We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Chowder!”
Review of The Union Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Union Inn
Ranked #7 of 28 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2013

A lovely and friendly place to eat. The seafood chowder is a great surprise! It was delicious. The staff are friendly.
It's worth a visit if you visit Cowes.
We didn't stay at the inn but had lunch on the pub.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcdreamer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
There are newer reviews for The Union Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 143 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

Popped in for a drink on Sunday afternoon, it wasn't too crowded and we were able to get a table straight away. Great service from the two girls on the bar. The drinks were well priced, and the lines were clean - great beer!! Food was lovely, and didn't take long to arrive. Big portions from a chef that obviously takes pride in his job. Presentation was outstanding!

Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seanwtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Union Inn gave us a lovely room: modern British decor, rain shower, good firm mattress and a charming view. It's also a proper local, with a cozy interior, well-pulled pints, proper pub food, personable staff, a lovely full English in the morning and, yes, the noise from midnight to 2 am. And a little pricy at £109, but then it's Cowes. We expected the price and noise both, though (what else will you have when you stay directly above a pub), and would happily stay again - in fact hope to do so, soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kennington H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Can in for a quick snack which turned into 3 course, this place has came a long which since it was taken over. Amazing specials had a chat with the chef mike and he is doing a great job. Makes a change to See places growing in cowes I will be returning and look forward to it. Great job keep it up

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteveJ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Close to the seafront, this quirky Inn has a lot to offer. My bedroom had lots of appeal and was well decorated in a quirky kind of way. Tea/coffee with some water and home made biscuits were good to see in the room. Bed was comfortable and amazingly it was quiet. It was a hot hot day and I thought so much had been thoughtfully put in the room surely there would be a fan - and thank goodness there was as no air conditioning. I slept well. The only reason I am not giving this a four is that I thought the food was average. Not a great choice and could have been better. Breakfast better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaRz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We were in Cowes for a wedding with our two young ones, and the staff could not have been more accommodating. We had forgotten our baby monitor, and they said it was the sort of thing which would be useful, and went out and bought one for us to use!
Aside from that, really good food and well kept beer in a proper pub. Rooms really nice, and no noise from the bar in the evenings. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I can see that a lot of effort has been made to ensure the rooms above this pub are of a very high standard. Sadly, the finer points are greatly lacking.

We were greeted by a polite and friendly member of staff who took us to our room.
The room was unbearably hot, but during a heat wave, that can be forgiven.
The room was very small, but adequate for what we needed.
The TV did not work. A problem that was already known about according to one of the staff. When I mentioned it, in fairness, we were offered a different room, but it was late and we couldn't be bothered.
The beds were comfy, but due to the heat, it was difficult to get to sleep. Once asleep, I don't usually wake up until late. However, right outside the room's window, there's a flat roof which is over the pub. At half eight (might have been slightly later), there was the sound of sweeping coming from the roof. Then workmen talking. Then the sounds of an electric saw cutting wood. All within 6 feet of the window, which in turn was less than two feet from my bed.
When it came to packing, most of my things which were near the window were covered with a thin layer of sawdust which had come through the window.
We then had breakfast which was just ok.
On checking out, I mentioned the problems, specifically being woken up by workmen. The lady asked if it was definitely the Union Inn's workmen or was it workmen from a different building and started spouting names of buildings and streets I'd never heard of. I asked if the roof outside our window was the Union Inn's and was told it was. She then said that she made sure the workmen didn't start work until 9am, not the 8.30am start that I'd suggested. I said I'm sure it was that early, she chose to argue and said that they were painting downstairs at that time. Regardless of the time, it shouldn't have happened!
We were offered no apology, no discount, nothing. Just arguments about the time the work began.
We will not return.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Craigyb85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia A, Owner at The Union Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Hi
I am extremely sorry that you didn't feel we were up to the job. As mentioned, I was aware of the problem with the TV but had only been told that day and I was trying to get an engineer to come and fix it. I did offer another room to you, but since all the rooms are linked to the same ariel it probably wouldn't have been any better!

We have had maintenance works going on in the building since March and this is the first complaint we have had. As check out is at 10am most people are normally up and about or eating breakfast at about 9am so it isn't a problem, and as it is a very old building most people understand that maintenance works are necessary. We have now finished the maintenance works. I am, of course, very sorry that the builders disturbed your lie in and that the staff member involved didn't handle the situation very well and I will ensure that this won't happen again.

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cowes hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
0.1 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cowes
95 reviews
1.2 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Caledon Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Union Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Union Inn

Address: Watch House Lane, Cowes PO31 7QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range: $88 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Union Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently under New Management, with a great vibe and a new menu, the Union Inn is the first pub you come to on your way into town from Cowes seafront. Its just a short walk from the Red Jet passenger terminal in West Cowes. Ideally located in Cowes Old Town it is close to all the Yacht Clubs and in easy walking distance of the Marina.The Union Inn offers 6 newly refurbished, individually themed, en-suite letting rooms all designed and furnished in a boutique style. A haven for yachting enthusiasts, business people and holiday makers and an ideal all-year-round base from which to explore the Isle of Wight.Now re-open after a month long refurbishment the owner and staff are ready to welcome you to the cosy fireside inn, a peaceful retreat particularly during the seasonal hustle and bustle of Cowes’ many yachting regattas.Cowes has been seen as a home for international yacht racing since the founding of the Royal Yacht Squadron in 1815. Cowes comes alive each June for Round The Island Race. The town famously gives its name to the world's oldest regular regatta, Cowes Week, which occurs annually in the first week of August. Later on in the summer, powerboat races are held. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Union Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Union Inn Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing