We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not return”
Review of Lugleys of Cowes - CLOSED

Lugleys of Cowes
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Relaxed Elegant Restaurant with seaviews offering Morning Coffee,Lunches & Sunday Lunches,Afternoon Tea,Dinner and Bar drinks/snacks......ALL WELCOMEWe also Cater for Private parties large or small inc Weddings
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Will not return”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We arrived early so decided to have a drink outside, a good idea until the waitress decided to plonk herself next to us and have a cigarette!! YUCK!!!

The restaurant itself is actually quite nice, simple décor not too fussy.

I ordered a monkfish curry and my husband ordered sea bass fillet. Were given complimentary bread and homemade humous. The bread was not homemade and actually we saw a member of staff arrive back from the Co-op with bags of bread.....not good!! Does this place not have a back door?! The staff really should use and find it!

I ordered the curry having the asked the waitress whether it was a coconutty and she said it was, sort of like a mild green curry. Great! This is not was arrived. I had a red, tomato-ey curry. Anyway, I persevered.....

I wasn't great, couldn't tell I was eating monkfish, very bland and overpowered by the sauce. Pancetta was cut into such small pieces I couldn't get any taste from them either. Pointless balsamic dressing....on a curry?!?!!? Also ordered a side of chips.....waaaay too much salt for my liking, why couldn't the main dish have been seasoned like this?

Husbands food wasn't much better either, again balsamic dressing all over the plate, didn't taste of a great deal.

All in all not a great meal and could have spent £40 elsewhere!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cmsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte v, Manager at Lugleys of Cowes, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Sorry you did not enjoy your meal with us.
I think the fact you thought a waitress had sat next to you smoking probably set your mind thought for the rest of your experience and I would feel the same.
I have checked with staff and cctv to see who it was and in fact this young lady does not work for us although I can see why you may have been mistaken being as she wears a very similar uniform and had actually just finished work and called in for a drink.
Sincere apologies

Charlotte Venables
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    13
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Slow service and over ambitious”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The dining rooms are nicely laid out and the menu looks interesting. However it is over ambitious and some of the dishes do not quite work. They give the impression the chef has just graduated from catering college and is trying too hard. They should make dishes simpler and concentrate on the quality of the ingredients (which were good). Service was slow but this could be because it was a Monday early in the season. The location is very good with nice views out to the water and an outside eating area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank vch01oct2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautifully presented and interesting food!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Our first visit to this restaurant which is situated on Cowes front so you can see the yachts, ferries and red jets coming and going! We chose from the set evening menu (3 choices on each course) and found it very good value. Everything was delicious, and beautifully presented, service just right from the nice smiley staff! The restaurant is pleasantly decorated and very comfortable with easy chairs as well as the dining areas. We will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happyislandlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Will be returning very soon”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

New to the cowes area and went for a walk with my wife on a nice evening and come across this place the food was far better than expected. There where only a few tables in so atmosphere was quiet and relaxed. Staff very welcoming nice touch with the homemade Turkish delight with the bill. Will defiantly be bak and highly recommend...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott1976m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

we had a 3 course meal and it was lovely. service was brilliant. and it had a great atmosphere. i had an offer for the restaurant which made it a bargin but i would go back and opay full price any day.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tasha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lugleys of Cowes also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing