We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Christmas Lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2010

We had a family Boxing Day meal here and I think we all enjoyed ourselves.

I would describe the food as traditional and somewhat unadventurous. Having said that, what we had was fine and there was no complaints from us lot.

Service was friendly and attentive.

The dining room has a lovely setting overlooking the The Solent.

Easy parking.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eclipsemullet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 390 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2010

We really can't fault this hotel. We stayed for three nights from Dec 23. The regular table d'hote dinner was excellent and the food and service just got better culminating in a fabulous Christmas Day lunch. The manager and his whole team made us feel so welcome and went out of their way to deliver top quality service. Even though we were the only guests wanting to go to Midnight Mass on Christmas Eve, the manager took us in his car and was waiting to take us back to the hotel after the service. There was a great friendly atmosphere in the hotel. There are fantastic views of ships making their way to/from Southampton. Cowes has some interesting shops. nWe look forward to a return visit. Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter36mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

The friendly porfessional service was great,. we were made very welcome.
Just the right level of service not too intrusive, but always there if you needed anything.
I was recovering from an op and we wanted somewhere cosy, warm & comfortable where I could sit and chill/read etc - while my husband could walk our dog and watch the shipping go by which was fascinating if you' re an old sea dog!

Bedroom was very comfortable.
Consistently good food.
For just sitting about we loved the communal sitting areas some with picture windows looking out to sea.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flickselway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenBoyBarMan, Bar Manager & Reception Supervisor at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2010

Thank you very much, glad you enjoyed your stay with us & we hope you are recovering well. Hope to see you sometime in the New Year.

Kind Regards
Team Holmwood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

A very warm welcome from Carol started a great stay. My room was warm and comfortable. The resturant very well managed by Cheryl was of a very high standard and the food was excellent. It was so refreshing to eat in a hotel resturant all week with a beautiful view, good food, not observe one resident wearing a baseball cap, woolly hat over the ears or sunglasses on top of the head ( on a dull day ) at the table. Thank you to all the staff, lets hope you maintain this high standard.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

the bedrooms are maybe a little tired for the young(ish) metropolitan, but everything works, the public rooms are lovely, a nice atmosphere and friendly, helpful staff. fantastic views over the solent watching the cruise liners from southampton.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
Thank Roow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We booked a short break across to the Isle of Wight and decided after reading the reviews here, to give the Holmwood a try - Very glad we did! Arrived on the island early and kept on the western side, then checked in late afternoon. They had a wedding reception going on, which they advised us of my mail once we booked two weeks ago. We were little worried about possible noise, however we didnt hear any at all from our room. The room it self was large with a large King bed, and little touches like 2 bottles of water, chocolate's on the pillows, choice of tea/coffee/hot choc - and a super nice powerfull shower...really nice, with all the bathroom accessories you might need. We booked room only as we thought the breakfast would be full with the wedding guests, and found it a short walk (waterfront) into pretty cowes which has lots of places to eat. Checked out at midday and spent the last day exploring the eastern half of IOW....lovely break!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMatt75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for six days - I was working she was relaxing. The food at the hotel is very good indeed even thogh they cook their bacon too much for me! Once told of course they did it exactly to my liking.
The bar is cosy and well stocked, the view from the restaurant is wonderful, the room was large warm and clean - even the water in the bath comes out fast - better than a dribble in many other hotels - yes I can be picky!
The thing that stood out most, is the staff - attentive, very friendly and seem really happy in their work, even the cleaners!
A great hotel - I will be back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MapManEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.6 mi away
North House
North House
#1 of 5 in Cowes
89 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
926 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cowes
97 reviews
11.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western New Holmwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western New Holmwood Hotel

Address: Queens Road | Egypt Point, Cowes PO31 8BW, England (Formerly Best Western New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range: $121 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western New Holmwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western New Holmwood Hotel is situated at Egypt Point in Cowes on the Isle of Wight, home to a multitude of world famous yachting events. The hotel offers fantastic panoramic views across the solent from its public areas with the enchanting town of Cowes being only a 15 - 20 minute walk along the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western New Holmwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel And Restaurant
Best Western Cowes
Cowes Best Western
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing