We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rude staff”
Review of The Fountain Inn

The Fountain Inn
Ranked #40 of 62 Restaurants in Cowes
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“rude staff”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

if you point out dirty cutlery and get a muttered aside and rolled eyes, and then pull them up on it and get raised voices and snotty comebacks, you know the staff attitude to actual complaints would be truly terrible; typical pub grub for ok prices considering prime location; needs redecorating; it would be average all in all if not for rude waitresses

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hardtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    60
    39
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sandown, isle of wight
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food, slow orders & no baby changing”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We ate here because it was the nearest place & we were starving. The food was surprisingly good, but it took ages to get it. The service was friendly. Biggest disappointment was that it was supposed to be family friendly - children's menu, highchairs, but had no baby changing facility, and there isn't one anywhere nearby.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lottielou123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
401 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

See main review , it has all the details you will neeed . on the quayside ,,,,,fantastic place to be.......would go back

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sexyrexyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Refused Pudding”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

A party of four ate here late evening around 9pm, we were seated in the dining area of the pub away from the bar area the bar person said the drinks would be brought to the table but 15 minutes later still no drinks we had to remind the bar staff we were waiting for drinks and still waiting to order food, our starters and main courses eventually came after around 30 minute intervals, still poor drinks service is this a restaurant ? then the ultimate failure in service came when we asked to see the desert menu we were told sorry the kitchen staff have finished for the night ! having spent around £100 so far we demanded to speak to management but alas no manager was on site, we politely pointed out that we expected a considerable discount as this had put a real damper on the evening, hey presto desert was now available ??
This establishment on this particular evening was being run by young inexperienced staff I hope they get their act together in future to improve the service.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nellcaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed at the Fountain Inn B&B last weekend and I must say I was quite impressed with the restaurant. I Had a steak for dinner one night and it was cooked to perfection. I also had breakfast the next day and was equally impressed with the quality of the food. Staff were efficient and polite at all times.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toufers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fountain Inn also viewed

Cowes, Isle of Wight
Cowes, Isle of Wight
 
Cowes, Isle of Wight
Cowes, Isle of Wight
 
Cowes, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Fountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing