We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ok stay but could have been better”
Review of Crossways House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crossways House
Ranked #5 of 29 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An ok stay but could have been better”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We booked to stay here as friends of ours were getting married and having their reception at Osborne house. Great for location (only a few minutes walk away). The service was very good too and David was an excellent host.

The only issue was that the rooms need updating and the actual house could have been a bit more welcoming. Slightly over priced too for what you get. Our room was very cold and smelt a bit damp and musty.

The breakfast was great though!!!

Great if you red to be near Osborne house but otherwise I wouldn't stay again

Thanks

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staceyo1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sharpe46, Owner at Crossways House, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. As regards to the heating, there are thermostats in all the bathrooms and bedrooms and most of our guests just use them to control the heating. We are always available in case there is a problem such as an air lock and this is easily fixable. We do wish that you had alerted us and apologize if we, in any way, made it uncomfortable for you to do so. It was not our intention.

Crossways House is a fine example of the Arts and Crafts movement and has been decorated to reflect the quiet, minimalist forms of this period. We are constantly updating the furnishings but we don't feel that modern designs of wallpaper or fabrics would be appropriate. So what you call “dated”, we call simple and understated with traditional lines. We do have several pieces of modern art by local Cowes artists that do complement the decor. And we love how the new wall mounted flat screen televisions are so unobtrusive and fade into the background. We just installed a 32-inch flat screen in the Victoria Room and it didn’t look conspicuous at all. All of our ensuite bathrooms are the latest in contemporary design with loads of storage for personal toiletries and personal items and all have power showers. All the bedrooms have flat screens with DVD and free wifi.

No one hotel or bed and breakfast can appeal to everyone. You chose us because of our position just opposite the main entrance to Osborne House and the convenience of walking to the wedding venue. It seems harsh to criticize our decor when we have photographs of our rooms on our website and there are over forty on the TripAdvisor website. I think that you would have been much more happy at a new hotel about a fifteen minute drive from here. It’s less than four years old and has a very modern feel and boasts both spa facilities and a swimming pool. It is of course more expensive but I feel that you would have been more comfortable in that setting.

Yesterday we had a young lady of about eighteen who, on entering the dining room for breakfast, remarked, “This is such a beautiful house.” We think so too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
78
13
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

stayed for 2 days while working on the island and had a very pleasant stay.. the food was fantastic.. dave and marde are lovely people and marde is an awesome cook.. i often work on the island and will deffinately be back to stay there again..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012

It was my first time on the Isle of Wight and my first time at a bed and breakfast, and both experiences were wonderful! I was there for a good friends wedding, the location was perfect and only a 20 min walk to the chain ferry. I was made to feel welcome and all the little extras like the homemade cookies in the room were a great touch. The breakfast is tasty and always fresh, hats off to Marde the chef!! I would recommend this quaint little B&B to anyone, I will definitely be back! All the best to you Marde and David :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxysince74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, Dorset, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at Crossways House for one night as we were attending a wedding reception at Osbourne House and this was very close by. We had booked to stay in the lodge, but David (the manager) said there was availability in the main house and they very kindly upgraded us at no cost.
The room was beautiful and the bed sooo comfortable - the sheets were divinely soft. On the tea/coffee tray there was a little tin filled with homemade cookies. What a nice touch. And they were delicious :) As was the breakfast! You can see how much effort goes into making every little detail count. Not only was the food incredible, and perfectly cooked, but the dining room is so lovely and the way in which everything is presented is perfect. I really didn't want breakfast to end!
We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our first visit to the Isle of Wight was wonderful and Marde and Dave and Crossways house only enhanced our time there. We were made to feel welcome were very comfortable in their home. Our room was large, airy, and comfortable. Marde is a fantastic cook and the food is really good! We highly recommend a visit to Crossways House and thank you Marde and Dave for your hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our second visit to Crossways "ticked all the boxes" as our first trip.
This time we treated ourselves to 3 nights in the four poster room-great room and nicely appointed.
David and Marde made us very welcome and were so helpful.
The main reason for congratulating our hosts is due to the food--breakfast is awesome (choose anything you want, freshly and superbly cooked)
If you stay for dinner, Marde will provide a superb food experience at great value-but be warned, portions are massive!!

Cannot fault the experience of staying here, heres to the next time.
P.s. David if you buy your Morgan, I want a ride.

Room Tip: The four poster room is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerryKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We wanted a place where we could come for a visit from Canada and meet up with my husbands family from Reading, Berks. This allowed all of us to have a holiday and Crossways house was the perfect place. Crossways has lots of beautiful rooms and the dining room was big enough to accomodate us all. Marde and Dave set up the tables so we could all eat together. The food was amazing. Marde and Dave gave us lots of ideas of places to visit. We enjoyed a night of dancing on the table at the Folly and touring the Needles and the donkey refuge. I would highly recommend Crossways house and the Isle of Wight as a holiday destination.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
1.4 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
46 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
11.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
333 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Caledon Guest House
1.4 mi away
Holly Tree House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossways House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossways House

Property: Crossways House
Address: Crossways Road, Cowes PO32 6LJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once part of the Royal Estate at Osborne, Crossways House offers quality ensuite accommodation and evening dining in our licensed restaurant. We are located opposite Osborne House and close to the marinas of Cowes and East Cowes. We are only one mile from the Red Funnel ferry terminal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crossways House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossways House Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing