We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff, room, food, location - all great”
Review of The Union Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Union Inn
Ranked #7 of 29 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Staff, room, food, location - all great”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We only stayed one night, there was nothing negative about the experience from arriving to leaving. The rooms are decorated in an unusual (in a good way) style with all one could need. We ate at the inn in the evening; it was good food, well served and reasonably priced. Breakfast too was very good with a wide variety of cooked options. The staff were very welcoming and enthusiastic when discussing their plans for the future of the hotel and bar. As I said, nothing to complain about and I would happily have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skyraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    42
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
26
60
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This pub has recently been taken over by someone new and is a hidden gem in Cowes! near to the sea front it's a perfect stop for a glass of wine or a pint and something to eat. I've been there a few times now and the specials board keeps changing which is great! as it means there will always be some yummy surprises. The food is fresh and delicious and having eaten nearly everywhere else in Cowes I think it rates the highest. The staff are young, vibrant and friendly which certainly makes you feel welcome if your a visitor to the Island and as I am a frequent Island visitor I will definitely be making visits to the Union Inn part of my daily routine ;)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford Heath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We made a late booking by ringing direct to the Union. Really welcoming reception from Olivia with a roaring fire in the bar to make up for the appalling weather. Room 3 was lovely, clean and the sheets were so comfortable the ensuite bath was a bonus. We ate both nights in the pub as the food was so excellent, my partner loved the pie and the Fullers HSB. Will definately stay again when in Cowes.

Room Tip: We loved room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayDeanbbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had an absolutely lovely stay, staff were friendly and welcoming, the room were spotless and decorated in a funky way. Location was excellent, right in the middle of town. We would definitely come back again. Thanks very much!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomkent92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have just returned from an extended weekend break at the Union Inn. This B&B was very well located for foot, car ferries, seafront and shops. The room was spotlessly clean, warm, cosy and very comfortable with a lovely view from a window seat looking out to the sea. Although the room was over the pub there was no sound to disturb us in our room from the pub below. We ate in the pub, (breakfast and evening meal) and I can recommend the food, it is freshly made and very well priced. I particularly enjoyed the Seared Seabass on mashed butternut squash and my son loved the lamb shank. The pub itself was very friendly, with a great buzz and always someone to talk to. The weather during our stay was foul, however, the open fire and lovely bar staff made us feel warm, welcome and at home. My only regret is that I didn't stay for Sunday lunch as it smelt and looked delicious!........ Perhaps next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALN199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Nice b&b with Very friendly staff. They have 6 rooms and unfortunately we picked the worst room even though we booked well in advance. Room 6 is the triangular shaped loft room. It is unfortunate because we paid the same rate as the other rooms on a bank holiday. The owner of the b&b offered 12% off after we insisted but it will not buy back our holiday even if she made it free. To be fair room is nicely decorated and well serviced and the heating works fine, although small window doesn't close properly. It is just bad value for money.

Room Tip: Avoid the loft room it is uncomfortable and overpriced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alppey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia A, Owner at The Union Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Hello

Thank you for your feedback.

As discussed at the time all of our rooms are King size and therefore priced accordingly. Due to your early booking you had already been offered a 28% discount across all of the rooms in our B&B.

Whilst Room 6 is in the roof, it has substantial ceiling height and the biggest bathroom of all of our rooms. It is also the only room with sea views which many people take advantage of during the racing season. Our building is several hundred years old so the rooms are all quirky in their size and shape. I am aware that the window has warped due to the recent weather and that is something which is currently being fixed.

I'm sorry that despite a 47% discount on your room in total that you were still unhappy enough to only give us a 2 out of 5 as I feel our service, food, quality rooms, comfy beds, big breakfast choice, location and general atmosphere are worth far more than that.

Maybe a bigger hotel chain with a more modern building would suit you better on your next visit to the Isle of Wight? We hope you still pop your head in to say hello though.

Thanks
Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Rooms were well equipped, although ours was a bit Cold. Staff helpful and good choice of breakfast. Easy to find and close to the ferry. Union inn also own the tapas bar across the road, which serves food late, has a great atmosphere and excellent food. All in all a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshineliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.1 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cowes
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Caledon Guest House
10.8 mi away
Shoreside Inn
Shoreside Inn
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Union Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Union Inn

Property: The Union Inn
Address: Watch House Lane, Cowes PO31 7QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Union Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently under New Management, with a great vibe and a new menu, the Union Inn is the first pub you come to on your way into town from Cowes seafront. Its just a short walk from the Red Jet passenger terminal in West Cowes. Ideally located in Cowes Old Town it is close to all the Yacht Clubs and in easy walking distance of the Marina.The Union Inn offers 6 newly refurbished, individually themed, en-suite letting rooms all designed and furnished in a boutique style. A haven for yachting enthusiasts, business people and holiday makers and an ideal all-year-round base from which to explore the Isle of Wight.Now re-open after a month long refurbishment the owner and staff are ready to welcome you to the cosy fireside inn, a peaceful retreat particularly during the seasonal hustle and bustle of Cowes’ many yachting regattas.Cowes has been seen as a home for international yacht racing since the founding of the Royal Yacht Squadron in 1815. Cowes comes alive each June for Round The Island Race. The town famously gives its name to the world's oldest regular regatta, Cowes Week, which occurs annually in the first week of August. Later on in the summer, powerboat races are held. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Union Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Union Inn Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing