We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at The Woodvale”
Review of The Woodvale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Woodvale
Ranked #8 of 29 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great stay at The Woodvale”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We stayed overnight at The Woodvale on the last Bank Holiday Saturday. The quiet location just outside Cowes on the esplanade is great with lovely sea views. However, it is worth noting that it is around a 30 minute walk into Cowes. The rooms have been recently renovated to a very good standard with free wifi and ipod docking stations. At late notice, we decided to eat in the restaurant because of positive reviews we had read. We were not disappointed. The atmosphere was great, the restaurant was full, we received very friendly service throughout our stay and the food and wine was delicious. As an added bonus, a local folk duo played a set which we really enjoyed. The hot breakfast was generous and cooked to order with views over the Solent. We would highly recommend a stay at The Woodvale.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CardiffCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    35
    13
    0
    3
See reviews for
40
60
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

We went tp woodvale for drinks only, however smelling the food getting served and seeing the specials menu, we ordered seabass and beef curry. The seabass was absolutely delicious, perfectly cooked and flavoured. You rarely get fish that well cooked. The beef curry was also excellent. The drinks are good. On a hot day, the cider is the best thing in the world..

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Rvestergaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Four of us (two couples) stayed here at the end of March 2012. The rooms are really nicely decorated and the shower was brilliant. Very very clean as well. The food in the restaurant is also really good. I think the service let this place down. Just missing that something extra ... missing a personal touch. The lady serving us at breakfast seemed to just not care. A general attitude of all staff from what I experienced. Nice walk in to Cowes though... if its nice weather.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Room had excellent decor and comfy bed. Wonderful view and friendly atmosphere. Really enjoyed the breakfast, excellent food and unrushed.
We would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salongirlHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

We attended the New Year's eve party at the Woodvale with friends. We have been here several times in the past when visiting friends but have not stayed before. The room was of a very high standard, a little disappointed we did not get a sea view, but it did not spoil the stay.

The evening was excellent - food was very good and the service was also excellent, everyone worked really hard. Apparently this is the first time the party has been held in the Solent Room as it was newly refurbished in 2011, it was very well decorated as were the tables. My only criticism was that the disco was quite loud so you had to shout to hold conversation, but otherwise the atmosphere was great.

We had a substantial breakfast the next morning with champagne which kept us going most of the day and we ate in the bar in the evening which again the food was very good.

A great place to stay as it is very central for Cowes which is a short walk along the seafront.

Room Tip: We had a room at the rear of the hotel which was perfectly ok, but the fans from the kitchen were qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DKBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Stayed here 23rd September for the weekend, attending a friends wedding. I can the the location of this place is excellent, our room was over looking the sea. The staff are friendly and welcoming. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raxso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed in the family 3 bed room and previously a double room last year. All rooms have been recently re-furbished and are of a high standard with quality beds and furnishings with good attention to detail. The substantial full breakfast is also served additionally with both a wide choice of cereals. All the staff are friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. There was also a good choice of food on the menu in the evenings at fair prices.

John, Oman

Room Tip: everything is provided that you should need
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnAndKate_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cowes hotels
1.0 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
44 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cowes
91 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mimosa Lodge
Mimosa Lodge
#1 of 29 in Cowes
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodvale

Property: The Woodvale
Address: 1 Princes Esplanade, Cowes PO31 8LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodvale 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Woodvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodvale Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing