We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service and clean but dated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Above sums it up really, hotel is dated and in some places not in best repair, but its very clean and the staff are great, and the location is fab, the terrace espcially. And on a perticular note, the evening food was fantastic, we had the 3 course set menu and as a chef myself im hard to please, however on this occasion I was, the breakfasts were not as good but ok. Would generally say its worth a go though, we would go back if we went to cowes again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SammyCornwallUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 390 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed at the Holmwood because my sister was married and had her reception there. The hotel has a nice warm, family feel about it, but with all the professional touches that you would expect from a good hotel.
The wedding went very smoothly and the food at the reception was excellent with very attentive waiting staff.
Our room was overlooking the sea and was clean and comfortable with a good array of toiletries, bottled water and tea/coffee facilities. It also came with a trouser press and hairdryer. My husband thought the decor choice slightly old-fashioned, but it was in-keeping with the age and style of hotel.
Breakfast was delicious with a good choice of cereals and pastries through to scrambeled eggs with smoked salmon or the obligatory full English. My kids were delighted with the freshly made pancakes.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone considering a stay or as a potential wedding location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freshpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

From the moment you walk into the hotel you are made to feel very welcome. The sea facing rooms are great with wonderful views of the ships which pass by. The bedroom was very large and spotlessly clean with everything you need including sweets! The food in the restauarent was excellent under the guidance of the manager Kathy. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancesandStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenBoy123, Bar Manager/ Reception Supervisor at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2011

Thank you very much, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Den
Bar Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

The hotel bedroom over looked the beach and solent. First impression was that it appeared tired and in need of over haul. Signs of paper starting to lift from ceiling, tiling grout needing attention etc. But having said this it was clean, with decent sheets on bed and all the normal touches such as coffee making and bottled water on bed side tables.
The food in the restaurant is excellent with brilliant staff and the bar and lounges relaxing. What really sells this hotel to us, on top of the friendly staff is its location. Literally on the beach, 10 minutes walk from west Cowes (stroll would be a better description). It is a great base for touring the Island. Being on the beach it is great for ship spoting although we noticed that the freeview tv and mobile phone signals were interferred with when ever a large ship went by. Shows how close they get to you.
We stayed on a 4 day extended weekend break which included ferry travel and food and the rate we got was just brilliant. Its stated as 4 star but is certainly not that but does its best to achieve and we would recommend it to anyone who only needs a bed and starting point for days tours. Word of warning, car park is small and tight as proved by the large scratch that appeared as if by magic doen the door of my car after a night in the car park. Try to park where no one else can get close to you.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarnaclebillLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenBoy123, Bar Manager/ Reception Supervisor at Best Western New Holmwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2011

Thank you for your review, we do listen to your feedback & comments to help us constantly improve. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. You will be pleased to hear that that nearly all rooms in the hotel have been redecorated with just a few remaining that are planned in the near future. We are a three star hotel but do endeavour to provide the highest standard of service.

Thanks again
Den
Reception Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

From the moment we booked, to the moment we left (reluctantly), nothing was too much trouble for each of the staff. A last minute decision to stay an extra night, a change in ferry schedule- all was dealt with perfectly.
Fia and Scott , and in turn Chef, dealt admirably with our fussy meal requirements, and the food was delicious.
We had an amazing stay and look forward to our next break at this lovely hotel with the very attentive and professional team.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EttyGafanatthenest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

I was in the Isle of Wight on business and arrived at the hotel at about 6pm, I was shown to room 11 which overlooked the sea, the first thing I noticed was that the fabric headboard had dodgy looking stains on it obviously where people rest their heads on it. I went tinto the bathroom and the huge sash window had no lock on it so could be opened up by anyone. Being a lone female traveller and the fact anyone could have got onto the fire escape bit by it I felt very vunerable and asked to change rooms.

The lady on reception looked at me as though I was being ridiculous by not feeling safe in it. I was then given room 15 which upon first sight looked better by then something caught my eye and there was blood stains on the sheets which looked fresh (I have photos) I called reception and they sent someone up and she tried to tell me it was make up! If there are stains on the outside of the sheets I dread to think what was lurking elsewhere.

She said they would change the sheets but I asked for a refund and got the hell outta there and booked into the Premier Inn in Newport - much better very clean.

It was not as if the New Holmwood was that cheap either, I got a special deal of £78 by booking and paying in advacnec so hardly a cheapie!

Stay away!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dollyshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Despite the mind-numbing cold of January, we had a good stay in Cowes and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The hotel is very well located: right opposite the beach and about a mile's walk from the ferry terminal. This is great news becaue it means you can travel here without having to bring your car onto the island! Our room was large, clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. The views were excellent. Admittedly the decor could do with a bit of an update, but it was nowherre near enough to put us off. We thoroughly expect to return in the summer, when there's a little more life to the town.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thingumy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.6 mi away
North House
North House
#1 of 5 in Cowes
89 reviews
12.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
926 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cowes
96 reviews
11.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western New Holmwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western New Holmwood Hotel

Address: Queens Road | Egypt Point, Cowes PO31 8BW, England (Formerly Best Western New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range: $120 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western New Holmwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western New Holmwood Hotel is situated at Egypt Point in Cowes on the Isle of Wight, home to a multitude of world famous yachting events. The hotel offers fantastic panoramic views across the solent from its public areas with the enchanting town of Cowes being only a 15 - 20 minute walk along the waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western New Holmwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel And Restaurant
Best Western Cowes
Cowes Best Western
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing