We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall very enjoyable, better than expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overall very enjoyable, better than expected.”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Just arrived back from a 7 night October break with the better half and nipper and to be honest we all had a great time. I stayed in a Platinum caravan which was situated in the Solent Village part of the park which to be brutally honest was a lot more pleasant on the eye that the other parts of the park which seems to be populated with residents and tired looking holiday homes which could do with a good clean. Would definately recommend going as high up the scale of accomodation as you can as you will have more pleasant surroundings and a nicer outlook as it is not situated in a heavily wooded area therefore you don't have tonnes of leaves etc lying around but it is autumn so what do people expect? and the fact the park was closing down for end of season at the end of the following week.

Anyway enough waffle i'll get to the point.
All the staff were very nice and helpful the kiddies teamsters were brilliant but looked knackered but 9 months of screaming hyperactive kids getting on their case like mine was would be enough for the best of us, happy holidays chaps.

Resturant was not brilliant, venture out for meals there are some cracking family pubs around
that do good food.

Adult & Kids entertainment i take my hat off to them good work better than watching x factor

Pool not bad my 3 1/2 year old loved it

Caravan was brilliant only fault was the plans on their website showed a bath, we only had a shower, which was better than the one at home but need to specify at booking for a bath for the kids (little ones anyway)

Kids play area and outside courts need some attention but being end of season i can't really moan.

Last thing..... you get what you pay for, i read a few previous reviews about The Sun £9.50 Holidays and iffy bronze caravans and all i can say to them is what did you expect the Ritz??

I enjoyed it overall and so did the family and i would go back.

Room Tip: As stated in the review go for at least gold to get in the upper part of the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colinharrison1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    407
    278
    149
    148
See reviews for
957
183
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wales
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Oct 2011 paid £182.00 for one weeks holiday. The caravan was not so much damp, but soaking wet. Bed leg broken, just propped up into place, afraid to move in the night as bed was swaying. Microwave rusty. Toilet, as you peed, it ran out over the floor and the eventually ran down below. The shower covered in thick black mould. Curtains mouldy. Faulty chair repair, it kept dropping with a loud bang. Inside of fridge rusty. fire rusty. woodwork around doors was mouldy and rotten. Then to top it all off.....the carbon manoxide alarm started to sound its alarm, so we the had to turn off the gas and open the doors. The next day i went off to complain ( and met three other very unhappy holiday makers). Demanded to see the manager and made a big fuss, did'nt get to see him the whole week i was there though, but did get moved to a gold caravan (which was good) and promised a free holiday in any of the park resort i choose in the u.k ( which as of yet i still have not got it in writing, or confirmed) and an apology. I insisted that the caravan was not to be used by any one else or i would sue them, they did test the carbon monoxide (which they refused me a copy of the report) and took the caravan offline until refurbished next year. The staff made best of a very difficult job and an irrate customer (me), but they do get plenty of practice with unhappy holidaymakers. On a positive note, the bar staff were brilliant, on the journey there, the car broke down, our only option was (after 5 1/2 hours stuck in a service staition) to go back home, borrow a car and start again, we was so exhausted when we arrived at park resorts and the bar staff picked up on this, they were excellent, they chatted to us, and they got us gluten free food and one of them even bought us a drink out of his own pocket, a big thank you guy's if you read this, it ment so much, genuine nice people. £60 parking ticket at the botanic gardens, and i had purchased a ticket that had fallen off the dashboard, means i won't be rushing back to the iow.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lynn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

October last minute family break to Thorness bay was perfect for some down time and a launch pad to the rest of the IOW.

We stayed in a Gold Plus caravan with a balcony area to the front and side. There were small heaters in the rooms which didn’t really do much and a gas fire in the livingroom. There were no radiators, so each morning it was a dash to get the fire on a heat the caravan up before the kids got up. We had views of the sea and only a few minute walk to the kids play area and main building which included swimming pool, bar, entertainment area and amusement machines. There is a shop on site which we visited to purchase milk on arrival and never returned. The shop is a over priced and under stocked. It had the appearance of a rationed shop in some war torn country.

The park is set in a lovely quiet wooded area with a 5 minute walk down a track to the beach. Newport is a 5 – 10 minute drive and has everything you need. Sainsburys, Morrisons, M&S and a High Street with all the usual shops. My biggest gripe with Newport is the traffic and the amount of traffic signs. We visited out of season and I am convinced the place it twinned with central London.

I would return to Thorness but recommend paying for the Gold caravans. We seen a few old ones and really old looking chalets which looked grim. Our caravan didn’t have an iron or ironing board which is unusual compared to other caravans I have stayed in last year. Apart from that it had everything we needed.

Room Tip: Pay for the Gold Caravans
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain_with2_eyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

On first arrival we drove around the site and were not too impressed. Caravans seemed a bit squashed in and only scenery was trees which overhung a lot of the caravans. Site looked scruffy as there were leaves everywhere and some of the caravans needed a good clean outside. On seeing this I thought, oh no what have I done coming here. We were early so we went to the restaurant for a meal. The staff were all friendly but the chairs were really tatty with lots of stains on, and there was a smell like wet dog in there. The food was less than impressive and not cheap. Childrens chicken nuggets looked like they'd just been tipped put of a frozen bag and re heated, chips bit greasy and over cooked. Burger was ok but the roll was stale and just fell apart, my husband was not happy, Twelve pound for three cokes and a pint of beer! After this, we were very anxious as to what our caravan would be like. The staff in reception were lovely and we were handed our key to number 61 Solent Breeze, the easiest way to find it was to go back out of the entrance and turn right, past the fields and its right at the top of the site. This was the best caravan we could have had, it was lovely and quiet with views of the sea, caravans were more spaced out and you could tell that a lot of them were privately owned, looked like a different site to the one we drove into. the next caravans down in Solent Village were also better than the rest, would definitely only stay here if I was in a caravan on one of these two locations. Our gold plus caravan was lovely and spacious, 3 bedrooms for four of us, which was great, plenty of wardrobe space, with some hangers, but need to take a few of your own. Bathroom has shower which I thought would be a trickle, but it was better than ours at home, lovely and hot and lots of pressure. The main bedroom also had en suite which was brilliant, especially as we seemed to spend most of the day in there after eating in the restaurant. Needless to say, we didn't venture there again, but ate outside of the camp. Maintenance men very prompt and friendly, reported some lights not working and they were fixed straight away. Cooker easy to use and microwave very handy. Water very chalky so we bought some bottled water to make tea and juice with. Beds made up ready and we found them very comfortable. Heating was definitely a bonus, would have been freezing without it. Seats on sofa needed a good clean, but I guess the cleaners can only do so much, would suggest a deep clean at the end of the season. Entertainment was good, the Park Resorts team were excellent and put lots of effort into keeping campers happy. Adult entertainment starts about 10 pm after childrens dances and bingo. The entertainment venue was an 8 minute walk from our caravan and was quite hilly, but I managed it in my high heels, and would definitely rather be further away in the more 'classy' part of the site. Found a lovely pub about ten minutes drive away, the Blacksmiths Arms in Carisbrooke. Food was definitely home cooked and delicious, you could see and taste that it was all fresh, also, staff very friendly, wonderful views across the countryside to Portsmouth and southampton. The best meal we've had in a long time! Would go back to Thorness Bay, but only in the aforementioned parts of the site, not in the lower part. Would have been more stars if the food had been better and the restaurant carpets and chairs given a good clean or re-newed. Really enjoyed staying here and didn't want to go home.

Room Tip: Choose gold plus or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loulabelle73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Arrived out of hours as planned so Reception was closed. Had a Bronze caravan as dog owner. On entering the caravan was knocked back by the stench of stale urine, never a good idea to have carpet in toilet when letting out to public. Beds were covered in dead flies. Clearly the van had not been cleaned for some time. Having paid £30 extra for the dog to stay for 3 nights it is hard to see why when she is cleaner than people who had stayed in the caravan previously. That said the kitchen was clean. Even so if it was based on the caravan alone it would be hard to give it one star and we left after two nights. The site itself was not too bad even if the swimming pool lockers are £1 non returnable which is a complete rip off. Had a meal at the restraunt which was nice with excellent service - cannot fault the staff. Shame that the accommodation was so poor as otherwise it would have been a nice site.

Room Tip: Take marigolds and air freshner
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Not good first impressions at reception. If arriving slightly early (45mins) they direct to the Entertainment Area supposedly to spend money ? Signage to Entertainment Area does not exist - this needs addressing. Site also looks like a gypsy site in some areas. It looks like some vans are lived in all year round and flatbed lorries along side. Also dog poo on the roads and paths & broken up van stuck right by the Entertainment area - not a pretty sight .Wouldn't stay again. Could not pay for food & drinks as card machine broken down all weekend.

Room Tip: Pay for best van you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Punkwatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I took my wife,niece and two kids on a "9.50" sun holiday to this park. When booking i misunderstood and thought i had to pay for remainder and bedding on arrival so they cancelled our stay when i phoned to reinstate the booking they charged me a £20 "admin charge" so i cancelled the bedding and took sleeping bags. On reinstating the holiday they informed me that their was no bronze accommodation left so i had to pay the £20 i had just saved on the bedding on an upgrade (glad i did though). On arrival to our silver caravan we realised that my niece had to sleep on sofa cushions on a piece of wood with one leg attatched did not look very comfortable or safe. We phoned reception to confirm we had been allocated a silver caravan which they said we had my wife asked how much an upgrade to gold would be they said £40 but my wife managed to get it free and the lady at reception was very nice. Gold caravan much better 3 bedrooms and a telly you could see ( i've seen bigger postage stamps than the one in the silver). Pool was very run down and the green carpet in changing area is a breeding ground for bugs. Kids enjoyed the slide. Eyes were stinging after about 5 minutes though so obviously need to work on pool treatment/filtration. Not sure two lifeguards sitting next to each other is RLSS best practice either would be worrying if they did this during busy periods.

The bar and show bar were clean and well presented staff polite (if a little slow sometimes) and food was of a good standard for the price. Drinks expensive but thats the case everywhere these days. The entertainment staff were very good and my boys love sparky and naarky who they have seen when we went to another park resorts site and they were vey much looking forward to seeing them. Unfortunately the first night we made it to the show bar due to "technical difficulties" naarky could not make an appearance which left me with two very upset little boys this was annoying because at the start of the show my wife had checked with one of the entertainment staff that he would definitely show. So i had to book a sparky breakfast so they could see him in the morning. In fairness to the entertainment staff they quickly refunded this as the saw I was not a happy man with two sobbing kids hanging off me. Other than this they were brilliant and my kids absolutely loved madness and mayhem also look out for the disney show which was also of a very high standard

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
3.0 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
8.8 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
11.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
11.1 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
10.4 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Property: Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Address: Thorness Lane | Thorness, Cowes PO31 8NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 660
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Isle of Wight countryside, Thorness Bay is a big hit with everyone. Why not stroll down to the bay - it's just at the bottom of the park! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Hotel Cowes
Thorness Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing