We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay at this house”
View across the Solent
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View across the Solent
Stunning Period Property Entrance hall with seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
View across the Solent
Stunning Period Property
Entrance hall with seating
Well equipped sitting room
Well equipped kitchen/breakfast room
Formal dining room with seating for 10
Master Bedroom with Balcony and sea view
Bedroom 1.  Can be king size double bed or twin singles
Bedroom 3.  Can be king size double bed or twin singles
Stunning Family bathroom with bath tub and separate shower cubicle
Ships ladder to the roof terrace
Bedroom 5 can be king size double beds or twin singles
Roof terrace with amazing panoramic views
Patio with dining for 10
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Cowes, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Leanne198...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay at this house”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stay at this house for 4 nights. It was a family holiday with our 2 year old , my husband , sister in law and grandad. The house is split over 4 floors so plenty of room so you don't feel on top of each other. There is 3 ensuite bathrooms which meant we all got our own bathroom to use . The owner gave us a cot and highchair. The only thing that bothered me was the stairs as I kept having to make sure my 2 yr old didn't go down them. If we had stairgates it would have been perfect. I didn't ask for them as we were out a lot of the time. Location to the high street is excellent!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2016
Delighted to read these guests gave this house such a good review. I appreciate the comments about the stairgate and will certainly look into providing one. The magnificent spiral staircase doesn't lend itself to the use of a child gate but a gate could be used across a doorway. The Holiday Rental Agreement which is approved and signed by the guest does refer to the staircase and the danger it might pose to a toddler if unsupervised.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dione B
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing House and views of Cowes”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have just had two nights staying at the Cliffhanger for a friends Hen Weekend. Excellent location and only 6 mins walk from the terminal. The house was amazing and every room in the house was of a very high standard. The best views at the top of the house. Great outdoor space in the yard with lovely seating to enjoy the IOW Sun shine. Would highly recommend this house. Look forward to visiting the house next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views at the top of the house
Liked least: Climbing the stairs
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2016
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buxtonfam...
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We love this house.”
Reviewed March 8, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We spent a weekend at Cliffhanger for our mother's 80th birthday. As soon as we let ourselves in we knew we were going to love the house and we weren't disappointed when we'd explored from top to bottom - even getting mum up the ladder to the roof terrace so she could see the amazing view. It is fresh, bright and spotlessly clean, has a warm and comfortable feel to it, and is the perfect blend of modern decor with period features. The kitchen had everything in it that we needed and every room was a pleasure to spend time in. In short, we loved the house and would recommend it whole heartedly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staircase, views, lovely warm feeling.
Liked least: Neighbour's car parked on the drive when we arrived! Had to unload in the street.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2016
I am thrilled to hear you loved Cliffhanger and hope your mum had a wonderful 80th birthday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cerri S
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What an amazing house!”
Reviewed October 20, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed here for one night in October and were so impressed with this property. The house was immaculately presented with great attention to detail but felt welcoming and homely. We all loved this house the bedrooms were well appointed and comfortable with storage space for clothes and the family bathroom was amazing.

The owner was helpful and answered my queries quickly and left a welcome pack including some lovely chocolate biscuits.

The roof terrace views were fantastic and we had a wonderful stay. Cannot recommend this property enough you will fall in love with it just like we did.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was great but the house was amazing.
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 21, 2015
Thank you so much for this fantastic review. I hope these guests will come again soon and stay longer than one night.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“There could not be a better house in Cowes”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We were two large families .One family from Germany and four of our "gang" -our two boys and their wives.
The house was great for entertaining our large group. All the rooms were more appointed than expected all en suite.The views were sensational especially from the roof terrace.
We were blessed with great summer weather and were able to use the patio area (as well as the nearby beach. )
In summary this is a large house . ...better than home and would recommend it to any large party

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bedrooms
Liked least: The key entry code box
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 28, 2015
I am so pleased these guests enjoyed their stay and took the trouble to return a pillow case which they had packed amongst their possessions in error. I hope they will book Cliffhanger again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surely the best house in Cowes”
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I organised a celebratory weekend for a group of 9, and could not have stayed in a better house! Firstly, the location is perfect; just a 5 minute walk from the ferry terminal. The house itself was simply brilliant - All the rooms were great/spacious (ie there was no 'short straw' room, which is rare!) which Chris very kindly set up as twin rooms as opposed to double beds for us - great views from most of the rooms too. Shower queuing was also not an issue thanks to plenty of en-suites! The roof terrace was incredible - thankfully we had good weather which meant we spent considerable time up there! It must have the best views of any house in Cowes, with the terrace having a higher vantage point than any other building we could see. There was not one complaint about anything from any of the group all weekend - I think that says it all! It really is one of the best holiday houses I have ever stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views / roof terrace
Liked least: Poor wifi signal, but cannot be helped in multi-floor property
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 7, 2015
Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to read how much you liked the house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FTsotn
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“How to impress your friends...”
Reviewed March 17, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

...Invite them here for the weekend!
This was my second visit to the house, both occasions for a birthday weekend, and once again it did not disappoint.
You can't do better for location in Cowes and that view from the roof terrace... stunning! Sadly March isn't the best time of year to enjoy it unless you're from Scotland and well accustomed to the chilly spring weather. Nevertheless if it rained all weekend I'd happily stay inside.
The little touches that were there made it all the more special - fresh flowers, milk in the fridge, a local paper and some biscuits :-)
We're currently looking for another excuse to come back as there aren't any big birthdays coming up but I'm sure we'll find a reason.

Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 18, 2015
I greatly appreciate these kind comments. The weather wasn't great but hopefully when enjoying the view from the roof terrace the visitors saw the Britannia, as the new P&O cruise liner passed in front of the house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing