We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Had our doubts after reading other reviews but were pleased with what we found. The site is hilly but with good sea views. Caravans are interspersed with chalets. The shop is well stocked if a little dearer, but it is convienient. The indoor pool looked inviting. Although we did not use any of the sites entertainment facilities they all looked clean, neat and tidy.
We hired a bronze 2 bedroomed chalet for a 3 night weekend break which included the ferry in the price 'bonus'.(£111) The chalet although small had all that was needed. It was clean, dry and warm. A bit dated and worn round the edges and the bathroom was in need of a re-fit, but this is the end of the season now, only half term to go.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank nexoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Thorness Bay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that your accommodation met your requirements. We offer free ferry to the Isle of Wight on selected holiday dates so we hope to see you again in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,233 - 1,239 of 1,482 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked in on the Friday afternoon after having a short look to the west of the island, expecting
all manor of shambles if I was to believe half the stuff posted on this site, BUT, the accommodation turned out very nice, Basic.............yes, and bit worn..................yes, but you can't expect 5 stars when you've booked a chalet that sleeps 4, the whole place was comfy and clean,

The rest of the park had a very useful shop, bar, swimming pool, and a big show bar for evening
shows,

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bambatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

I’m so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at Thorness Bay and your accommodation met your requirements. I hope you’ll return to visit us again soon. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Had perhaps one of the best family holidays ever here, and having done the globetrotting thing with the kids already fancied a break 'on the cheap'. Although expensive for pitches, the facilities were absolutely faultless. Frequent patrols, clean facilities and unbroken service.

Yes, we did pick the best week of summer 2012 but you absolutely cannot fault the Isle of Wight when the weather looks after you.

We gave the clubhouse a miss after the first night however - we thought it very much a Butlins.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richiehayes2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Hi Richie and thank you for leaving a review of our Park. I’m so pleased to hear that you had one of the best family holidays whilst staying with us on the Isle of Wight. It is a wonderful island with plenty of things to do and see. Thank you for your lovely comments. We hope to see you again in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

After reading a lot of bad reviews on here about dirty caravans, I had been worrying for a few weeks before the holiday what state I would find the caravan in. I am pleased to say the caravan was clean, tidy and spacious. The outside of the caravan could have done with a really good cleaning though and the windows were dirty and full of birds poo .
The curtains in the van were not the correct lengths leaving gaps underneath.
I did not use the pool or onsite shop so cannot comment on these. We went to the restaurant/bar for a drink twice and it seemed ok, we didn't use the entertainment as it went on a long time for the kids.
The only fault I found with the site was there some really dark areas of the park with caravans shaded by trees hiding all the light.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Burrough123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for your review of our Park. I’m pleased to hear that you found your accommodation clean and tidy. Towards the end of the season some caravans can appear tired, however over the winter months we will be ensuring that maintenance is carried out across the Park in preparation for the 2013 season. We hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We booked a gold plus caravan which was in the solent breeze section of the site, The caravan itself was very clean, warm and had everything we needed. Having two children we found we had to drive to the entertainment section and at first found the road layout confusing but after 2-3 runs had mastered it. The on site shop was well stocked and the restaurant excellent, the park directly in front of it was fantastic for the children to play while we waited for food to arrive. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. The swimming pool was fun and the separate shallow section was great for our 10 month old. We spent most days travelling around the island and found the site was within 25 minutes of all the best attractions. The clubhouse was fantastic for the children they loved the nightly entertainment. In all fantastic all round and we would recommend and use again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to provide such a great review of our Park Paul. I’m delighted that you and your family enjoyed your holiday to Thorness Bay and that we met your holiday requirements. Your review will certainly assist other holiday makers who are deciding where to stay when visiting our wonderful island, so thank you. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This was our first stay in a Park Resorts, and we used The Sun holiday deal for 4 nights. The major bonus of this campsite is its location in beautiful countryside with a great view of the bay. I cannot fault this. It's great to be able to walk straight down to the pebble beach.

The caravan itself was very spacious, and after only paying for a 2 bed caravan it was a lovely suprise to have an extra bedrooom to use for the cases! However, this is where my praise ends. The caravan was not cleaned to a very high standard, with visible dirt and dust in the corners of rooms, stained carpets and curtains, mould on the walls (and a general mouldy smell), and the windows looked like they hadnt been cleaned in a very long time!

We used the restaurant once on our first night, and this too looked grubby and tired, and the windows were also crying out clean me!

The evening entertainment was ok, and my 3 year old son enjoyed the 'rabbit show' as he called it. But i have to say compared to the Haven resort we stayed in last year this entertainment was a bit lacklustre.

We used the pool once, and i have to say it was the dirtiest indoor pool I have ever been in. The changing area which is carpeted was disgutsting with bits all over the floor and visible dust and dirt. I dont think it's ever seen a hoover. And the water was cloudy, not sure what the reason for this would be, but ive never seen an indoor pool with cloudy water.

We had a problem with our electricity at 8.30am one morning and after our very friendly next door neighbour who owns her caravan tried to help us fix it unsuccessfully, we called the out of hours mobile number for someone to come and help us. Nobody answered after 3 atempts, so we left a message, so good job it wasnt an emergency! When we reported the problem to reception later they said that they had logged our fault. But they hadnt even phoned us to tell us they had received our message.

This could be a great resort because of the location. But Park Resorts needs to invest some money in refurbishing the restaurant, pool and the caravans. And they need to seriously raise the standard of cleaning.

I will definately be returning to The Isle of Wight which is fantastic, not be using Park Resorts again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The journey was fine ferry crossing included in the price. The reception was adequate on arrival although finding our caravan was a bit of a chore!
Once in the caravan we found it to be ok we had a silver 2 bed and although it had heating it was quite cold especially during the night. The double bed was v uncomfy so we used the one in the lounge that was fine. The cleanliness of the van and the park was v good. Probably the thing that lets this site down is the entertainment ... v poor, they do try but really its not good enough. This wouldnt be a problem if we could walk to a local pub etc but its too secluded to do this. The other issue is prices, very expensive for a drink and it seememd the only people who seemed slightly tipsy were the ones who sneaked in their own bottle to drink!
we had a breakfast in the restraunt/cafe on out 2nd day there it was fine and not overly dear though.
Staff were pleasant and areas seemed to be well maintained.Very easy to travel around the island from here,nice for a short break but a week would be too long.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunfem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park R, General Manager at Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our Park. We do take all feedback on board in order to make any necessary improvements to our Park and facilities. I am pleased to hear that you found your accommodation and our Park clean and nice for your short break away. I am sorry that you were disappointed with the entertainment on this occasion. We do attempt to cater for all ages, however I appreciate that it is not always to everyone’s taste. Our bar prices are competitive with other resorts and restaurants on the island, and we continue to try and lower them further. We do have lots of new entertainments planned for 2013 and so we hope that you will visit us again in the future, and once again I thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
3.5 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
350 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
745 reviews
10.5 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Travelodge Ryde Isle of Wight Hotel
3.2 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
11.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Address: Thorness Lane, Cowes PO31 8NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Cowes
Price Range: $12 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Isle of Wight countryside, Thorness Bay is a big hit with everyone. Why not stroll down to the bay - it's just at the bottom of the park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Hotel Cowes
Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing