We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The management couldn't have been more helpful”
Review of The Fountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fountain Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I have stayed here 6 or 7 times. Admittedly it was getting a little tired when we stayed last year. However, they have just had a major revamp and the hotel is now a fantastic place to stay. Close to the marina, the shops and amenities. Due to a computer malfunction there was a small glitch with our booking. However, Chris and Sean couldn't have been more helpful and pulled out all the stops to look after us. Not only did they give us a reduced rate for our rooms, they also gave the rest of the crew a free breakfast. The staff were friendly, attentive and we really enjoyed our stay again. Fantastic customer service. I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plfara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

On behalf of the team, I would like to thank you for your recent feedback and glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Chris, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 355 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

The harbour is gorgeous. Located right beside Red Jet ferry the location is great. Zoe, Lawrence and Ashmar worked so hard as they are understaffed in my opinion. Great restaurant, super food but bar service? The back room seemed set up for table service, sat , no one said anything. We got our own menus, waited looked around, no signage. Finally went to the bar. 3 deep surrounded i soon gave up. They were over whelmed. 1 person handling bar, orders and bills. Poor manager he needs staff.

Room Tip: No elevator.so 2nd floor facing street or harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for your recent feedback. I am glad that the teams hard work made your stay with us memorable and please be assurred we are in the process of training a new team Front Of House to deliver the high standards we set ourselves. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Chris, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Checked in Fri 19th April for the weekend for the continuing celebrations of my partners 40th. Check in was swift, the lady who checked me in was very friendly and explained things in detail. Stayed in room 4!. Not the best room i have stayed in but quite comfertable. Large desk area with well stocked tea/coffe making facilties and a desk light. Large comfertable bed (on my side at least!) The bed has wooden boards and the side of the bed nearest the door needs some work doing to it to stop the boards falling our of their slots. Large bathroom with bath and shower. Plently of shelf space within the bathroom for all my potions! Large wardrobe, could maybe do with a few more hangers but iron and iron board provided. In room 4 there was a large wooden area by the window, unsure what this actually was for but the hotel have made the most and turned it into a seating area, the view from the window was over the marina but slightly obscured by extracter fans from the kitchen. Carrying on from this, this was the only let down i could find, you were unable to open the window due to the smells coming from the fans from the kitchen, maybe an option for fitting air conditioning as i would not wish to stay in this room during the summer months without ventilation. We did not dine at the hotel but we used the bar area and all staff were welcoming and friendly. We had breakfast included in the price and upon the first morning was greeted by members of staff working in the back bar area. Fruit Juices, Fresh Fruit, cereals and cakes/pastries were available and there was a good hot selection on the breakfast menu including smoked salmon, kippers along with the traditional English. Tea/Coffee and toast were also served. Breakfast on the 2nd morning was a dissapointment. No clean tables on arrival, we had to wait a good few minutes to be served and despite it not being too late given they serve breakfast until noon there was very little left of the cereals, fruits and pastries, we also had to ask for glasses for juice and bowls forr cereal and the quality of the food did not match up to the previous mornings. However overall the stay was extremely pleasant and looking forward to returning in the near future

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitkathorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I have passed all your lovely comments onto the team, who value them immensly. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Old Manse Hotel soon. Chris, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Nice central location room was nice lovely decor staff very helpful breakfast good but a little slow , walk out the door right on cowers high street I had a loft room looking over harbour nothing was to much trouble

Stayed: March 2013
Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, where I have passed all your lovely comments onto the team, where we are all glad you enjoyed yourselves. I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Chris, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I have stayed at The Fountain over the last year and to be honest was unsure if I would go back after Januarys visit was well below the required standard.

But what a difference a couple of months make! Breakfast was fantastic, my evening meal The Pork Belly special was delicious. The rooms here are always great although the WIFI could be a bit quicker :-)

It is clear the overall service has gone up a number of gears
the new manager Chris? is making his mark and I wish him and he's new team well.

I will be returning in May / June so will keep you updated.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris F, General Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thankyou for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I have passed all your lovely comments onto the team, who value them immensly. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Fountain Inn soon. Chris, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We visited The Fountain Inn today - it was a lovely warm refuge on a bitterly cold day.

We had fish and chips for lunch and it was delicious. Our daughter (5) had the children's pasta dish and wolfed it down so that's praise indeed!

Service was good - the wait for food was a little long (35 minutes) but it was worth the wait!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank TheShedgars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your food at The Fountain and hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Didn't stay in hotel, only had breakfast - eggs Benedict, first attempt was burnt, second had raw eggs. Teenage staff didn't give a toss, embarrassment to Cowes. I would rather have eaten in Sainsbury's restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Endeavou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

I would firstly like to thank you for the feedback on your recent visit to the Fountain Inn and assure you that this in no way represents the otherwise high level of service which we measure ourselves against. I have shared your comments with the team and feel confident that we are moving in the right direction to avoid any reoccurrence like which you encountered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.1 mi away
North House
North House
#1 of 5 in Cowes
89 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
0.5 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cowes
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
12.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
926 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Ryde Castle
Hotel Ryde Castle
#3 of 6 in Ryde
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Inn

Address: High Street, Cowes PO31 7AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range: $61 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Fountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fountain Hotel Cowes
Fountain Hotel Cowes
The Fountain Inn Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing