We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay, location, service and breakfast all brilliant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crossways House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crossways House
Ranked #5 of 29 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay, location, service and breakfast all brilliant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed for a night on a visit to family and thought this was a great find. Comfortable clean accommodation, welcoming hosts and fab breakfast - some lovely home baked goods too. We came without a car and it was well located for buses and walk into east cowes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoroG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
76
13
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This lovely B & B was one of the highlights of our trip to Britain. the rooms were spacious and very comfortable, with all the Victorian charm and modern conveniences (showers were awesome!) It really felt like home, complete with tea, coffee, hot chocolate and wonderful home made biscuits in our room. Marde and David were the best hosts we could ask for. They were very friendly and helpful with suggestions on what to do on our trip. You can tell they love what they do and it shows with the exceptional meals we ate there. The proximity to Osborne House and the ferries was great!

Room Tip: We stayed in the four poster room and our daughter stayed in the Victoria room. Both rooms were ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calcustom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a beautiful B & B located close to the ferry and Osborne House. The room was very comfortable and had lots of little extras that we were not expecting. The proximity to Osborne House was a mere 100 yards from the B & B. Marde and Dave were superior hosts and made our stay most welcoming. The breakfasts were outstanding. Highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle_SW8608YE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Chosen for its proximity to Osborne House, the quality of the accommodation and the promise of a good breakfast prior to sightseeing on the island. We were not disappointed. Our room was wonderfully comfortable. The welcoming chocolates, home baking and first class food both for breakfast and Dinner excelled that of many 4 star Hotels ( from personal experience).
The whole ambiance was a lovely experience from start to finish and ideal for anyone looking to visit Osborne House in particular. We cannot recommend this place enough as there are not enough superlatives in the English dictionary

Room Tip: Wouldn't fancy a room in the annexe as they are next to a main bus route. Its worth going for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McCreery-Morbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mac
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our main reason for staying here was that it looked very inviting on the website and it was only 100 yards from the entrance to Osborne House. This was important to us as we needed to consider limited motability and a gardening and history freak who likes to look at everything. We booked a four poster room for our stay and we could highly recommend that you do the same. We were so comfortable, We ate like Kings at both breakfast time and for Dinner. We originally planned to have dinner on our first night and then perhaps go out and explore local pubs on other nights. After our first nights dinner we realised that we would be mad to go wandering about the countryside, foregoing a pint/glass of wine for something which came with chips or rice when we could enjoy top class freshly cooked food washed down with a decent bottle of wine from a very well balanced wine list.
Others have documented the warm welcome and the home baking and chocolates and we would very much like to add our vote to that. Marde'd cheese scones and pain au chocolat are absolutely delicious. Also I have never enjoyed an Omelette so much in my life.

If you are looking to visit Osborne House and are looking for somewhere very special to stay in a lovely authentic late Victorian/ early Edwardian environment then this is the place for you. Its 5 minutes from the East Cowes ferry and 10 minutes from Fishbourne. Its also on a main bus route.

Room Tip: Would recommend the main house and particularly the 4 poster rooms as they are so comfortable and wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MacNanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

What a beautiful, welcome, room and well the breakfast was tremendous! Thank you David and Marde for making our stay on your beautiful Island so comfortable. All the little extras made it extra special!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 216Todd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Fantastic weekend made possible by David and Marde .Beautiful rooms and fantastic food the perfect hosts! Thanks guys.I will tell all are friends and will be staying again next year.Thankyou for making are stay so perfect 5star.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priory1186262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cowes hotels
0.4 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#3 of 5 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Caledon Guest House
1.9 mi away
Mimosa Lodge
Mimosa Lodge
#1 of 29 in Cowes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossways House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossways House

Property: Crossways House
Address: Crossways Road, Cowes PO32 6LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once part of the Royal Estate at Osborne, Crossways House offers quality ensuite accommodation and evening dining in our licensed restaurant. We are located opposite Osborne House and close to the marinas of Cowes and East Cowes. We are only one mile from the Red Funnel ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Crossways House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossways House Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing