We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel in the Centre of Cowes”
Review of The Fountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fountain Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel in the Centre of Cowes”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Nice hotel, lots of character and located right in the centre of town, next to lots of bars and shops. Also right next to the ferry and five minute's walk from the promenade. The room wasn't that big with minimal storage, but the bathroom was a decent size, and the room was clean and serviced every day. Weekend evenings can be a bit noisy due to the location, but I found the best solution was to join the party! Great food in the bar in the evenings and friendly service. Great breakfast, the young waitress in the restaurant at the weekend did a great job and was very friendly too. All in all a great place to stay when visiting Cowes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solidwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    115
    60
    50
    32
See reviews for
44
148
14
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrington, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
365 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Pro's
- right in front of red jet service.
- onsite pub, and pubs to the left, right, across, etc. Ok, not to the left, but you get the point.
- loud, happenin area, no need to walk far from drinking
- traditional inn, again whats with the separate hot and cold faucets in Cowes...

Cons
- loud, noisy area
- Careful if you disrobe in your room, I think people downstairs can see you depending on which direction your window faces.
- LOUD, NOISY
- bad insulation, very cold in winters, this time was decent fall weather
- good luck if you have big suitcases, no lift, and 2 sets of doors on every floor.

Overall, good breakfast. Again, I passed on the full English breakfast. But have had it in the past and it was yummy just too much.

Have to say, the place is cozy... if you are into that sort of thing.

Room Tip: Low floors if you have big bags. Back rooms near to the dock away from the street if you want less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvcnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I had booked the Fountain Inn months prior as the bank holiday is always busy, and the location is good for us as we have friends living in East Cowes. Closer to the date I read the reviews so went in with open eyes expecting the worst. But if you do, any good points are a bonus. We had a very clean, tidy room, yes a slightly worn bathroom, but I was prepared for that and it was clean and fully functional, so no complaint. We had a view over the harbour which was great, I expected the noise from the buses or Red Jet to disturb us but it didn't. There was an extractor fan from the kitchen, but that went off as soon as food stopped being served so no issue. We ate late on arrival Friday, and perhaps food was fairly basic pub food, but with 2 meals for £12 who can complain, and the staff were friendly. Breakfasts were faultless with a really good choice and again, good and attentive service from the staff. We already knew that there was no parking, to be expected for it's location, but the car park is literally just up the road. My only complaint was that on the Sunday night we drank on the patio area but it was cold and when we asked for the patio heaters on we were told they were broken, so we went inside. Only to see half an hour later that the large group off the yachts had the patio heaters on. And the bar still closes Sunday hours even for residents. But would we stay there again - yes! Just go prepared and enjoy it for what it is, and old building with crooked windows and charm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midlanders_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Fountain Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, we always appreciate all your feedback at Old English Inns and constantly work hard to deliver service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Inns soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Found a piece of plastic in my fish. Staff little dumb - got food order wrong and failed to understand simple instructions. As well as the food taking over an hour to arrive. Not good. Still waiting for my refund.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cowes hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have eaten at The Fountain a number of times and cannot fault the quality of the food or the staff.

The large bar area and extended dining room are needed as it can get very busy as it is right next to the Red Funnel passenger ferry port. Because of this I would have to warn people about sitting outside on the patio area. It is a nice area to sit in when the sun is out, but you will have to put up with not just the ferry passengers but also the buses and card that use the little bit of road as a drop off and pick up area. I was there on Sunday and it seemed that every 10 minutes another bus was pulling in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snuggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Paid £130 for one night in a very small single room during Cowes week. There was a hole and rip in stitching in the duvet cover and room window seemed to be next to the kitchen extractor fan which meant a constant smell of frying... A peak summer week can justify inflated prices in the most part but this did not seem just at all. Staff were friendly but would avoid until I knew the owner had spent some money on the place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stay for two nights in cowes week was charged 160 for fri and 80 for sat the extra charge was because it was firework night at the end of cowes week. Avoid room 4 as in need of repair bathroom ceiling looked if it was going to fall down. Also hotel was very hot but if you opened window in room the noisy from kitchen extractor fan was awful. The breakfast was good one morning and awful the next poached eggs on toast took 50mins to be cooked and then came out like hardboiled eggs. My advice is to stay somewhere else which is a shame as all staff was extremely friendly

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbey19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.1 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
55 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
9.7 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
12.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cowes
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fountain Inn

Property: The Fountain Inn
Address: High Street, Cowes PO31 7AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Fountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fountain Hotel Cowes
Fountain Hotel Cowes
The Fountain Inn Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing