We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service”
Review of Manuel's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Manuel's
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
Description: Post code is: PO31 7HT
South of England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good service”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

we were a large group and had good service the starter was not that great but the main course went down very well. Good chips!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank chindog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Disappointing breakfast...”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Having our boat berthed in Shepard's Wharf, Manuel's seemed like a good option for breakfast as it's so easily accessible and right near the changing rooms. I ordered a bacon and egg roll, juice and a bottle of water to take away. I was surprised to see the water come in a glass bottle (a no-no on a boat, and almost all patrons are sailors), but they easily changed this for me.

The sandwich itself, however, was quite poor. Two slices of white bread were filled with one egg and one piece of bacon, then cut diagonally. With such a poor filling, most of the time the bites of the sandwich were of two pieces of bread and nothing more. So disappointing. I'm very happy to walk a little further next time and go to Tiffins instead..

What they're like for dinner, however, I don't know - they might be great, but after my breakfast experience I don't think I'd go back...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The experience started off well as the restaurant is relaxed and Alex is very welcoming.
Unfortunately they did not have my first choice on the menu which was a little strange as it was early on afriday evening?!
Decided to have fish which was bland and nothing i couldnt do at home.
The beer was nice and chocolate mousse dessert was lovely although not very generouse.
Just Average , wont hurry back!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The very Best atmosphere for restaurant in cowes.”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

The very best asmosphere in cowes, very good food, i love the home cooking, the smells as the food is cooked in same room. The wine is outstanding. The female waiter is very pleasing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rvestergaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halesowen, west mids
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent tasting food”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We went here when I worked in cowes and we had a baby asleep in a pram we was welcomed as soon as we walked through the door made room for the pram. We ordered the food and it was lovely really nice taste. We had steak stripes for starter and rub eye steak for main.
We went back 6 months later and received the same welcome and she remembered us from before we took my mom and dad this time and they loved the food also. We are going back this weekend and looking forward to eating there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sprout22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manuel's also viewed

 
Cowes, Isle of Wight
Cowes, Isle of Wight
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing