We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent caravan park.”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Caravan/mobile home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Cowes, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Terriger
Solihull
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

For a 4 star rating my daughter and I were expecting something special. The caravans were badly in need of cleaning. The exteriors were covered in green algae and grass overdue for cutting. The interior was OK for an old van but again badly in need of a thorough spring clean. The toilet seat was broken. The quilts were very well worn. The laundry was full of dead insects and the usage costs were misleading. To sum up the site was badly neglected. The owner decided to power wash the caravan whilst we were still in it 2 hours before our checking out time. Apparently this was due to someone coming to view it. I was not happy at being sprayed whilst I attempted to pack our car. I certainly would not stay here again or recommend it.

Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 7, 2013
This park is rated a 4 star park and has been for at least 10 years, we had our grading this year on 12th September, the representative arrives unannounced and stated in his report “Sunnycott Caravan Park offers a most peaceful and tranquil location which suits its chosen market very well. A well maintained park with attentive owners”
With regard to the usage costs in the Laundry, the cost of using the washing machine is £3.00 for 180 minutes and has been for the past 9 years.
The grass does need a cut, but with the recent weather this has not been possible.
The Caravan is not an old Caravan but was purchased from new in 2005, and has been well maintained, with regard to the toilet seat there is 1 screw missing which will be replaced.
The Caravan was presented to the customer in immaculate condition as we always do. also quoted from the grading “internally of those seen present well with very good housekeeping standards noted”
There was some algae on the exterior of the Caravan which was why we were power washing it, not because we had any complaints, i asked the customer what time they were checking out and they said 10am, we certainly did not start cleaning it at 8am.
The Caravan was left covered in dog hairs despite a vacuum cleaner in the laundry for customers use and took 2 hours to clean. I would suggest that this is not the ideal site for this particular customer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melanie H
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Caravan Number 11”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We have just spent two amazing weeks on the Isle of Wight. The weather was fantastic and the island was full of things to do. The beaches were Devine and well maintained.
We too were greeted very warmly on arrival. The site was not overly manicured but representative of its rural location.

I was so dissapointed when I entered the caravan. The first thing that caught our attention was a filthy rug. I wiped over the dining table with a cloth and it was black with dirt. We could not use the quilts and pillows as they were covered in dog hairs as was the entire caravan. If we had not had our grandson with us we would have demanded our money back. It took us two days to get the van clean enough to live in. We pulled the vacuum out to try to pick up the hairs but that made the air smell like vomit an also was covered in dog hairs. We spent a fortune on new bedding and covers to cover the furniture so we could sit on them.
We mentioned this and was told the owner takes care of the cleaning for that van. However we booked with the site and they should check before letting it out.
This van is up for sale however if they are going to take money from people they need to invest in it.

Other people have had the opposite experience. I can only assume they have had a different van. Maybe on booking you should ask the number of the van and avoid number 11.
We will be back to the Isle of Wight but not to this site.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 13, 2013
Hi Nigel

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay here at sunnycott, however i am disapointed that you did not let me know when you moved in that the Caravan was not clean, if you had i would of course have moved you into another Caravan, the reason i do not check that Caravan is because the owners have been cleaning it for the 2 years they have owned it and i have never had a complaint before about the standard. We always encourage customers to let us know of any problems, as without knowing, we cannot resolve the issues.
Regards
Jenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa S
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent caravan park.”
Reviewed August 3, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Stayed for a week,could not fault a thing, everything you need is there. A quiet caravan site apart from the cows mooing in the field behind us, every morning which we loved...lol. And a glorious view across fields to the sea. Caravan was very clean and well equipped, even down to a tea.towel and washing up liquid. Thank you for a lovely stay, will definately be back at some point..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet, the moo cows gonna miss them
Liked least: Going home.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonybev18
lancashire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a brilliant caravan park and owners”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

we booked our caravan at sunnycott to prolong our stay on the isle of wight as we had stayed the previous week in a cottage just down the road from the site
jenny the owner was very helpful and friendly when we booked in and also throughout our stay
the caravan site consists of twenty caravans most with decking alongside and the site is immaculately clean
,,the caravan we stayed in was excellent,well equipped and was spotlessly clean on our arrival
we also had our two working cockers with us and feeding and water bowls were provided along with with some dog biscuits and some doggy waste bags which was a nice thought
there is a laundrette with drying and ironing facilities on the site, in the office there is a small shop which is based on an honesty book, where you pay for what you have taken at the end of your stay.
i can really recommend this site if you want a nice quiet holiday, but do not want to be too far away from the beaches,local pub, or town
the local pub is a short walk from the site and both the staff and the locals are very friendly and welcoming
,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: quality of the site and the helpful owner jenny
Liked least: leaving to come home on a sunny day
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pete A
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Couldn't be faulted”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

This is a relatively small, quite quiet site (although not visited in school holiday time I admit). The site is well laid out with ample space between caravans, but we were able to chat to neighbours easily if we so desired. It is apparent that a number of the caravans are privately owned, which seems to enhance the friendly atmosphere. We are both bikers but it made no difference to the warm welcome received, (unlike some places).
We obviously hired a small van (2/4 berth) but it was well equipped with everything we needed. The bed was extremely comfortable so that this meant that, coupled with the peaceful environment we both slept really well. Shower, cooking facilities, TV, radio were excellent. Didn't try any heating as the weather was really hot !
The owners of the site are extremely helpful and friendly, without being intrusive. They run a little convenience facility on site which meant we could get everything we needed, without feeling we were paying over the odds. They always seemed to be available when we needed any help or information, and genuinely seemed to want us to enjoy the Island.
The owners bought to our attention the path to the beach which is a pleasant shaded walk, (important on a very hot day) and an equally pleasant walk across the fields to the local pub which served very reasonable food and excellent beer.
Altogether we thoroughly enjoyed our stay except wished we had booked a full week rather than the three days. Great site and fabulous weather - what more could you want.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly, peaceful atmosphere and fabulous weather - but well equipped if weather had been poor.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gogandaun...
felixstowe
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“very peaceful and comfortable stay”
Reviewed April 17, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Having never stayed in a static caravan before I wasn't sure what to expect but had built up an idea in my head.I can happily say that this was MUCH better than expected.

I found the owner Jenny very helpful and friendly.The caravans are well kept and maintained

The caravan had everything I needed and I would recommend Sunnycott to anyone.I would stay here again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: nothing really
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H
Hants.
1 review
“Peaceful and friendly”
Reviewed January 9, 2013 for a stay in August 2012

Although we arrived late in the evening we received a warm and helpful welcome from Jen.
The booking process was easy and the site and accommodation was as described. It is a peaceful site yet close to Cowes and Newport. We had a lovely stay and the hire of the beach hut was a bonus. We will definitely return.
RJH

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing