We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful home in a brilliant location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Halyard House

Halyard House...Central Cowes
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Halyard House...Central Cowes
The fully equipped kitchen Halyard House
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Halyard House...Central Cowes
The fully equipped kitchen
Halyard House
BBQ time
Sitting room
The bathroom
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Looking through to bedroom 1
The high street outside the rear gate
Just outside!
The kitchen
The yacht squadron
The fastnet race
kitchen
Halyard teddy !
Welcome!
Welcome home
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Cowes, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Monica W
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful home in a brilliant location”
Reviewed September 5, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed here for 4 days and I can honestly say that we were very happy and comfortable during our stay. Everything we needed and more was provided in the house, which made staying at the halyard house comfortable and enjoyable. Will definitely be back again!

Emma also came round with some coffee cake, milk and caramel short bread which was very kind of her, very comforting to have such a warm welcome!

Thank you for a brilliant stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominosmu...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Fabulous location in Cowes”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Perfect location with restaurants and shops just metres away from the door. We had a car and whilst there was no parking directly outside we had no trouble finding spots close by - this may be a problem in peak season though. House was small but comfortable for 3 adults. Emma the host had left us croissants, butter, jams and milk as well as chocolates on our pillows which was very welcoming.
Only comment would be that the shower, being over the bath, was difficult for my elderly mother-in-law to negotiate and a grab rail would be useful.
Would definitely stay there again.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verobelan...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect accommodation”
Reviewed March 16, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house is perfect, we were 5 ppl and there is plenty of room for everybody. Clean, comfy, warm. the landlady didn't miss any detail with notes on how to operate everything (Tv, wifi, heating) also she surprised us with cookies, cakes...Will definitely stay there again!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleanor M
Omagh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“adorable little house in a fantastic location”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have just returned from a week in Halyard House on the Isle of Wight and can honestly say I enjoyed every minute of my stay. The island is beautiful and Emma's little house is simply adorable and the perfect base from which to explore. Location is superb - Halyard House is tucked away and feels very private and quiet and yet around the corner is the buzzing High Street, full of great places to eat, shop and only a short walk from the esplanade and seafront. The house itself is small but perfectly formed and Emma has thought of everything that you might require and more - bedrooms are pretty and very comfortable, kitchen is well eqipped, massive comfy sofa in the snug lounge and a little courtyard to enjoy a glass of wine. But it is the finishing touches that make this house stand out - the pretty decor and attention to detail everywhere is just gorgeous. Parking could be an issue but we decided to book a week in a long-stay car park close by and there were always loads of spaces. All in all a super place to stay and I would recommend it to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Reviewed June 12, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ems85_12
Farnborough, Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A gorgeous home from home tucked away but minutes from the action”
Reviewed June 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have recently returned from a wonderful stay at halyard house. Very private but with the high street on your doorstep it is a brilliant location. The cottage has been finished to a very high standard and has a real home from home feel to it.

We particularly liked the cake and pint of milk in the fridge on arrival very welcome after a long journey. All the little home comforts are there. Super soft towels, comfy beds, appliances. Lovely touches such as Crabtree and Evelyn soap in the bathroom. Cafetiere coffee and tea ready for you.

The decor is lovely and gives off a real sense of care and thought that has gone into this property. Restaurants and bars are minutes walk away as is supermarkets and the ferry port.

Would definitely recommend and we hope to be back soon .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pauline H
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, great location”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Right in town centre so everything to hand, yet surprisingly quiet and restful. The kids loved the closeness of the beach, there was a park 2 mins walk for the dog and we loved the homely feel to the cottage and the attention to detail (wi-fi, toiletries, hairdryer and even milk in the fridge on arrival).

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing