We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic - Great location, Fab nautical apartment”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome!
Bright and fresh open plan living area Located above the lovely shop Live Like This
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Welcome!
Bright and fresh open plan living area
Located above the lovely shop Live Like This
A stone's throw from the sea
Super convinient!  Everything you need is close to hand
The dining table is a great place to watch the world go by
Cowes flags and bunting flapping in the sea breeze
A great vew of the beautiful historic buildings of Cowes
Bright and fresh open plan living area
A well equiped kitchen
Nautical decor ...this is Cowes ...what else!
Super cosy bedroom, with top quality bedding
Super cosy bedroom, with top quality bedding
A second bedroom, perfect for the kids
A second bedroom, perfect for the kids
A very practical bathroom
Sailing... what Cowes is all about
Cowes week
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cowes, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Richard O
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location, but tired apartment.”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Couldn't have got a better location for Cowes - slap bang on the high street. Hussle and bussle during the day and a buzz at night (it was leading up to Cowes week). If you have a car, think hard about where you park it. The recommended Northwood car park is not ideal and can be costly. We managed to rent someone's driveway by chance. Isle of Wight Council have weekly rates, so check those out first.

The apartment is clearly an investment with a weekly contract cleaner to do the necessary stuff. The 'charm' element, as advertised, is not really there. It was cleanish, the sheets on the double bed were tired, bobbled like sand paper (Egyptian cotton - who cares when it's that rough!). The bathroom was adequate but tired and damp. Bit of mildew here and there and the extractor fans clogged with dust.

The kitchen was adequate, but apart from a quick breakfast we ate out. The ice machine didn't work, there were no tea towels and much of the crockery and cutlery were stained.

It suited us fine for a week and luckily the weather was superb, otherwise the size of the apartment would have driven me mad.

This 'investment' just needs a bit of love and attention and a bit of spending on.

Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2016
Hi Richard,

greetings from Cowes. Thank you for your feedback. Without it we cannot improve/maintain the level of service.

42A is first and foremost our own holiday home. We feel extremely fortunate to have this very special corner of the world, and love sharing it with our guests, most of whom leave saying that they had a perfect stay, and leave 5 star reviews. I'm sorry on this occasion that not everything was perfect.

We don't live locally, and yes, we do rely on a local housekeeper service, and yes, that means that despite our best efforts things occasionally get missed.

I think during your stay, the sheets you slept in must have not been the ones we provide. I will investigate further. Sorry if they were rough. The ones we provide are not.

Sincere apologies for the lack of tea towels. It is frustrating as we do provide these things, and instruct them to be left for guests, but like I say, occasionally things do get missed. Forgive me if I'm wrong, but I think the housekeeper did drop some off for you during your stay.

Regarding parking, 42a is a town centre apartment, and the parking situation is not perfect, but is practical enough given the circumstances. Yours is the first complaint of this nature that we have received in 3 years.

Regarding the apartment being tired, we do agree that it is in need of some TLC. We have had a very busy year, even during the winter months, with very little opportunity to get in and make good some things which require attention. For winter 2016 I am pleased to report that we are closing our doors for a few weeks in order to overhaul the bathroom, and give a good freshen up throughout.

We truly are committed to providing our guests with an exceptional place to stay, so sorry once again that on this occasion you feel that it was not up to the standard that we expect.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Publicfoo...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic - Great location, Fab nautical apartment”
Reviewed February 28, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Our 4 day stay was great, apartment was lovely and clean. All mod cons plus extras. And some lovely little extras that you just wouldn't get in a B&B for the same price. We arrived late but there entry system works very well and not one problem with this place. 100% recommend it. 100m from foot ferry makes for very easy access. Quiet at night with rooms on the back and great Windows to work at or people watch during the day. :-). Thankyou.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mich B
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“simply delightful”
Reviewed August 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

we had a lovely time in Cowes and enjoyed very much of our stay in this flat. Everything is well thought out, such a comfy and cosy place. accessible to all shops, good pubs and restaurants, a short walk to the esplanade. we definitely had a wonderful time. We highly recommend to all travellers out there. Thanks Peter and Nathalie.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinSym...
1 review
“Fantastic flat in Cowes Old Town”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a fabulous time staying in this wonderful flat, right in the heart of Cowes Old Town. The apartment was clean, well furnished and we felt right at home there, with great facilities and a comfortable nights sleep. The location is excellent, literal footsteps away from the Red Jet ferry link to Southampton for excursions to the mainland, close to the local bus service and there is also car parking at the top of the hill. There are plenty of good local restaurants as well as supermarkets within five mins walking distance. Overall, we had a lovely stay here and would thoroughly recommend to anyone planning a holiday on the Isle of Wight.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farochet
Rennes, France
1 review
“Just perfect”
Reviewed April 3, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Great place,you feel at home and you are right on the center of a little lovely town.The owners are simply amazing ready to help with every little things.Definitely we would spread the word and go back as soon as we can.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kazza502
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just Perfect .... Can't wait to stay here again!”
Reviewed October 2, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Booked a long weekend with hubby. Couldn't ask for a better place to stay in Cowes. Fabulous apartment in a perfect location. The sun even shone all weekend :) . The owner has thought of absolutely everything. The property is well equipped, stylishly decorated, clean and the main living area is spacious, light, just beautiful ..... a real home from home. Parking is just a 5 minute walk away in chargeable open air car park, but safe to leave vehicle there overnight. Property is close to everything you need, great pubs, restaurants, quaint shops and sea. Hope to visit IoW again next year and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else. I've already recommended to a friend, who saw photos I'd posted on Facebook.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole W
Tenby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Provides what is says on the tin”
Reviewed August 31, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We enjoyed our stay – the flat was well equipped and comfortable, and very convenient for Redjet ferry, shops and eating places. The bonus for me was that it was just a 5-minute walk to Northwood Park House where the start and finish of the Isle of Wight Challenge were situated. Having completed the 106 kilometres, it was good to be so close to a warm bath and breakfast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The central location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing