We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fountain Inn
Nearby Hotels
$168
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$141
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$130
$111
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$204
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveler rating
92
127
62
51
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
127
62
51
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsred jetsuperior roomferry terminalfire doorshandy locationhigh streettop floorisle of wightbath and showercomfy bedexcellent staysunday lunchfull englisheast cowesjoe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 370 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Had the privilege of staying at the Fountain over a March weekend. The hotel decor is off a very high standard.

The service and food was just wonderful. Everyone was friendly and would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marynigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We where glad to read you had a great weekend stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Fountain is my favourite place in Cowes. Its beautifully renovated and the rooms are gorgeous each with its own character... Everyone is really helpful, friendly and cheerful. The food is good - i love the fish and chips - and great value. Its right in the middle of town and you cant beat the atmosphere of being quayside and depending on your room a view of the Harbour.... :-)

Room Tip: Ask for Harbour View, they are the most beautiful ones :-)
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcelleVonWendland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for your great review of our hotel. We are glad you rate us so highly, and that you enjoy the new look Fountain. Myself and my team look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Really nice place and well decorated. They have gone the extra mile and in making this such a great value lovely hotel. No complaints whatsoever. Breakfast was filling and a great selection. Car parking is an issue but if you do your homework there's a car park down the road and on the esplanade sea front.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamesworth1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of The Fountain. We are glad we met your expectations during your visit and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Loved the way we were welcomed. Room beautifully decorated and comfortable. Dinner was excellent - good selection of vegetarian food. Breakfast included good range of cooked selections. Could help self to fruit, cereals, pastries, juices. Coffee refills offered regularly. Staff were all so friendly and happy! A pleasure staying there and would visit again. Strongly recommend it. We had reduced rates as late booking - very much worth it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to hear you found our team friendly and helpful & that you had a great stay with us, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Expensive, poorly kept beers substatiated with mediocre service, fried food and an ambience which resembles and oap home. Plenty of boiled food if your teeth cant take it.

    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank bstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Fountain Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Thank you for your constructive review. I am sorry you didn't receive the high level of customer service we pride ourselves here at The Fountain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews