We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel with superb food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Rothsay Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Certificate of Excellence
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Superb hotel with superb food”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hotel with bags of atmosphere. Stayed here several times as hotel of choice for IOW. Christmas dinner is best ever as they know how to do it properly with massive turkey cooked to perfection. Spacious comfortable rooms. Oh and the owner makes you feel right at home even gave me a lift to the ferry. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRovingDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    18
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
31
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
isle of wight
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We live on the Island and this was our first visit to Villa Rothsay and certainly will not be our last!!
The hotel is a hidden gem where you can step back in time to another era but with all mod cons
The rooms are traditional in taste and spotless!
The food is excellent and fresh local produce served to you in a gorgeous dining room with magnificent views of the Solent
The owner and staff are superb and we had a great stay thank you
We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank blusneakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Excellent weekend. Very nice room with sea view. Hotel not perfect but full of charm. Go for the boat pictures everywhere, which give the place a very special athmosphere. Go for the self-service bar, where you help yourself and are trusted to say what you have consumed. So different from hotel chains. Definitely go for the super nice owner, who is used to people coming by boat and picks people up at the harbour and drives them back there upon request...for instance to bring you to a nice fish restaurant she will book for you if you ask for her advice. This type of gesture definitely makes a lot of difference to me!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PPMAAVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Margaret the owner made our stay one to remember. Ive stayed here about three times and each time the standard has been great. Very nice rooms with beautiful view. Every time I come to cowes I recommend people to stay there as the friendly staff and beautiful rooms are to be remembered .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloequentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Villa Rothsay was recommended to us by friends and it did not disappoint. The views out over the Solent were stunning and we were lucky enough to have great weather so could sit on out balcony and watch all the boats going by. The room was very comfortable. Breakfast was yummy - the sauted potatoes were super tasty! The decor has to be seen to be believed. Beautiful Victorian/Edwardian style and boating memorabilia everywhere. And the main living room, sitting area is fantastic. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lostcommuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

From the roadside, this wonderful building looks like any Edwardian two story building, but when you enter through the large front door it is anything but!
This Hotel sprawls in all different directions, staircases going up, down, left and right - Made me feel like I was an extra in Harry Potter! Truly Wonderful, the place was HUGE, and all the mod cons to boot.
Our room was large, with a magnificent view of the Solent river and we get to the food, the restaurant provided us with a quality roast dinner of which the likes I've never tasted before!

If you are visiting the island for a break away and want to get lost in the ambiance of Edwardian elegance, look no further.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We have been enjoying VR's roast dinners for over 30 years but this was our first overnight stay. If you prefer shiny contemporary minimalism, you won't appreciate what this place excels in. It oozes the atmosphere of Cowes' Edwardian Belle Époque. The walls are festooned with photographs and paintings featuring the great and good of local power and sail. Our room was large and sumptuous with a sparkling, newly renovated shower room. The welcome is warm and generous, the food maintains its consistent high standard and the views over the Solent toward Southampton Water are hard to tear yourself away from. 5*

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cowes
0.4 mi away
North House
North House
#2 of 5 in Cowes
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
1.6 mi away
Albert Cottage Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
12.6 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
830 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fountain Inn
The Fountain Inn
#5 of 5 in Cowes
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rothsay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rothsay Hotel

Property: Villa Rothsay Hotel
Address: 29 Baring Road, Cowes PO31 8DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Cowes
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Cowes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Rothsay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Rothsay Hotel & Restaurant is a characterful & charming boutique hotel located near to the Royal Yacht Squadron at Cowes with commanding views from it's many balconies and reception rooms, across the Solent towards the New Forest.The hotel has long been the choice of sailors and business personalities from around the World to meet their accommodation, dining and hospitality needs, as is evidenced by the huge collection of nautical memorabilia throughout the hotel.The 14 bedrooms are all en-suite and offer all mod-cons including LCD Freeview TVs and complimentary WiFi.The perfect place to 'get away from it all' and a perfect base to explore the magnificent Isle of Wight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Villa Rothsay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Rothsay Hotel Cowes, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing