We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful treat for foodies”
Review of Number 3

Number 3
Ranked #7 of 62 Restaurants in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: An intimate restaurant tucked away in the old town of Cowes.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful treat for foodies”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

My mother recommended this restaurant for my wife and me as an anniversary treat. I must say that treat was the word. My wife had prawns on crab mousse which was very nice, light but flavoursome. I had the scallops which were cooked to perfection.
Main course for Mrs R-W was gurnard (sp?) Which she loved, whilst I had monkfish which again was moist, fresh and wonderfully cooked.
Mrs R-W rounded of her meal with a white chocolate pannacotta which was devine.
The people running number 3 obviously enjoy what they do and despite one of the most vile, homophobic, narcissistic, rasist little turds that I have ever met turning up....they still managed to keep a friendly and relaxed atmosphere about the place...a credit to their passion.
We left the restaurant happy and full and highly recommend anyone that has a passion for food share in the experience of number 3.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Atoshroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    46
    7
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely fish restaurant”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We visited Number 3 during our recent holiday in Cowes having read the good reviews. And we were very pleased we did as this little place is a real find. It's small (about 8 tables in all) and has a lovely rustic feel inside, very relaxed and informal. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the menus are written on small blackboards and brought to your table. The 'I love Wight water' bottles are a lovely touch as well.

The menu is predominantly fish but there are one or two meat dishes. Some of the menu choices were quite unusual - I had fillet of sea bass with mango and ginger for main - but everything we had was delicious. The portions weren't huge which made it nice and easy to manage three courses - the white chocolate panna cotta was to die for.

Very good value as well - 3 courses for 3 people plus a bottle of wine was just £90 - we will definitely return when we are next in Cowes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, UK
Level Contributor
319 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, good food, good value”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

A manageable fish-focused menu with some very nice inventive dishes, which delivered some great flavours. My scallops starter was tasty and generous, the sea bass in lemongrass sauce was both unusual and delicious, and the rhubarb mousse was light and fruity. Decent wine list and not too expensive. Bill for three was a reasonable £80 and the couple running the place were friendly and pleasant. Not particularly busy on the Sunday night we dined, but it should be! Nice venue, central location and will deffo eat there the next time I happen to be in Cowes. I hope it does well, it deserves to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delightful evening”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This restaurant has a limited but excellent a la carte menu. We 3 were the first to arrive on Sunday evening and there wasn't any problem regarding gluten free dining. The menu consisted mainly of fish dishes and lamb,and the sea bass with spicy lemon sauce was lovely. We were given a bottle of chilled water and we ordered one bottle of wine from the list which tended to be relatively expensive. However the food was very well cooked and presented and we enjoyed the experience overall.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HampshireVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Courtenay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely small restaurant”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

A relatively small menu but beautifully cooked food. We both had fish for our main course which was perfectly done. The deserts are absolutely yummy! Very reasonable prices for the quality of cooking.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number 3 also viewed

 

Been to Number 3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing