We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great caravan, swimming pool not so great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The Good
We booked a gold caravan as it had double glazing and the weather was cold. The accomodation was fantastic. The location of the park on the bay was lovely and peaceful enabling long walks on the beach, very quiet.
The staff were all friendly.

The Bad
The information pack lacked detail of kids events/locations. The swimming pool had a rim of dirt around it. The changing rooms didn't feel clean and one of the window was patched up with a plastic bag.
The general state of the park was 'end of season' tired, not 'start of season' fresh, and clean.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

HI Claire D,

Thank you for your recent review- we are glad that you enjoyed the location of the caravan and where able to make use of the surrounding areas. It is a lovely site with beautiful surrounding areas such as the bay.

In all our welcome packs we include an entertainment and leisure guide informing the guests what is happening and where, also all are staff are happy to answer any questions.

I am sorry that you found the swimming pool dirty and I will pass this on to the leisure team- at the moment there is work being undertaken in the swimming pool area.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Park Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,201 - 1,207 of 1,492 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

Went to this park on a Sun Holiday, so didn't expect much. However, caravan was very clea, tidy and more importantly warm. The on-site facilities are OK, and its only a short walk from the beach.

A couple of things let it down. Went to use the Pool, arrived 5 minutes after the session started only to be told the pool was already full. I can fully understend the reason (Safety), however the management left about 30 people queuing without telling people. Also, sampled the menu in the on-site "resturant" - this the worst food I have had in a very long time. Its one of those places where they only use a deep fat fryer or microwave and clearly the operative had not been fully trained in the use of either. Final thing was the on-site shop, as expected very expensive, but what was suprising was that it shut at 6pm, which is just about the time when people ar elikley to need it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r0ckrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your review of Thorness Bay.

I am sorry to hear about the problems at the pool but due to health and safety we are only allowed a certain amount of people in the pool at one time, but this I will agree should have been passed on to people queuing and I will pass this on to the relevant departments. I

am sorry to hear that you were not happy with the food that you received- if you had reported this to the restaurant staff at the time we would have been able to replace your meal or offered an alternative.

The on site shop opening times vary depending on the season as in peak season stays open later.

I do hope that you will visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

we stayed for the easter weekend,it did not get off to a good start as yes we had booked a brand new caravan but only problem was this was the totally wrong end of the park we had been told we were going to be staying close to the play park.

The manageress was fantastic within 5 mins she had allocated us another caravan bang next to the park and main centre.

We had a fantastic meal,all our family enjoyed this immensely could not fault the food and great customer service(partners meal had to be taken back but another bought back within minutes.

Caravan itself could not fault,central heating which was needed and everything in it spot on,no complaints at all.

Cannot comment on entertainment as we used this site as a stop gap for day trips,but camp staff all very good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milliePoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Hi Millie

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to hear about the problems at the start of the holiday but I am glad that our Holiday sales Manager managed to relocate you in to the area that you wanted- as guest satisfactions of the utmost importance to us.

I am glad that you enjoyed the local area and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had a Sun weekend which was excellent value and upgraded to a bigger van for a small fee. We had a verandah, patio furniture and a sea view in a quiet woodland location very close to a shingle bay. Lots of wildlife, admittedly chilly outside but it was April but we were warm and snug inside. We didn't use the bar and entertainment much but that was because we used it as a base to explore and spent our evenings with a glass of wine, relaxing and playing games with the kids. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and although we may not go back, that's only because we will go and explore other sites.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShellyCrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Hi Shelly

Thank you for your lovely review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

All our staff work hard to provide the perfect holiday for our guests and glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The location of the site is perfect for walks and venturing out.

We look forward to welcoming you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We booked a couple of silver plus caravan for Easter weekend between 4 couples as we have been told that two couples can share a caravan comfortably but we noticed that it's not the case with the silver plus caravan. In my opinion a silver plus caravan is only good for a couple and two kids at the max. I think that's the mistake we did. Apart from that we had a wonderful break. I must say that caravan was very clean so as cutlery and crockery. Staff was very friendly and they made our check in process very simple and straight forward. Entertainment for kids was good but we didn't enjoy evening entertainment for adults. We found it really boring and didn't try again during our stay. Our experience with swimming pool was pleasant though. Pool was clean and warm. We had two kids in our group and they were sad when we left the park. Overall we have enjoyed and most likely will return to the park in near future for a short break again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HetalK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your recent review.

The Silver plus caravans are the wider caravans at 12ft so these do give you slightly more space, but if you feel that you need more room then we do have the silver pus 8 berth which would give you the extra bedroom.

I am glad that you found the staff friendly and helpful, but sorry to hear that you didn’t find the evening entertainment to your liking – we do offer a varied programme with the entertainment changing on a night to night basis.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Thorness bay. We booked via the sun holiday offer and played for an upgrade to a gold caravan. We arrived at the park and due to the early check in with upgrade we were able to check straight in. ( this was a lot better than four years ago when we had to wait till much later. ) the caravan was situated at the top of the hill and was wonderfully peaceful, we walked down the hill to the club house and back again with our two children 4 and 8. It is quite a hill but we played the touch game, (chase the touch light ) on the way back and no one complained, we knew about the hill from the previous stay. The swimming pool is great, kids spent an hour sliding down the small water shoot. After our evening splash about we ate in the bar restaurant, the food here is not gourmet but was okay. They do a set meal choice which includes a drink for children which the kids loved and was under £5. The entertainment in the lounge was excellent the children's entertainment and dancing good and the two singers on Saturday and Sunday night were fab. There is a small shop in the lounge which does bubble guns, sweets and other glow in the dark toys all of which were under £5, the most expensive item being a cuddly sparkle or sparky toy at £9.99. We had a problem with our boiler on Saturday morning and woke up to a very chilly caravan I called reception and there was a staff member there within ten minutes, the problem required a part but this was fixed by the time we got back late afternoon. All staff members I came across were polite and helpful, if you want to take part in any swimming pool activities that you pay extra for make sure you book in advance as we did not read the info leaflet and had a disappointed 8 year old, and no second chance for us due to length of stay. All in all we had a very relaxing 3 night break would have liked longer but unable to extend our stay. The park is a little more worn than when we went four years ago and restaurant not quite as nice, but caravan clean and well apointed, had a lovely holiday and would go again definitely.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katkin39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you for your positive review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. All our staff work hard to put guest satisfaction first and I am glad that when the issue with your boiler arose that the staff dealt with it quickly and efficiently.

I do hope that you will visit us again and maybe book direct as we always have a lot for great offers for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Over Easter we went to Thorness Bay with grandsons. It was very very cold , but the park seemed busy with kids and families.
We had thought about buying a caravan and met with John Barlow , who spent a very long time showing us over the park and choosing a site . We settled for a Willougby .
After some thought we decided againt the purchase and when we told John he remained his professional self and accepted our cancelation without trying to persuade us against itI think a van would be great for young families who would get years of holidays and breaks from it.We are just too old to benefit from one.
The caravan we had been in had broken heaters and I was so cold I couldnt function , however John Barlow arranged for us to spend the last night in a centerally heated van.
It was like a flat ! in fact you could live in it it was so warm
our original van was spotless ! just cold !
It was just a freak of nature the week was so cold , however the grandkids just ran about or went in the indoor pool
One thing I would say ..book a gold or gold plus van in case of cold

Room Tip: book a gold or gold plus !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jallen_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that you found the Sales team, especially John, helpful and that you felt there was no pressure to buy a caravan with us.

I am sorry to hear the caravan had broken heaters and I am sure that had you reported this to reception that our maintenance team would have fixed this for you. I am glad that John managed to move you on your last night .

I do hope that even though you have decided not to buy a Caravan at our site that you will continue to enjoy holidays here at Thorness bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
11.6 mi away
Old Park Hotel
Old Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Lawrence
146 reviews
10.7 mi away
Cygnet Hotel
Cygnet Hotel
#10 of 29 in Sandown
126 reviews
12.5 mi away
Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Rookley Country Park
Rookley Country Park
#2 of 2 in Rookley
783 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park
9.7 mi away
Cheverton Copse Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: Thorness Lane, Cowes PO31 8NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Cowes
Price Range: $12 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Isle of Wight countryside, Thorness Bay is a big hit with everyone. Why not stroll down to the bay - it's just at the bottom of the park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Hotel Cowes
Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing