by the hot water. Then noticed the toilet was leaking after I flushed it. Also in our bedroom the fused spur to the wall heater was dangerous because where the neon light was there was a bare wire because the cover was missing. In the kitchen there was a light at the side on the table wired into a fuse spur with no bulb so a child could have put their hands in there. Kitchen sink had no earth bonding which I would have liked to seen as a precaution as the kettle lead was so long it could reach inside the kitchen sink while plugged in and cause an accident. Fire in lounge did not work so no heat in main room of chalet.PAT Sticker out of date for the light with no bulb. Complained ASAP but only fixed the light by removing it. Removed the earth wire completely from sink and fixed the wall heater in bedroom they also tried three attempts at fixing the hot water. Offered to move us but we felt this was a way of putting the problems onto the next customer.
However the campsite was very clean. Staff were very friendly and the food in the clubhouse was good value our only concerns were the faults we mentioned above us we did not have any children but were concerned the chalet would be let out to a family with children. Especially as I have read on trip advisor the chalets had been upgraded for the 2013 season.IOW as well was very clean and people very friendly. Had to come onto this web site us the Parks Resort website seems to not be working if you wish to complain or leave bad feedback.

Room Tip: Do not accept Rosewood 20 until above problems fixed and heating restored.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henson6363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Hi there

I apologise for the maintenance issues that you had with regard to the chalet. I would like to thank you for raising them with us whilst you were on site.

All feedback is useful and your comments have been passed onto our teams to ensure that all aspects of your holiday experience can be improved

Thank you for your very kind comments with regard to all the other aspects of your break with us and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Third time back here, the kids love it. Great play area in full view from the bar.
Big mention to Mark in the boathouse (not security Mark although I'm sure he was brill too!) great customer service,, thanks!!!
We were in a caravan this time due to weather, but prefer camping, great shower block.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susiedill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Hi Susie

So good to have repeat customers giving such a fantastic review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your caravan, hopefully it was a welcome break from camping

I have passed on your comments to Mark, which are greatly appreciated, and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just returned from a weekend break with my wife,mother and 5 year old daughter.Stayed in a gold caravan which was superb with 2 bathrooms with a shower.(one on suite).This was our 3rd visit to the park ,the first since under new management.A welcome change from my previous visits is that they now show all live football matches in the lodge bar near check inn reception.Special mention to the animation team who all work very hard entertaining the children.Daughter also enjoyed interacting with sparky and narky and sparkle the animated animals.

Room Tip: Really worthwhile upgrading to gold caravan with high class fixtures and fittings.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 179paulj179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Hi Paul

It is so nice to receive a great review from a repeat guest.

I will pass your comments onto the entertainment team as they always like to know that their hard work is appreciated

I am also glad to hear you were able to enjoy all the live football matches that took place during your visit

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have just returned from our six night stay at thorness, which was extended from our four night stay because it was so nice. staff very friendly and helpful, our expectations of a bronze caravan was not very good but when we got there was brilliant very clean and looked like it had been refurbished. When we stayed this month (april) the park was not very busy and entertainment was kept to a minimum therefore we didnt hear any noise which was exactly the quiet break we were looking for. The beach was a 5 minute walk from our carivan which was private to thorness bay making it very peaceful and quiet for our walks along the beach as we watched the sunset. Over all we could not have had a better time and would strongly recomend to anyone looking for a simular type of holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

HI Laura C,

Thank you for your review of Thorness Bay. We are glad that you were able to extend your stay with us. April is a quiet time of year and a perfect time if you wish to have a peaceful getaway. The location is perfect for walking and taking in the local surroundings.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Park Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I must admit my expectations were pretty low of Park Resorts, having been to one before in Kent which was pretty down market. We stayed just after the Easter holidays, and used the park this time as our friends were staying in a static. We took our touring caravan and stayed in that section. We are a family of four (two girls 5 and 7). First impressions were staff were very friendly and we could pitch where we liked. Disappointed to see an old milk carton, random baking tray and cardboard lying around the pitch which didn't endear me to the site. In fact I didn't see a single warden or any cleaning of the pitches in 5 days. However, nice flat stepped pitches with decent rural views. The toilet blocks were warm, clean but in need of some maintenance (One cubicle door latch broken, and on one night only one of five of the hot water taps worked in the washing up area). The chemical toilet disposal was clean and worked well. Showers were OK but timers ridiculously short.
The girls were looking forward to the entertainment which they enjoyed - although the evening adult entertainment was pretty poor. The pool was ok, a little small, and the toddler area was closed for maintenance. The outdoor play area was good, clean wood chippings and well maintained. Good views of the bay. The beach itself was OK, but disappointing amount of litter was evident (including a burnt out boat) which ruined the look. Probably down to the local authority - but the park should pressure them to get it sorted.
Food at the bar was average - my fish had been deep-fried to death, and pretty thin. Beer choice was restricted, no real ales and only lagers of any quality. Prices were disappointingly high - £4 for a glass of very average Rose...
The shop appeared well stocked, but not for tourers/campervans. Although they sold an urgently required rubber mallet and rock pegs (the hard standings live up to their name) they did not stock anything else such as chemical toilet rinse or any other camping goods.
The staff were all great, and they didn't charge me for a late leaving time (1600).
In summary, not a dedicated touring site, but OK as a base, especially for Cowes/Osborne House/Carrisbrook Castle. Next time I would base myself nearer the South or West as it s a little more scenic. Had it not been for friends staying I wouldn't have chosen to stay here (there are some very good CC and C&CC sites on the island). I don't consider £190 particularly cheap for 4 nights (with ferry) but the cost included access to the various facilities (which we didn't really use - but that's our choice!). One final warning - nothing to do with the park - the B roads on island are atrocious, especially when towing. Hampshire's highways budget clearly doesn't extend across the water, appalling given the income the island must generate. We did however, have a great time on the IoW and I would thoroughly recommend a visit. The islanders (from the ferry man to the park attendants) were all incredibly friendly and realise tourism is the life blood of the island economy and act accordingly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grumpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Hi Grumphole,


Thank you for your recent review. I am glad that you found the staff friendly and helpful.

Our Touring site is checked on a daily basis and cleaners also check the toilet, showers and washing up area at least twice a day. If the maintenance issues had been reported to reception we would have dealt with them.

I am glad that your child enjoyed the entertainment – with the adults we have varied shows during the week and cabaret acts 4 times a week.

Unfortunately we have no control over the bay area as this is down to the local council but would agree at times the litter can be an issue and we shall take a more conservative approach of helping the council with the litter in this area.

I am sorry that the food was not up to a good standard if this had been brought to our attention then we would have replaced the meal for you, the bar prices are the same as all our parks on the island and at a competitive price.

We do hope that you will choose our park again when visiting the island as it is a perfect base to explore the surrounding areas.

Park Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
3.5 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
347 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
734 reviews
8.5 mi away
Travelodge Ryde Isle of Wight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
437 reviews
12.1 mi away
Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
6.5 mi away
Rookley Country Park
Rookley Country Park
#2 of 2 in Rookley
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: Thorness Lane, Cowes PO31 8NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Cowes
Price Range: $10 - $22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Isle of Wight countryside, Thorness Bay is a big hit with everyone. Why not stroll down to the bay - it's just at the bottom of the park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Hotel Cowes
Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing