We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Visit”
Review of Crossways House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crossways House
Ranked #5 of 28 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2013

A treasure on the Isle of Wight. Lovely house beautifully decorated with so much history. Very comfortable beds and modern bathrooms ( best showers in all of England) The breakfast was amazing. Dave and Marde know how to make a hoiliday special!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iamabigwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Crossways House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 171 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

Recently spent several nights at Crossways House. Proprietors, Marde and Dave, were superb hosts and attentive to our every need. Located across the street from Osborne Castle, the house reeks of warmth, character and charm. It simply does not get any better. If you have an opportunity to enjoy a meal at Crossways House you will not be disappointed. It is among the best accommodation and meals I have ever experienced and I would heartily recommend this fine establishment to travellers who would like to stay in a quaint, clean English Inn that is run by folks that really care about their guests.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We managed to get a last minute room here for the Isle of Wight festival 2012 - and we're very glad that we did. We had one of the 'annex' rooms and didn't find that there was any road noise to speak of. The room was large, the facilities all excellent, the homemade cookies were delicious... in fact, David was most welcoming and understanding even when we turned up to the property in the wee small hours (we were in THAT traffic jam)... he'd turned the lights and the heating on and left the keys for us.
Breakfast was plentiful and lovely too - and there were more home-baked goodies on offer.
We're about to rebook for 2013's festival...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent two nights at Crossways House , October 11 and 12th, 2012. We arrived in the rain and immediately felt the day brighten because of David's warm welcome and the beauty of our room. Our room's large window overlooked raised beds of veggies and flowers as well as a golden field across the way . The furnishings included a very comfortable bed, two chairs, desk, and even a love seat. We were served delicious home made cookies with our tea in the parlor very shortly after we arrived. My husband and I knew immediately and when we left that we would like to come again and stay longer. We enjoyed a delicious candle lit dinner one night and very large breakfasts on both mornings. The selection of dishes for both dinner and breakfast was excellent. The location of Crossways could not be better for folks traveling by public transport. Buses are frequent and the bus stop is only about a hundred yards from the front door. Our main objective was to spend the day at Osborne House.The entrance is a five minute walk from Crossways. I would recommend Crossways without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandyGeorge_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We booked to stay here as friends of ours were getting married and having their reception at Osborne house. Great for location (only a few minutes walk away). The service was very good too and David was an excellent host.

The only issue was that the rooms need updating and the actual house could have been a bit more welcoming. Slightly over priced too for what you get. Our room was very cold and smelt a bit damp and musty.

The breakfast was great though!!!

Great if you red to be near Osborne house but otherwise I wouldn't stay again

Thanks

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staceyo1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharpe46, Owner at Crossways House, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. As regards to the heating, there are thermostats in all the bathrooms and bedrooms and most of our guests just use them to control the heating. We are always available in case there is a problem such as an air lock and this is easily fixable. We do wish that you had alerted us and apologize if we, in any way, made it uncomfortable for you to do so. It was not our intention.

Crossways House is a fine example of the Arts and Crafts movement and has been decorated to reflect the quiet, minimalist forms of this period. We are constantly updating the furnishings but we don't feel that modern designs of wallpaper or fabrics would be appropriate. So what you call “dated”, we call simple and understated with traditional lines. We do have several pieces of modern art by local Cowes artists that do complement the decor. And we love how the new wall mounted flat screen televisions are so unobtrusive and fade into the background. We just installed a 32-inch flat screen in the Victoria Room and it didn’t look conspicuous at all. All of our ensuite bathrooms are the latest in contemporary design with loads of storage for personal toiletries and personal items and all have power showers. All the bedrooms have flat screens with DVD and free wifi.

No one hotel or bed and breakfast can appeal to everyone. You chose us because of our position just opposite the main entrance to Osborne House and the convenience of walking to the wedding venue. It seems harsh to criticize our decor when we have photographs of our rooms on our website and there are over forty on the TripAdvisor website. I think that you would have been much more happy at a new hotel about a fifteen minute drive from here. It’s less than four years old and has a very modern feel and boasts both spa facilities and a swimming pool. It is of course more expensive but I feel that you would have been more comfortable in that setting.

Yesterday we had a young lady of about eighteen who, on entering the dining room for breakfast, remarked, “This is such a beautiful house.” We think so too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

stayed for 2 days while working on the island and had a very pleasant stay.. the food was fantastic.. dave and marde are lovely people and marde is an awesome cook.. i often work on the island and will deffinately be back to stay there again..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

It was my first time on the Isle of Wight and my first time at a bed and breakfast, and both experiences were wonderful! I was there for a good friends wedding, the location was perfect and only a 20 min walk to the chain ferry. I was made to feel welcome and all the little extras like the homemade cookies in the room were a great touch. The breakfast is tasty and always fresh, hats off to Marde the chef!! I would recommend this quaint little B&B to anyone, I will definitely be back! All the best to you Marde and David :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foxysince74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.4 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
1.4 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
66 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
5.3 mi away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossways House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossways House

Address: Crossways Road, Cowes PO32 6LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range: $118 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once part of the Royal Estate at Osborne, Crossways House offers quality ensuite accommodation and evening dining in our licensed restaurant. We are located opposite Osborne House and close to the marinas of Cowes and East Cowes. We are only one mile from the Red Funnel ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crossways House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossways House Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing