We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic short break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
slough, uk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic short break”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Super hotel, comfortable and welcoming, with a wonderful seafront location.
Stayed one night and had a meal in the restaurant - which topped off the perfect evening, food was delicious! Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeandwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holmwood C, Front Office Manager at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your short break with us, and also that you would recommend our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.

Kind Regards
Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    109
    18
    7
    4
See reviews for
82
147
10
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Arrived quite late in the evening when it was dark so didnt get a first impression of the outside.
check in was painless they had all my details at hand. My room was outstanding with a stunning view of the beach and the ships in the solent.
the bar and waitress staff were first class, very friendly and nice.
My evening meal and breakfast was faultless with very generous portions.
Well done Holmwood. Top marks.
" I will be back "

Room Tip: A sea view is good .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holmwood C, Front Office Manager at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review.

Your comments have been passed on to the staff, who are always pleased to hear such kind words.

We are glad that you enjoyed your room with its sea views and all the ships that sail by.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the island.

Kind Regards
Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

I had booked my wife and her maid of honour into the hotel for the night before our wedding on the 6th December 2013; not only just a room but a suite costing £140.00 for one night. I enquired at the hotel in person about whether she was fine to get ready for our wedding there and whether others would be allowed to visit to do her hair and make up etc which was confirmed would be fine. At this time I also asked if they could have late checkout as the wedding was at 1.30pm which was also confirmed as long as they checked out by 1.00pm. When I took my wife down to the hotel I double checked about the late checkout to which was told that nothing was written on the booking however the receptionist said that it shouldn't be a problem and wrote a note next to the booking.

The next morning on the 7th December I got a call from my father in law informing me that there had been a change in plan for the morning and that my wife would no longer be getting ready at the new holmwood due to them denying a late checkout. Therefore what was supposed to be a planned stress free morning turned into a nightmare, having to try and find somewhere for them to get ready, rearranging the hair and make up ladies and then rearranging the pre-booked transport of which all of the contact number were not with her and therefore a bridesmaid had to wait outside the hotel to inform people of the new location.

After speaking to my wife the next day I am appalled to know that the service she received was atrocious. She was extremely hurt by the way she was treated by the lady at reception, as you can imagine was very upset to then be told 'there's no point crying!' By the lady on the reception desk while she was trying to make new arrangements. After speaking to her father who was now having to find a new location, the receptionist said she would check if a later checkout could be possible to come back with a sarcastic reply of "I suppose you can stay until 12.00pm" which still was not good enough as they still needed somewhere for the next hour before the ceremony at 1.30pm. Had she not gone to pay for an additional breakfast she would be none the wiser and been halfway through getting ready before being kicked out! I booked online and placed in all my card detail and therefore thought that the hotel had been paid for however this was not the case and my wife got another shock at having to find she needed to find £140.00 to pay which luckily she had a credit card on her but again the way in which the receptionist spoke to her was very poor. I understand that this was an over site by myself but your staff could have handled the situation better. From the time she arrived until the time she left there was only 1 gentleman who was helpful on reception who couldn't have done more but it just makes the rest look worse. While carrying in her dress and all of her belongings there were four employees on the doors waiting for the Christmas parties to arrive and not one of them even opened the doors as they walked up the stairs, they all watched her and her friend struggle and the laughed when they walked in the door and said 'sorry I guess we should have opened the doors'.

As a final blow after rearranging for everything to be move to a new location as my wife left the hotel she was told "oh I suppose you can stay till 1pm" but by this time everything had been removed from the suite.

Seriously, having stayed in a number of different hotels around the world, neither me nor my wife have received such poor service which is made worse by the fact that it was our wedding day which is supposed to be one of the best days of our lives which was ruined by the unnecessary stress that was incurred during the mornings fiasco.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank coochy070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holmwood C, Front Office Manager at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We are devastated to read the above review. This situation has been placed under immediate investigation and the guest contacted directly.

Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Excellent location, only across the road from the sea. To wake up and look out at the sea, your set up for the day. Superb food both dinner and breakfast. Very helpful staff Good feel hotel, will return asap.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holmwood C, Front Office Manager at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind review.

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated our location and the views that go with it. Your comments have been passed on to all the staff and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This cosy, friendly hotel is across the road from the beach, towards the edge of town (so quiet) and within walking distance of the main town of Cowes. Best thing is they allow dogs, even my 3 over-excited dogs! We had a family birthday and the staff were brilliant. There is a wonderful, sunny lounge overlooking the front and a beautiful terrace with sea views.

Highly recommended for families and dogs.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room above reception, overlooking the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holmwood C, Front Office Manager at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind review.

We are very much a dog friendly hotel and try to make them feel just as at home as the customers!

We count ourselves very lucky to be in the position that we are, with the sea views in a quiet end of Cowes, but with the town only being a short walk away.

We look forward to welcoming you (and the dogs) back soon.

Kind Regards
Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Staff were very nice and we received an upgrade. The hotel is a fair walk from the Fast cat service from the main land and will take approx 25 -30 mins to walk to. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was ok, but view over the water were beautiful. The breakfast area does need upgrading though compared to other Great Westerns i have stayed at. I would stay again but felt was over priced.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank kelly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holmwood C, Front Office Manager at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased that you appreciated your free upgrade to a sea view room, which we always try to do if one is available. Although the restaurant has recently been redecorated we are looking into modernising other features of this area and have taken your comments on board.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to the island.

Kind Regards
Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

a last minute trip to the Isle of Wight and this dog friendly hotel was great. The IOW is always a bit expensive but we had a great dinner £24 for 3 courses of A1 quality. Handy private parking, right on the sea. Friendly staff who were very helpful.

Room Tip: Book early as only a small number of rooms have a sea view, the rest are quite dark as there are bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Holmwood C, Front Office Manager at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for your kind review.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have passed your comments onto our kitchen team regarding your meal, who are delighted to hear that you found it to be A1 quality.

We hope to see you on your next trip to the island.

Kind Regards
Cheryl Hickey
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
12.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
0.6 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
55 reviews
11.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
725 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
340 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western New Holmwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western New Holmwood Hotel

Property: Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Address: Queens Road | Egypt Point, Cowes PO31 8BW, England (Formerly Best Western New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western New Holmwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western New Holmwood Hotel is situated at Egypt Point in Cowes on the Isle of Wight, home to a multitude of world famous yachting events. The hotel offers fantastic panoramic views across the solent from its public areas with the enchanting town of Cowes being only a 15 - 20 minute walk along the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western New Holmwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel And Restaurant
Best Western Cowes
Cowes Best Western
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing