We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights on business 8-9th April 2013. The hotel is located opposite the beach and the views from the restaurent accross the water are splendid. I was in Room 4 which is located at the rear of the property so no sea view for me. However, this suited me as it was quiet. Roooms are well apportioned with bottled water provided and mints on pillows for arrival. The food was excellent. It is £23 for a set 3 course meal in the restaurent but they will reduce to a 2 course for £20. It takes about 10 minutes to walk into Cowes but the walk is pleasant with a good paved path along the esplanade. On my last trip I stayed in Ryde in the town centre which I found to be noisy caused by traffiic and early morning deliveries. No such problems at this hotel. All staff were very helpful, polite and pleasant.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sedgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
There are newer reviews for Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 380 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

Having stayed at New Holmwood for several weeks on business I have found the staff most helpful, courteous and very diligent in their service delivery. A true representative of the expectation of any visitor. Nothing is to difficult and every request is completed with an enthusiastic approach towards you having the most enjoyable time. If every hotel was like this, it would be called home.....!!!

Room Tip: New Holmwood doesn't have a fitness suit or swimming pool but if it did it would be excellent...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We are fairly regular visitors for the Sunday Carvery. This is surely the best value meal to be had on the Isle Of Wight. Marvellous food and service with a wonderful view out across the Solent. The members of staff ensure each guest feels at home.
On an overnight stay, to celebrate our Pearl Wedding Anniversary, we got what we expected - a magnificent time.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little extra to overlook the Solent.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spent one night at the New Holmwood on a weekday at the beginning of March - so well out of season.
The hotel is right on the sea front in a lovely location. Be warned it takes longer to walk from the Red Ferry port than would seem to be the case from Google maps!
Was upgraded and my room was spacious, clean and nice - dual aspect with sea views.
Room service and breakfast were both good, despite being out of season.
My only complaint about my room is that the tea-making facilities and hairdryer were both crammed into one corner of a large room so although the room was spacious is felt cramped to make tea and to dry my hair.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BexW150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Have just returned from a two night break, one of the hotels special offer including ferry and DBB. We stayed in room 11 an upgrade from the standard room. The room was lovely and large great sea view the only problem was the en suite there was a terrible draft from the window we did tell the staff and they tried to solve the problem. The only way this problem could be solved is by having a new double glazed window. The staff was fantastic and the food was very good but the problem with the window did let it down, nothing worse then having a shower/bath in a freezing cold bathroom, especially as we had paid extra for an up grade. I did appreciate the weather was not good when we were there but I find it very hard no one had complained about it before.

Room Tip: Make sure room 11 has had a replacement en suite window or the weather is not windy!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jarman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

First time to the Isle of Wight and even with some dodgy weather, we had a great time. The hotel obviously played a part in this.
Good location at Cowes facing the Solent with ocean going ships passing close by. A bit of a walk into town. 20 minutes, but its flat.
The hotel staff are brilliant. The lady on reception dealt with a slight snag on day one and the restaurant staff provided some friendly banter at both breakfast and dinner. Better than everyone sitting in silence and not engaging with each other. Couldn't fault the food. Dined here on two evenings and had breakfast each morning. Kitchen staff are up to speed.
To cap it all we!!! left a small, well slightly small item of luggage. David telephoned us on the way home to advise the parcel would be in the post asap.
Would definitely stay here again.
Well done Best Western.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view but be aware there are only about 7. Don't let this put you off.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Last Sunday 3rd March we decided to go the the New Holmwood for Lunch. We had not booked and the restaurant was full. The waitress asked us if we would like to eat in the lounge over looking the Solent. The three course meal was delicious the service was excellent, a perfect Sunday afternoon . We shall be eating there again very soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Madge_Parsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
12.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
877 reviews
0.6 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
66 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
10.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cowes
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western New Holmwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western New Holmwood Hotel

Address: Queens Road | Egypt Point, Cowes PO31 8BW, England (Formerly Best Western New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range: $118 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western New Holmwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western New Holmwood Hotel is situated at Egypt Point in Cowes on the Isle of Wight, home to a multitude of world famous yachting events. The hotel offers fantastic panoramic views across the solent from its public areas with the enchanting town of Cowes being only a 15 - 20 minute walk along the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western New Holmwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel And Restaurant
Best Western Cowes
Cowes Best Western
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing