We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprise from the woodvale”
Review of The Woodvale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Woodvale
Ranked #6 of 29 Cowes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chesham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“surprise from the woodvale”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

booked this for one night without much research - wow! one of the best rooms
& facilities i've been to on the isle of wight [not renowned for quality accommodation in my view]
the 2nd floor room was newly & immaculately furnished with a setee area and a fantastic
sea view. there was digital tv & free wifi both with good reception
in addition, a recently complete new breakfast room at 1st floor with again fantastic sea views - this is completely separate from the pub area at ground floor
the freshly cooked breakfast was excellent - the pub is available for evening meals
which is useful as there is little else in the way of eateries nearby - fair pub grub
the building is set overlooking gurnard bay & parking was'nt a problem during our stay
staff were very helpful & pleasant. only drawback for the physically challenged would be no lift available to the 2nd floor rooms

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roger m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    35
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
55
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
125 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

On arrival we felt a little misled as we had booked largely on account of the hotel advertising itself as having parking. In fact the parking is first-come first-served on-the-road-parking or else a 1 in 3 slope of a very narrow grassy/ stony bank. On a bank holiday (Royal Wedding) weekend with fabulous weather we were very lucky on arrival to bag a spot at all. This led to misgivings about the rest of the accommodation before we even set foot inside!

As it turned out though we were more than happy with our room which was sizeable, had plenty of storage and was very nicely decorated. The bathroom was also swish, absolutely spotless and had one of the most powerful showers I've ever felt. No bath but that suits us fine. The view from the windows (even the bathroom) across the Solent in the sun with sails aplenty was just lovely. Being up on the 2nd floor, the window was a little high and out-set for me and for most people to see out of without climbing up - so I did. And as I said - it was lovely.

The bed was our only gripe: being a normal double. having a SuperKing at home and used to at least King sized in most hotels, it seemed extremely narrow and cramped so we did not have a good night's sleep at all.

The pub is homely, the staff very friendly; especially the bar staff who were efficient and chatty in just the right quantities. Waiting staff were a little less on the ball. Breakfast is taken in the main bar which, although it does have windows, is quite a dark room more suited to 'pub' than breakfast. We enjoyed breakfast every day even though we didn't receive the same thing twice. One morning we got 2 eggs each and 1 sausage, another 1 egg and 2 sausages and on the third day one of each! . We had ordered the same each time! It didn't matter but was a bit quirky to say the least. Toast, also in various quantities, arrived once before we had ordered anything and once when we had finished the cooked food! And a personal plea - why no beans? I can only assume that it seems that some places think they're a bit downmarket. A pity!

Food in the evening was OK. A little expensive on some of the choices (£9 odd for macaroni cheese) yet other things were well priced. Service was quite slow but the bar - where all eating and drinking is done - was very busy and it was a 'holiday' weekend. Work was just being completed on a first floor room which will be breakfast room for guests and, I think, a general dining area and that looked lovely and light.

The walk into Cowes is about a mile and with lovely houses to have a little nose at and alongside the gorgeous views across to Southampton it was very pleasant - and meant we could leave the car parked outside the hotel so no worries whether there would be space later on. Being placed away from other pubs and so on meant that nights were peaceful too once the pub had closed as the area is residential.

Overall, a very good stay - bed excepted - in a well positioned, friendly and clean hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gardener01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Good, clean, well presented B&B as part of a pub, with a nice look-out over the Solent. There are no other pubs/restaurants nearby, but you don't need them - the food is good and reasonably priced, and the staff are friendly.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaptTall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

I have stayed in a few places in Cowes and settled at the Woodvale because the rooms are smartly presented and the Pub food and atmosphere is homely and welcoming. The rooms have been recently been refurbished and are bright and clean.
The breakfast is fine but as only one person is serving and cooking in mid week, do not expect a quick get away in the morning, however, overall value for money is excellent.
The views over the Solent is picturesque and a lovely walk can be taking along the Promenade any time of day depending on the weather.
You will not be diapointed at the Woodvale, particularly as other local hotels are below par.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StanleySurreyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

Although it looks like any other pub from the outside,it has all the qualities of a hotel when it comes to the bedrooms. Recently refurbished,our room was spacious,clean,comfortable, attractive and the sea view lovely. The meals we had were well presented, well priced and tasty.The cooked breakfast couldn't be faulted,either.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liz_williams2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.6 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
0.7 mi away
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Villa Rothsay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cowes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.0 mi away
North House
North House
#3 of 5 in Cowes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
12.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woodvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woodvale

Property: The Woodvale
Address: 1 Princes Esplanade, Cowes PO31 8LE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woodvale 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Woodvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woodvale Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing